Bibliographies

  • Bell, Doris. Contemporary Art Trends 1960-1980; a guide to sources. Metuchen, New Jersey: Scarecrow Press, 1981.

AAL Ref N6490z .B44.

  • Chiarmonte, Paula. Women Artists in the United States: a selective bibliography and resource guide on the fine and decorative arts, 1750-1986. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1990.

AAL Ref N6536z .W65 1990.

Divided into two parts. Part one includes information on Feminist art criticism, women's art organizations, galleries, and alternative spaces and lists biographical reference tools. Part two has extensive entries on Photography and Performance art and includes an index which focuses on minority art and artists. The minorities headings are subdivided into African American, Latina, Native American, and Asian American art and artists.

  • College Art Association. Gay and Lesbian Caucus. Bibliography of Gay and Lesbian Art. New York: College Art Association, 1994.

AAL Ref N72 .H64 .C64 1994.

1,200 entries are divided into seven sections that list all periods of Western and non-Western art, from antiquity to the present. Concentrating mainly on painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture and photography, the work also contains sections devoted to Aids and the arts, video, film, commercial arts, advertising, fashion and body art, theory and criticism.

  • Findlay, James A. Modern Latin American Art: a bibliography. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.

AAL Ref N6502.5z .F56 1983.

The entries cover the history of twentieth-century Latin American art and the transitional period of the late nineteenth century when appropriate. The bibliography is arranged first by broad geographic area and then by country. Within each geographic area or country subarrangement is by subject. Each subject is subdivided by type of material.

  • Havlice, Patrice Pate. Earth Scale Art; a bibliography, directory of artists, and index of reproductions. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 1984.

AAL Ref Bio N6494 .E27z .H37.

  • Igoe, Lynn . 250 Years of Afro-American Art: an annotated bibliography. New York: Bowker, 1981.

AAL Ref N6538 W5z I38

Lists books and articles on individual artists, including both living and dead. Organized in three parts: 1) basic bibliography of books, exhibition catalogs, and periodical and newspaper articles that refer to more than one artist; 2) subject list; 3) individual artists, the most extensive part.

  • Goldman, Shifra. Arte Chicano: a comprehensive annotated bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981. Berkeley, CA.: Chicano Studies Library Publications Unit, University of California, 1985.

AAL Ref NX512.3 .M4z .G65.

Arranged alphabetically by subject, author/artist and title. The subject headings were taken from the Chicano Thesaurus. Citations provide complete bibliographic data and includes a brief descriptive annotation.

  • Gray, John. Action Art: a bibliography of artist's performance from futurism to fluxus and beyond. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.

AAL Ref NX600 .P47z .G73.

Organized into three sections. The first section focuses on the formative years of artists' performance. Section two chronicles Action Art between the mid 1950's to the mid 1970's. The third section is devoted to biographical and critical studies of more than 115 individual performance artists and artists groups.

  • Langer, Cassandra. Feminist Art Criticism: an annotated bibliography. New York, NY: G.K. Hall, 1993.

AAL Ref N72 .F45z .L36.

  • Lockard, Ray Anne. Aids and Art: a bibliography.

AAL Ref N72 .A34z .L63.

  • McLellan, Hillary. Virtual Reality: a selected bibliography. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Educational Technology Publications, 1992.

AAL Ref QA76.9 .H85 .M4z.

Includes entries for topics such as Computers Animation and Virtual Environments, Architectural Walk-Through, Pixel-Planes, Tactile Interface, and Cyberspace.

  • Pincus, Robert. Art Reviews and Commentaries from the San Diego Union. 2 vol. Denver: W. C. Thomas, 1993.

AAL Ref N7445.2 .P56.

A collection of reviews that date from 1985-1991. Entries are listed by date of review and includes a cumulative index.

  • Zippay, Lori, ed. Artists' Video; an International Guide. New York: Abbeville Press, 1991.

AAL Ref N6494 .V53 .A78.

Catalog of Electronic Arts Intermix's international collection of artists' videotapes alphabetically lists over 1,500 works from the late 1960's to the early 1990's by more than 120 artists from the United States, Europe, Latin America, Australia and Japan. Each entry includes substantial biographical information as well as a short analysis of selected videotapes and an extensive bibliography that includes books; anthologies; exhibition and festival catalogs; articles and essays; special video issues of publications; periodicals and distribution catalogs.