New Database for Ceramic Phase Diagrams

Posted On: October 31,2017

Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online banner

The Library recently licensed Phase Equilibria Diagrams (PED) Online. Produced by NIST and the American Ceramic Society, PED Online is a database of 26,500 critically evaluated phase diagrams for ceramic systems.

Sample phase diagramYou can search PED Online by commentaries and diagrams by chemical system, author, or publication year, and view a diagram’s chemical system, figure number, figure notes, references, commentary and footnotes. With a downloadable PED viewer, you can also manipulate the diagrams with zoom in/out, lever rule, curve follow, mirror, Mol% to Wt% or Wt% to Mol% and built-in calculator.

The first time you use PED Online, you’ll get information about the browser/Java requirements, and a link to download the viewer.

IEEE Xplore and VPN – How to Fix Your Access

Update: All UCSD IPv6 ranges have been added to our IEEE Xplore subscription.

Posted On: October 25, 2017 Campus added on some additional numbers to the IPv6 range for VPN recently and IEEE Xplore doesn’t yet have those ranges included with our subscription to Xplore.
The temporary solution is to disable IPv6 on your laptop or home computer following the instructions from Indiana University at https://kb.iu.edu/d/aqig.

We expect IEEE to have our expanded UCSD rangees of IPv6 added within a week; then you can restore your settings on your home computer and laptop.

Need more help? Contact dkegel at ucsd dot edu or 858 534-1215.

 

Wiley Online Library and Oxford DNB Available Again

Posted On: July 19, 2017

CDL alerted us at 3:20 pm Wed July 19th that Wiley Online Library (journals, e-books, and reference resources) is down.  Access was restored by 4:45 pm.

Access to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography [DNB] which had been out for the past week has also been restored as of Monday, July 24.  Thanks for your patience.

ProQuest Databases Working Again

Posted On: July 17, 2017

Update: ProQuest has fixed the problems with their servers as of Tuesday. They have posted an explanation of what happened and steps to prevent this from happening again.

ProQuest databases (including PsycInfo, Georef, Washington Post and Los Angeles Times archives, etc) are currently down worldwide due to a power outage since 1 pm PDF Monday, July 17.  They are working to restore access. We expect these databases to come back online sometime later this evening.

In the meantime, other resources are working (Web of Science, Lexis Academic, PubMed, and Ebsco databases).

Need help? Ask us.

Web of Science Update – New Citation Report, 50K Marked Records, and More

Posted On: June 26, 2017

Clarivate Analytics just released a major update to Web of Science. Here’s what’s new and improved:

  • Redesigned Citation Report
    • The Citation Report has been redesigned. It’s easier to view the key metrics (and what they mean), and the charts are interactive.

    New Marked Record Limit – 50,000

    • The marked record limit has been increased from 5,000 to 50,000 records.
  • Redesigned Search Results
    • You can now filter results to see Highly Cited Papers and Hot Papers, which is pulled from Essential Science Indicators.
    • The refine filters have been rearranged. Publication Years, Web of Science Categories, Document Types and Organizations-Enhanced are at the top, followed by Funding Agencies, Open Access, and Authors. The other filters are still available, under View More Options.

Read more…

Download the Campus VPN for Undisrupted Use of Library Materials

Posted On: June 20, 2017

The Virtual Private Network (VPN) service will soon become the sole campus-supported way for UC San Diego affiliates (currently enrolled students and faculty/staff) to access the wide breadth of Library resources—including e-journals, e-books, databases, and electronic reserve materials—from off-campus. The campus will soon discontinue the existing web proxy server, and as a result, users who are currently accessing the server through their internet browser will need to change their set-up and move to the VPN. Because the web proxy server is a passive system, many users may be unaware that they are connecting to Library resources via this method. By downloading the VPN software now, Library users can ensure undisrupted access. More information and instructions can be found at library.ucsd.edu/computing-and-technology/connect-from-off-campus. If you have trouble accessing a Library resource or have other questions, Ask A Librarian.

