Cambridge Structural Database 2014

The 2014 Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) is now available for download and installation. Access is limited to UCSD faculty, students and staff.

  • Uninstall the 2013 version first.
  • The suite includes ConQuest 1.16, Mercury CSD 3.3, PC Vista, PreQuest, Mogul 1.6, IsoStar 2.2.1 PC Client and all database files. You can (depending on your operating system) also download optional programs, including DASH.
  • Download times will vary, as these are very large files. The ISO installation will require a DVD.
  • You will need the site and registration codes the first time you run CSDS on your computer. These codes are available on that download page.
  • There is also a “lighter” web version available, WebCSD.
  • Documentation
  • Important information for OSX users:

If you have any problems downloading or installing CSDS, please contact Teri Vogel about alternative installation options.

Scopus Workshop, 3/12

Please join us for a workshop to learn how Scopus, a citation/abstract database of 50+ million records, with additional tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It’s strongest journal coverage is in science and engineering, but it also indexes social science, arts, and humanities journals.

Wednesday, March 12, 1-2pm, Geisel Library, Room 274
Registration link here, and seating is limited
Faculty, students, staff welcome

At the workshop you’ll learn how to use Scopus to:

  • Find the latest research in your field
  • Find other researchers doing work like yours
  • Find the best journal to submit your work
  • Find out who is citing your work

This workshop will also cover how to use Scopus to track, analyze and visualize research, how Scopus uses ORCID to solve the name ambiguity problem in research and scholarly communications, and how to use Mendeley as a reference manager to make the process of writing papers more efficient.

The UC Libraries have trial access to Scopus for 2014. Your feedback is essential in helping us determine if we can and should continue access beyond this year. We encourage you to try Scopus and send us your feedback.

ChemDraw @ UCSD (+ ChemDraw for iPad)

Just a reminder that UC San Diego faculty, staff and students have access to ChemBioDraw (aka ChemDraw). This is a campus-wide license, funded by a joint contribution from ACMS and the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

The Windows version includes ChemBioDraw as part of the larger ChemBioOffice Ultra suite (complete list of programs here). ChemBioDraw is available for Mac users. PerkinElmer offers a rich collection of training webinars, shorter video clips, and support resources.

To get ChemBioOffice/ChemBioDraw:

  • Register with PerkinElmer (formerly CambridgeSoft), using your ucsd.edu email address.
  • Once ACMS confirms your status, they will email you the instructions to download and activate the software. Please contact ACMS (software@ucsd.edu) if you have any questions. Note: the Library does not manage the registrations or downloads.

Read more…

SciFinder and Structure Editor Problems Java 7u51

Users may experience problems with the Java editor loading in SciFinder with the release of Java 7 Update 51 (1.7.0_51). Chemical Abstracts Service recommends that you add https://scifinder.cas.org to the Exception Site List, which you can find at the Java Control Panel.  This is a new feature in Update 51 and isn’t available in the earlier updates.

More about the structure editor technical requirements (and non-Java alternatives).

Web of Science – New Look + New Databases

Thomson Reuters just released a new search interface for Web of Science. To see a quick tour of the changes, check out their short video on YouTube. There are additional videos that cover the basic Web of Science functions: searching, refining, cited reference searching, alerts, and exporting references.

And this year, the UC Libraries and California Digital Library have licensed more databases from Thomson Reuters as part of the Web of Science Core Collection.

WEB OF SCIENCE CORE COLLECTION – Default Search

Along with the familiar Science/Social Science/Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes, these databases are now included in your search. All databases will be searched, unless you specify otherwise.

  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Indexes conference proceedings (12,000 conferences, 400,000 records/year) going back to 1990, with the same citation reference searching as you get in Science Citation Index
  • Book Citation Index – Indexes 40,000 books (10,000 to be added/year) to add more than 15 million cited references to Web of Science. 40% of the books are in the natural sciences.
  • Index Chemicus – Indexes more than 100 organic chemistry journals to provide coverage of novel compounds. You can search by text (including compound/reaction data) or structure/substructure. Along with the bibliographic, cited reference information, and citation alert functionality you expect from Web of Science, you’ll also get graphical summaries and reaction diagrams.  – Should be searched with Current Chemical Reactions.
  • Current Chemical Reactions – Indexes more than a million synthetic reactions from 100+ organic chemistry journals. You can search by text (including compound/reaction data) or structure/substructure. Along with the typical bibliographic and cited reference information, and citation alert functionality you get in Web of Science, you’ll also get complete reaction diagrams and critical conditions. – Should be searched with Index Chemicus.
screencap of Web of Science Core Collection Databases screencap of Web of Science search options

New Databases for Patents, Data, Current Awareness

Along with Web of Science’s new look and added content, UCSD now has access to more databases from Thomson Reuters, which can be searched individually or in combination with the other databases by selecting the All Databases option once you’re in Web of Science.

DERWENT INNOVATIONS INDEX

Patent and citation searching for chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering inventions. Covers more than 14 million basic inventions from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. Patent coverage back to 1963, citation coverage back to 1973.

DATA CITATION INDEX

Fully indexes a significant number of the world’s leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets. The records for the datasets, which include authors, institutions, keywords, citations and other metadata, are connected to related peer-reviewed literature indexed in Web of Science and the other databases.

CURRENT CONTENTS CONNECT

Current awareness database that provides easy Web access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from more than 7,000 relevant, evaluated websites. To browse by journal, select Browse Journals under the Basic Search option.

Screencap of Web of Science Databases

« Newer Posts

Events Calendar

<< Jan 2015 >>
SMTWTFS
28 29 30 31 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Twitter Feed