|
RefWorks is a web-based tool for storing and managing references and other research materials that you wish to use in your bibliographies. Using RefWorks, you can create personal databases and quickly output bibliographies for your research projects. RefWorks is licensed campus-wide by the UCSD Libraries - all current students, faculty, and staff members can use RefWorks for free from any off or on-campus computer. And because the service is web-based, there is no software for you to install, and you can access your RefWorks database from any computer including InfoStations and computers in student labs. We do teach classes in RefWorks each quarter - check out our classes web page to find out more and to sign up. How To Get Started With RefWorks: |
|||||||||
![]() |
Go to RefWorks. |
||||||||
![]() |
Off campus: you need to have your off-campus computer connected to the UCSD network via either the proxy server or VPN. If you are asked for a "group code" that's a signal that your proxy or VPN settings are not quite correct. You don't need the group code for most RefWorks operations, only for using the Write N Cite plugin with your word processor. Here are instructions for setting up proxy access from home. When your computer is set up correctly to connect to UCSD's network, you will see a link on the RefWorks page about using Write N Cite from off campus and you can find the group code information there. |
||||||||
![]() |
If you have some references to start with, you can type them in manually using "Add New Reference" under "References" from the top menu bar, or you can try to find them in an external database and then bring them into RefWorks. Further down this page there are some instructions for getting records from specific databases into RefWorks. |
||||||||
![]() |
You can organize your references into folders to keep items relating to different projects or papers separate. If you expect to have large numbers of references relating to completely separate projects, you can also sign up for multiple accounts and keep all your projects separate that way. |
||||||||
![]() |
You can connect RefWorks with the Word document of your paper in a couple ways, either via a small applet called "Write-N-Cite," which inserts a RefWorks button into Word, or by clicking "Bibliography" from the top menu bar and following the directions for adding citations to your document. You will want to give your bibliography the once-over before submitting it, especially if you have some unusual types of references, but we've found it works very well. |
||||||||
|
Getting References into RefWorks from Library Databases: |
|||||||||
![]() |
Roger |
||||||||
![]() |
BIOSIS Previews and Web of Science |
||||||||
![]() |
PubMed For quickly getting "known" references (ie, things you know for sure are in PubMed), the easiest option is to search PubMed right from inside RefWorks. Click "Search" from the top menu bar, then "Online Catalog or Database." PubMed is one of the choices. You can put journal names, author surnames, and article title words in the "quick search" box. Or, you can use the "Advanced" search form to limit by date, etc. If you need to do a real literature search, we do not recommend using Refworks' internal PubMed search tool - we recommend using the "real" PubMed search interface in order to get access to PubMed's powerful vocabulary mapping, limits, more options for saving and printing results, etc.
|
||||||||
![]() |
PsycINFO and International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
|
||||||||
| Last updated: February 15, 2008 Friendly URL: http://biomed.ucsd.edu/refworks.htm |
|||||||||
