Roger - UCSD Libraries online catalog of books, journals & other resources. Search examples:
- Title - World Cinema
- Author - Bordwell, David
- Keyword - Natural language search in the: title, subject, and content notes. If you do not have a particular item in mind, use keyword to get started. example = John Woo, Silent Films, pre-cinema, World War II, propaganda...etc. If you find an item by keyword, look at it's subject headings for further a more focused search.
- Subject (LC subject headings) Can be tricky as they are not "natural language" useed outside of the library. Examples below:
- Woo, John (director as subject)
- Stagecoach (film title as subject)
- Lloyd, Harold (actor as subject)
- Silent films -- "country"
- Film criticism
- Mental illness in motion pictures
- Motion pictures in propaganda
- Surrealism in motion pictures
- African American women in motion pictures
Combine subject headings:
- Women in the motion pictures -- History and Criticism
- Religion in motion pictures -- Plots, themes
- Motion Pictures -- Ireland
- Homosexuality in motion pictures -- Spain
Examples of genre and thematic terms used as subjects
- Gangster films -- History and Criticism
- Detective and Mystery films -- History and Criticism
- Western films - - Plots, themes
Film Journals in Roger (UCSD)- subject search Motion pictures -- periodicals
If UCSD does not have the book try:
- Circuit (CSUSM, SDSU, USD, SD County)
- Melvyl ( books & more outside UCSD)- use same searches you would in Roger - (e.g., - silent films -- criticism and history)
Look in these databases to find journal articles:
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
- Film Literature Index
1976-2001. Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover; 200 others selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. This version still in development.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index Coverage: 1975 - present. UCSD only
An international interdisciplinary index to the literature of the arts and humanities, indexing the contents of about 6,100 journals. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1100 leading arts and humanities journals. In many cases includes searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images.
- Art Full Text: 1984 - Present.
Citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.