Seven win Guggenheim Fellows

April 17, 1970

Seven University of California, San Diego professors have been included in the list of Fellowship awards announced for 1970 by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. The seven UCSD winners were among 286 scholars, scientists, and artists chosen by the selection committee from among 2,313 applicants in the Foundation's 46th annual competition.

UCSD placed sixth in the number of awards going to one university, with Berkeley in first place with 23 and UCLA third with 10.

Those receiving Guggenheim awards at UCSD are: Dr. George E. Backus, Professor of Geophysics; Dr. Samuel H. Baron, Professor of History; Dr. David K. Crowne, Assistant Professor of English and Comparative Literature; Dr. Robert C. Fahey, Assistant Professor of Chemistry; Dr. William J. McGuire, Professor of Psychology; Dr. Forman A. Williams, Professor of Aerospace Engineering; and Dr. Andrew Wright, Professor of English Literature.

According to the Guggenheim Foundation, "The Fellowships were granted on the basis of demonstrated achievement in the past and strong promise for the future both to younger and older applicants."

Dr. Baron received his award for his work on the Weber thesis and the failure of capitalist development in early modern Russia. Now teaching Russian history, Dr. Baron was the first chairman of the UCSD Department of History. He came to UCSD from the chairmanship of the history department at Grinnell College, following doctoral work at Columbia and post-doctoral East Asian studies at Harvard.

Dr. Crowne was also given a Fellowship for his work on medieval Welsh language and literature. Dr. Crowne came to UCSD's Literature department a year after completing his doctoral work at Harvard in 1963. He was a consultant to the Muir College Committee on the Cultural Traditions requirement, and also on the Planning Faculty for Third College.

A Fellowship in the area of physical biochemistry was awarded to Dr. Fahey. Much of Dr. Fahey's doctoral work at the University of Chicago and after joining the UCSD faculty in 1963 has been in research in addition reactions to olefins.

Dr. McGuire's Fellowship follows a Fulbright Scholarship, a Fellowship from the Center for Advanced Study in Behavioral Sciences, and an SSRC Postdoctoral Fellowship. The Guggenheim award came for theoretical and experimental studies in social psychology.

Three of the awards went to prior Guggenheim winners. Dr. Backus won his first Guggenheim Fellowship while in his third year of teaching at UCSD's Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics in 1963. A wide range of interests has taken him from the Princeton faculty where he was a physicist, to the MIT mathematics department, to the UCSD Department of Earth Sciences. This latest award is for studies of geophysical inverse problems.

Predoctoral Fellowships were awarded Dr. Williams in 1955 from both the Guggenheim Memorial Foundation and the National Science Foundation. The 1970 award comes to him for work in flame theory.

Narrative management in English prose fiction was the subject of Dr. Wright's second Guggenheim Fellowship. His first, in 1961-62, followed a Fulbright Fellowship in 1951-52 and a Fulbright Senior Research Fellowship in 1960-61, both to University College, London.