Library Resources for Top Clinical Questions

On average, clinicians raise 1 medical knowledge question for every 2 patients seen (Del Fiol et al., 2014). Of these questions, 34% concern drug treatment, and 24% concern potential causes of a symptom, physical finding, or diagnostic test finding. (See the top 13 questions identified by the study.)

For help with these questions, the Library offers evidence-based clinical decision support resources.

To identify potential causes of a symptom or a diagnostic test finding, try these clinical information resources.

DynaMed Plus logo

Search for a symptom/finding with these strategic keywords:

Up to Date logo

Search for a symptom/finding with these strategic keywords:

Access Medicine logo

A collection of books and quick reference tools.

Select titles and tools:

For drug treatment questions on dose and administration, indication, and adverse reactions

DynaMed Plus

UpToDate

Clinical Pharmacology – a specialized drug database

Less Searching, More Finding: Online Medical Library

Investigating a tricky diagnosis? Need a drug interaction tool on your phone? Seeking evidence-based research articles for your research project? The UC San Diego Library has a suite of databases, mobile apps and online tools ready to help. Find point-of-care evidence, learn power search tips, set up alerts to new publications in your specialty and much more.

Clinical Essentials Library Guide: Essential resources and best practices for health literature.

Highlights include…

Clinical decision support in your pocket–mobile apps

  • Dynamed Plus: “The next gen clinical information resource designed to decrease time to answer.” Includes rich evidence-based content, calculators, evidence grades and thousands of medical graphics and images.

 

  • UpToDate: Well known evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. Includes practice-changing updates, calculators, drug/herb interactions (Via Lexicomp) and plain language patient information.

 

  • Clinical Pharmacology: Comprehensive drug reference to support decision making by providing access to current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.

Read more…

IEEE Xplore downtime Friday afternoon Sept 21st

From IEEE:
Due to scheduled maintenance, IEEE Xplore users may experience intermittent access issues from 2:30 PM – 4:30 PM ET (6:30 – 8:30 UTC) on Friday, 21 September. We anticipate that the site may be unavailable for a portion of this time. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience as we work to continually improve the IEEE Xplore experience for all of our customers and users worldwide.

BrowZine Pilot Extended Through June 2019 – Stay Current with Your Favorite Journals

The Library has renewed BrowZine, our web/app-based service to help keep up with the latest articles from your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, for another year.

With BrowZine, you can:

  • Create a customized list of up to 64 scholarly journals that you want to “follow,” from hundreds of publishers across all disciplines (arts, humanities, sciences, engineering, social sciences).
  • Access your “bookshelf” from the web, or from iOS/Android tablets and smartphones, synced across your devices.
  • Be notified when new articles are published.
  • Save articles for later reading (including offline), organize the articles into collections, integrate with bibliographic management software to export references, and more.

Please contact Teri Vogel if you have questions or feedback about using Browzine. We also have an FAQ on our guide.

BrowZine image

DML Uses SketchFab to Create 360 Degree Photos

SketchDigital cameras are used to capture images in full stereo surround for use in virtual reality systems. These images can cover any field of view, including 360° by 180° spherical panoramas. Two photographic cylinders are created with identical dimensions, capturing the perspective as seen from each eye position. When these cylinders are mapped to a spherical surface, full stereo in all directions is achieved. This technique allows photographic imaging to create the virtual environment itself. The complete stereo image that is created by this technique can be viewed in any direction that is supported by the virtual reality system design.fab allows us to embed 360 photo viewers in browser now. All we have to do is make a sphere, apply the panorama as a texture, and move the camera inside of it. These photos come from the CaveCam collection now hosted on the Geisel Library Digital Collections site.

This imaging technique complements existing technologies such as LiDAR or SfM providing more detailed textural information that can be used in conjunction for analysis and visualization. The advantages of this digital imaging technique for cultural heritage can be seen in its non-invasive and rapid capture of heritage sites for documentation, analysis and immersive visualization. The technique is applied to several significant heritage sites in Luxor, Egypt and Saudi Arabia.

Sketchfab now allows for embedded 360 photo viewers in browsers. These photos come from the CaveCam collection now hosted on the Geisel Library Digital Collections site (CaveCam Collection, UC San Diego Library).

Cambridge Structural Database 2018 Now Available

The 2018 Cambridge Structural Database System (including ConQuest and Mercury) is now available to download from the UC distribution site at UCLA. The Cambridge Structural Database is the largest database of validated crystal structures, with 900,000+ entries for organic and organometallic compounds.

Downloading CSD:

  • You must be on the campus network or wifi, or using VPN to access the files on that page.
  • Don’t forget the site and confirmation codes, which you can get to by clicking San Diego (UCSD) link. You’ll need those codes during the CSDS installation.
  • CSDS is available for Windows, OSX, and Linux/Unix. It is recommended that you uninstall CSDS 2017 before you start this installation.
    • There’s an additional Windows application that can be downloaded separately. CrossMiner is a “novel tool that allows crystal structure databases such as the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) and the Protein Data Bank (PDB) to be searched in terms of pharmacophore queries.”
  • You can also search the CSD structures through WebCSD, without installing any software.

Read more…

Materials Science & Engineering Database (new)

UC San Diego now has access to ProQuest’s Materials Science & Engineering Database. This is a single platform to search across multiple MSE databases, including Earthquake Engineering Abstracts and Engineered Materials Abstracts (both already licensed by UC San Diego),  METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts, plus full text coverage 2,000+ journals.

Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, biotechnology, recycling, sustainability, materials testing and selection, metallurgy, energy and fuels, and new technologies. To support engineering research, the database provides easy access to millions of bibliographic abstracts for deep coverage of engineering research, including civil, mechanical, environmental, earthquake, biomedical, and transportation. Sources go beyond scholarly journals to include grey literature like patents, conference proceedings, government reports, and more.

New Database for Ceramic Phase Diagrams

Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online banner

The Library recently licensed Phase Equilibria Diagrams (PED) Online. Produced by NIST and the American Ceramic Society, PED Online is a database of 26,500 critically evaluated phase diagrams for ceramic systems.

Sample phase diagramYou can search PED Online by commentaries and diagrams by chemical system, author, or publication year, and view a diagram’s chemical system, figure number, figure notes, references, commentary and footnotes. With a downloadable PED viewer, you can also manipulate the diagrams with zoom in/out, lever rule, curve follow, mirror, Mol% to Wt% or Wt% to Mol% and built-in calculator.

The first time you use PED Online, you’ll get information about the browser/Java requirements, and a link to download the viewer.

IEEE Xplore and VPN – How to Fix Your Access

Update: All UCSD IPv6 ranges have been added to our IEEE Xplore subscription.

Posted On: October 25, 2017 Campus added on some additional numbers to the IPv6 range for VPN recently and IEEE Xplore doesn’t yet have those ranges included with our subscription to Xplore.
The temporary solution is to disable IPv6 on your laptop or home computer following the instructions from Indiana University at https://kb.iu.edu/d/aqig.

We expect IEEE to have our expanded UCSD rangees of IPv6 added within a week; then you can restore your settings on your home computer and laptop.

Need more help? Contact dkegel at ucsd dot edu or 858 534-1215.

 

Wiley Online Library and Oxford DNB Available Again

CDL alerted us at 3:20 pm Wed July 19th that Wiley Online Library (journals, e-books, and reference resources) is down.  Access was restored by 4:45 pm.

Access to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography [DNB] which had been out for the past week has also been restored as of Monday, July 24.  Thanks for your patience.

Older Posts »

Events Calendar

<< Dec 2018 >>
SMTWTFS
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5