Online Resources

For the most current reviews, citations and articles you will have to go to the most current sources. The databases below, hosted by the California Digital Library (CDL) ,are good places to look. Many citations have electronic abstracts, and or, full text available to download. Also try various sources on Academic Universe. (see below). All database are available on library INFOSTATIONS.

Art Retrospective CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database)
Citations to Art Index, volumes 1-32, published between 1929-1984.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database) (ISI)
A Web of Science database. Indexes 6,100 journals including; Cineaste, Sight & Sound, Film Comment, Film Quarterly, Wide Angle.

ArtAbstarcts CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database)
Covers 1984 - present. Try subject search using film title.

Expanded Academic ASAP CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database)

Lexis/Nexis Academic CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database) Full text to many of the dozens of major national and international newspapers.
Covers 1988 - present. Try subject search using film title or director. To find reviews only, use - Find Fewer, then Limit by Publication Type - Review.

National Newspaper Index CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database) Covers 1982 - present. Try subject search using the film title or director

Alt-Press Watch CDL/Melvyl (UC licensed database) 1995-present : full text articles from the alternative and independent press.

Databases A to Z (SSHL)

AFI Catalog American films

FIAF Index to international film periodicals