Important Update about Accessing SDSU Items Via Circuit

Posted On: May 19, 2017

As a member of San Diego Circuit, UC San Diego Library patrons are allowed to quickly borrow books from other Circuit libraries if the books are not owned by the UC San Diego Library or if the Library’s copy is already checked-out.

Starting next month, another member institution – San Diego State University (SDSU) –  will transition to a new Library Management System. As it does so, SDSU will cease lending its items through the Circuit. This will go into effect on Friday, May 26 and continue through mid-July. Some things for our users to note:

  • SDSU items will still display in the Circuit catalog, but their statuses will say “Local Use Only,” and UC San Diego users will be unable to submit requests for these items.
  • SDSU will continue to receive returns from UC San Diego users.
  • Visitor Checkout will no longer be available for UC San Diego users on-site at SDSU. This is a permanent change.
  • Visitor Checkout will no longer be available for SDSU users on-site at UC San Diego. This is a permanent change.

We apologize for the short notice and any inconvenience this may cause.

Library Workshops in May – Research Databases & Managing References

Posted On: May 3, 2017

Upcoming Library Workshops for May: visit library.ucsd.edu/services/instruction/workshops-at-the-library for descriptions, times, locations (some are at Geisel, others at BLB), and links to register.

  • Managing Citations: Which Tool to Use? – May 4, 12:00 – 1:30 pm
  • PubMed Essentials – May 8, 1:00 – 2:30 pm
  • SciFinder and Reaxys for Chemical Substance and Reaction Searching – May 1o, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • SciFinder and Reaxys for Chemical Substance and Reaction Searching – May 16, 2:00 – 3:30 pm
  • EndNote Desktop – May 16, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • PubMed: Beyond the Essentials – May 18, 10:30 – 12:00 pm
  • Mendeley – May 25, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm

Upcoming Library Workshops – Research Databases & Managing References

Posted On: February 6, 2017

Upcoming Library Workshops for February and March: visit library.ucsd.edu/services/instruction/workshops-at-the-library for descriptions, times, locations (some are at Geisel, others at BLB), and links to register.

  • Getting Started with Research Data – Feb 16, 12:00 – 1:00 pm
  • Managing Citations: Which Tool to Use? – Feb 16, 12:30 – 2:00 pm
  • PubMed Essentials – Feb 17, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • EndNote Online – Feb 23, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • SciFinder and Reaxys for Chemical Substances and Reactions – Feb 28, 10:00 – 11:30 am
  • EndNote Desktop – March 1, 11:30 am – 1:00 pm
  • Zotero – March 7, 1:00 – 2:00 pm
  • Zotero Drop-in Clinic – March 7, 2:00 – 2:30 pm
  • PubMed: Beyond the Essentials – March 9, 1:00 – 2:30 pm
  • Mendeley – March 21, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm

Cambridge Structural Database – 2017 Release

Posted On: February 2, 2017

The Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) for 2017 is now available to download for Windows, OSX, and Linux (32 and 64-bit). While you can use always search the Cambridge Structural Database of 800,000+ crystal structures via CSDWeb, CSDS gives you access to that database, PLUS the full suite of products from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, including Mercury software for 3D printing and CSD Python API.

To download:

  • Go to the UC distribution site and 1) download the files for your operating system, and 2) select the San Diego (UCSD) link for our site and registration codes. You will need to enter these during the installation or the first time you run one of the CSDS programs.
    • This page is IP restricted. You must be on the campus network or on VPN to access this page.
    • You can also download the files directly from CCDC, but you still need those UCSD site and registration codes. They’ll email you the download links.
  • Download the files for your operating system and complete the installation. You may be prompted first to uninstall the 2016 CSDS.
  • All documentation, including the release and installation notes and guides and tutorials for each program can be found on the CSDS website.

Please contact tmvogel@ucsd.edu if you have any questions about the Cambridge Structural Database System.

Older Posts »

Events Calendar

<< Jun 2014 >>
SMTWTFS
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 1 2 3 4 5