Indexes

  • Artbibliographies Modern. Oxford, England: 1973-present (semiannual).

CD-ROM 1984- /Print: AAL Index Table N6490z .A7.

Abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography and design. Strong in documentation of 20th C. material. As of 1988, dropped 19th century and architecture coverage and increased photography coverage. Dictionary arrangement of artists and subjects. Indexes periodicals, books, exhibitions catalogs, theses, essays, and festschriften. Entries often contain abstracts and listings of number of illustrations in article.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Institute for Scientific Information (annual). CD-ROM: ask at SSHL Ref desk /Print: SSHL Ref. AI 3 .A7

Index Table 4. Issued in three parts: Citation index, Permuterm Subject Index, and Source Index.

  • Art Index. New York: H.W. Wilson.

Available on MELVYL (Art) covering materials published from 1984 onward/Print: AAL Index Table N7425z .A74. 1972-1994.

Index to domestic and foreign periodicals, some yearbooks and museum bulletins. Alphabetical listings of subjects, artists, and authors, includes cross references. Lists reproductions, articles, and book reviews, and information on exhibitions.

  • Bibliography of the History of Art: BHA. (formerly RILA) Santa Monica: Getty Art History Information Program; 1979-present (annual). AAL Ref CD-ROM: covering materials published from 1973 to present/Print: AAL Index Table N7510z .B53.

Covers worldwide literature on Western art in all media from late antiquity (4th century) to the present. Includes books, periodical articles, conference proceedings, Festschriften, collected essays, exhibition catalogues, museum publications, and doctoral dissertations. Reprints, translation, and revised editions are also cited. Reviews of books and exhibitions, obituaries, interviews, and published lectures are covered. Includes descriptive abstracts. Classified arrangement with author and subject indexes. Cumulative indexes in separate volumes.

  • Lauck, Johhny. Comic Book Index. Battle Creek, MI.: Alternative Concepts, 1996.

AAL Ref PN6725 .L36 C66 1996.

  • Parry, Pamela Jeffcott. Contemporary Art and Artist: An Index to Reproductions. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1978.

AAL Ref N6490 .P3234.

  • Photographers on Disc: an international index of photographers, exhibitions and collections. New York: G. K. Hall, 1997.

AAL Ref CD-ROM: based on the George Eastman House interactive catalog, an ongoing documentation project conducted by the Eastman House in Rochester, New York.

  • Robertson, Jack. Twentieth-Century Artists on Art: an Index to Artists' Writings, Statements and Interviews. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1985.

AAL Ref NX456 .R59 1996.

Lists approximately 14,400 artists alphabetically with 27,500 citations to primary documents from 930 publications. Includes artists of over sixty nationalities practicing all visual art media including painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, video, performance and earthworks.