Biographical Sources

  • Artist Biographies Master Index Detroit, Michigan: Gale Research, 1986.

AAL Ref Bio N40 .A78 1986.

Consolidated index to more than 275,000 biographical sketches of artists, living and dead, as they appear in a selection of principal current and retrospective biographical dictionaries devoted to the fine and applied arts.

  • Cerrito, Joanne, ed. Contemporary Artists. 4th ed. New York: St. James, 1996.

AAL Ref Bio N6490 .C6567.

International in scope. Gives biographical information, list of individual exhibitions, selected group exhibitions, bibliographies, and comment on work by the artist and a scholar or critic. Bibliographies include books by and about artist, exhibition catalogs, and journal articles. Contains examples of work.

  • Contemporary Art of Africa. New York: Abrams, 1996.

AAL Ref Bio N7391.65 .C66 1996.

  • Cummings, Paul. Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1994.

AAL Ref N6512 .C854.

Alphabetical in format, the artists' entries include where they studied art, and with whom; teaching experience; commissions executed; scholarships and awards; artists' address and their dealer of record; important one-man retrospectives; group exhibitions and bibliography.

  • Gumbo Ya Ya: an anthology of contemporary African-American women artists. New York: Midmarch Arts Press, 1995.

AAL Ref Bio N6538 .N5 G85 1995.

  • Havlice, Patricia Pale. Index to Artistic Biography. New Jersey: Scarecrow Press, 1981. (includes 1981 supplement).

AAL Ref Bio N40 H38.

Indexes 64 (plus 70 more in the supplement) biographical works in ten languages. Contains artists names, dates, nationality, media and letter code referring to biographical source referenced. Works are listed by code in front.

  • Heller, Jules. North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: a biographical dictionary. New York: Garland, 1995.
  • Hesse, Gritta. Kunstler der Jungen Generation/Artists of the "Young Generation." Munich: Saur, 1987.

AAL Ref Bio N6490z .H47 1987.

International in scope. Contains 17,000 entries published through 1985 on work of about 6,500 artists. Gives brief biographical data. Bibliographic entries includes books and journal articles mostly in German, but some in English.

  • Lester, Patrick. The Biographical Dictionary of Native American Painters. Tulsa: University of Oklahoma Press, 1995.

AAL Ref Bio E54.5 .L47 1995.

  • Marks, Claude. World Artists 1950-1980. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1984.

AAL Ref Bio N6489 .M37 1984.

  • Marks, Claude. World Artists 1980-1990. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1991.

AAL Ref Bio N6489 .W67.

Substantial and critical articles on "influential" artists. International in scope. Lists exhibitions, collections, and includes bibliography of books and periodical articles about the artist.

  • Prosyniuk, Joann, ed. Modern Arts Criticism. 4 vol. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991-.

AAL Ref N6490 .M54.

A biographical and critical guide to painters, sculptors, photographers, and architects from the beginning of the modern era to the present.

  • Naylor, Colin, ed. Contemporary Masterworks. Chicago: St. James Press, 1991.

AAL Ref Bio N6490 .C65675 1991.

  • Naylor, Colin, ed. Contemporary Designers. Chicago: St. James Press, 1990.

AAL Ref Bio NK1166 .C66 1990.

  • Piland, Sherry. Women Artists: an historical, contemporary, and feminist bibliography. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N. J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994.

AAL Ref Bio N8354z .B32 1994.

  • Watson-Jones, Virginia. Contemporary Women Sculptors. Phoenix, Az.: Oryx, 1986.

AAL Ref Bio NB212 .W37 1986.

Entries include information on education and training, individual and group exhibitions, work in public and private collections, awards and teaching positions, and includes a selected bibliography, an artist statement and an example of work.

  • Willis-Thomas, Deborah. An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1980. New York: Garland, 1989.

Ref Bio TR139 .W55 1989.

Continues Black Photographers, 1980-1940. When possible gives biographical information, discussion of work, collections, selected exhibitions, and selected bibliography. Includes entries for photographers about whom very little is known. More than 300 pages of examples of photographs by the artists. Appendixes include bibliography and selected exhibitions 1969-87.

  • Who's Who in American Art 1995/96. 20th ed. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1993.

AAL Ref Bio N6536 .W5 V. 1995-1996.

Entries include representatives from all segments of the art world including artists, historians, educators, collectors, librarians, critics, curators and dealers. The biographies are arranged alphabetically and are also indexed by geographic location and professional classification. A necrology is also included, cumulative from 1953.

  • Who's Who in Art. 27th ed. Detroit, MI.: Gale, 1996.

AAL Ref Bio N40 .W6 v.27.

  • Who's Who in Graphic Art. 2 vol. Zurich: Amstutz & Hedeg Graphics Press, 1982.

AAL Ref Bio NC45 .W5.

  • Who's Who in Graphic Design. Zurich: Benteli-Werd Verlags, 1994.

AAL Ref Bio NC999.2 .W56 1994.

Profiles more than 300 leading graphic designers from 46 countires.