Upcoming Library Workshops – Research Databases & Managing References

Upcoming Library Workshops for February and March: visit library.ucsd.edu/services/instruction/workshops-at-the-library for descriptions, times, locations (some are at Geisel, others at BLB), and links to register.

  • Getting Started with Research Data – Feb 16, 12:00 – 1:00 pm
  • Managing Citations: Which Tool to Use? – Feb 16, 12:30 – 2:00 pm
  • PubMed Essentials – Feb 17, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • EndNote Online – Feb 23, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • SciFinder and Reaxys for Chemical Substances and Reactions – Feb 28, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • EndNote Desktop – March 1, 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
  • Zotero – March 7, 1:00 – 2:00 pm
  • Zotero Drop-in Clinic – March 7, 2:00 – 2:30 pm
  • PubMed: Beyond the Essentials – March 9, 1:00 – 2:30 pm
  • Mendeley – March 21, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm

Cambridge Structural Database – 2017 Release

The Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) for 2017 is now available to download for Windows, OSX, and Linux (32 and 64-bit). While you can use always search the Cambridge Structural Database of 800,000+ crystal structures via CSDWeb, CSDS gives you access to that database, PLUS the full suite of products from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, including Mercury software for 3D printing and CSD Python API.

To download:

  • Go to the UC distribution site and 1) download the files for your operating system, and 2) select the San Diego (UCSD) link for our site and registration codes. You will need to enter these during the installation or the first time you run one of the CSDS programs.
    • This page is IP restricted. You must be on the campus network or on VPN to access this page.
    • You can also download the files directly from CCDC, but you still need those UCSD site and registration codes. They’ll email you the download links.
  • Download the files for your operating system and complete the installation. You may be prompted first to uninstall the 2016 CSDS.
  • All documentation, including the release and installation notes and guides and tutorials for each program can be found on the CSDS website.

Please contact tmvogel@ucsd.edu if you have any questions about the Cambridge Structural Database System.

Compendex/Knovel Search Update and the Knovel Academic Challenge (Oct 10-Nov 13)

The Engineering (formerly Knovel) Academic Challenge is back.

Engineering Academic ChallengeFrom October 10-November 13, join students at other universities in a competition to answer real-world engineering questions using the Knovel and Compendex databases. A new set of questions will go up each week, starting with the theme “Energy for the Sustainable Future” and ending with “The Future of Transport.” There will be weekly winners as well as some grand prize winners announced at the end of the five weeks.

To participate, first register at www.elsevier.com/eac, and when prompted select University of California as your academic institution. The first problem set will go live on Monday, October 10. You can check the leaderboard to view campus rankings.

New: Search Knovel within Compendex

Read more…

Compendex Scheduled Maintenance Sunday July 31st

The Compendex database on Engineering Village will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance from Sunday, July 31, 2016 at 5:00 AM until Sunday, July 31 at 11:00 AM (PDT).  To find other engineering article index databases, see a partial list at http://library.ucsd.edu/transitions/subject-areas/engineering.html  or use the subject guides at http://ucsd.libguides.com/ .

New JoVE Modules Available

JoVE logoThe Library has recently acquired six additional modules of JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments. JoVE is a peer-reviewed scientific video journal–the first of its kind. The video articles are indexed in databases like PubMed and SciFinder.  The new JoVE modules:

Along with the new modules, the Library now has 2 years’ access to JoVE’s Science Education collection for chemistry, 45 video demonstrations covering general, organic, and analytical chemistry techniques. We already have the collections for Basic Biology, Neuroscience, and Developmental Biology.

IEEE Access Problems – Resolved

The IPv6 authentication issue with IEEE Xplore has been resolved. See below for details of the issue.

However, there is a chance a few users may still have access problems. If you cannot access IEEE on campus (on a networked computer or the protected wifi network).

  • Go to http://ipv6-test.com/ for a diagnostic check. Take a screencap of the page once it finishes the check.
  • Send the screencap to dkegel at ucsd dot edu or tmvogel at ucsd dot edu and let us know how you were trying to get to IEEE.
  • For a short-term workaround, install and use the AnyConnect VPN client when trying to get IEEE content on your desktop or laptop (http://libraries.ucsd.edu/spaces/computing/remote-access/ – follow the instructions for your operating system). If you’re having the problem on the protected wifi, you may need to switch to the guest wifi while using VPN.

Read more…

Melvyl Catalog Unavailable Sat 6pm-Sun 9 am

All OCLC services will be unavailable from 6:00 pm Saturday, 4 June 2016 until 9:00 am Sunday, 5 June 2016, Pacific, while OCLC conducts data storage migrations.

Resources affected include the UC Melvyl catalog (WorldCat Local), FirstSearch, and WorldCat.org.
Databases on FirstSearch include:

ArticleFirst
GPO Monthly Catalog
OAIster
PapersFirst
ProceedingsFirst
SCIPIO – art and rare books sales/auction catalogs.

In addition to these databases and catalogs, requesting Interlibrary loans via UC-eLinks or Citation Linker will not be available during the outage.  Either wait until later on Sunday when service is restored, or fill out the blank ILL request form.

Alternatives to OCLC: San Diego Circuit http://circuit.sdsu.edu and the UCSD catalog http://roger.ucsd.edu will be available as will the majority of the library-licensed Databases.  You may browse individual UC campus library catalogs via  http://libraries.universityofcalifornia.edu/.

Social Media Data Now Available via Crimson Hexagon

Crimson Hexagon logo

Do you use social media posts as a data source? The Library is piloting (through September 30, 2017) a subscription to Crimson Hexagon, a web-based library of social media posts (updated in real-time) and social media analysis software platform. Posts can be searched using keywords and then either downloaded for off-line analysis with third party tools or analyzed using Crimson Hexagon’s data visualizations.

Data sources include:

  • Twitter: Full Twitter Firehose (all public tweets) through a direct partnership with Twitter beginning July 2010. Twitter content via the Gardenhose from July 2009.
  • Tumblr: Full Tumblr Firehose through a direct partnership with Tumblr beginning January 2015.
  • Google Plus
  • Blogs, for example blogspot.com.
  • Forums, for example reddit.com and yahoo.com.
  • Facebook
  • Instagram Hashtags
  • Reviews: Product-based reviews from consumer sites such as tripadvisor.com and amazon.com.
  • News: Fact-based articles by formal news organizations, such as CNN, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc.
  • Comments: Reader responses to blogs, news, and forum posts.
  • YouTube: Content from video descriptions and comments.
  • Weibo*: As of September 1, 2015, currently unavailable due to the Chinese Government has forcing SINA to suspend all data leaving China through any and all data delivery vehicles pending an official policy regarding foreign use.

For more information on using Crimson Hexagon, see our guide or contact Annelise Sklar (asklar@ucsd.edu), Social Sciences Collection Coordinator, or Tim Dennis (timdennis@ucsd.edu), Data Services & Collections Librarian.

Cambridge Structural Database 2016 Available

The Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) 2016 is now available to download from the UC distribution site. This year Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC ) launched CSD-Enterprise, giving academic institutions the full suite of CSD products–including some that were only available to commercial organizations.

CSDS 2016 is available for Windows, OSX, and Linux (32 and 64-bit), and includes:

The Cambridge Structural Database, Version 5.37   —–   ConQuest 1.18   —–  Mercury 3.7 – now with 3D printing capability   —–   Mogul 1.8   —–   Hermes 1.8   —–   GOLD 5.4   —–   Conformer Generator 1.0   —–   DASH 3.3.5 (Windows only)   —–   PreQuest (Windows and Linux 32-bit only)   —–   IsoStar 2.2.3 (Server is Linux 32-bit only)   —–   SuperStar 2.1.3 (Windows and Linux only)

Optional: CSD Python API

Read more…

February Workshops – PubMed, SciFinder, Citation Management

Here are next month’s Library Workshops (complete list for winter 2016). Classes are free and registration is encouraged. Note the location of the workshop, either the Geisel or Biomedical Library Building.

Library Databases and Search Tools

PubMed Essentials

Feb 4 (Thurs), 12:00 – 1:30 pm, Biomed Lib Bldg, Classroom 3 (Register)

This hands-on workshop focuses on what every user needs to know about PubMed, whether doing a search for a specific author or topic using keywords. Learn to focus your results with limits, become familiar with the features of the advanced search screen, and know how to use UC E-Links to easily get to full text articles.

SciFinder for Chemists and Non-Chemists

Feb 16 (Tues), 2:00 – 3:30 pm, Geisel Lib Bldg, Classroom 1 (Register)

SciFinder is one of the core information resources for exploring the chemical literature, but it’s not just for chemists. It can also be helpful to researchers in engineering, environmental sciences, physics, and radiology and other health sciences.

This hands-on workshop will cover the SciFinder essentials: topic and author searching, improving your search results, accessing the full text articles, and how SciFinder compares with other databases like Web of Science. You’ll also learn to search CAS Registry to find chemical substance information, and get an introduction to the built-in editor for drawing chemical structures and reactions. Attendees must be affiliated with UC San Diego (students, faculty, staff, etc.) with a ucsd.edu email address.

PubMed: Beyond the Essentials

Feb 17 (Wed), 12:00 – 1:30 pm, Biomed Lib Bldg, Classroom 3 (Register)

Move beyond the basics to refine and expand your searching skills. Learn about MeSH terms and how to use them in a search. Use MyNCBI and its numerous tools to keep you updated and to customize PubMed for your most frequent types of searches. Great for the frequent searcher.

And coming in March: PubMed Beyond the Essentials, Substance and Reaction Searching with SciFinder and Reaxys

Information Management Series

Managing Citations

Feb 9 (Tues), 2:00 – 3:30 pm, Biomed Lib Bldg Classroom 3 (Register)

This session will provide an introduction to a variety of tools for managing papers and citations including EndNote & EndNote Online, Zotero, Mendeley and will discuss how to choose the tool that’s right for you.

EndNote Online

Feb 23 (Tues), 11:00 – 12:30 pm, Biomed Lib Bldg Classroom 3 (Register)

The online version of EndNote is available for free. Come learn how to insert citations to your online library and then use them when writing a paper. Users of the desktop version can also synch their online and desktop library, so knowing how to use the online version extends the options.

And coming in March: EndNote Desktop and Mendeley workshops

Older Posts »

Events Calendar

<< Apr 2014 >>
SMTWTFS
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3

Twitter Feed