UCSD Logo UCSD Logo For Printing

Skip navigation links

Navigation

Search

Libraries

Workshops at BML : Fall 2009

Please note:

  • All instructional workshops are open to UCSD students, staff, and faculty. San Diego area health professionals may also attend the workshops space permitting. PubMed workshops are open to everyone. There is no charge for the workshops.
  • Individual / group consultations and customized workshops on these or other topics are also available. Use Consultation Services form to request.
  • Laptops welcome - we have room in our classrooms for you to bring your own wireless-equipped laptop if you prefer to use your own equipment. Please read our tip sheet before coming to your class to make sure you get the most out of it.
  • Registration: Use the online registration form below or call (858) 534-3255 or e-mail vkanderson@ucsd.edu.
    • Please register at least 24 hours in advance. Due to material and equipment preparation, it is not possible to accommodate drop-in attendees. Workshops may be cancelled due to insufficient registration. Registrants will be notified if a workshop is cancelled.


Workshop Descriptions

All workshops are at the Biomedical Library Computer Classroom unless otherwise noted>

Just Tell Me What I Need to Know

How can I find my textbook in the library? How can I get specialized research help from a librarian? How do I get full-text journal articles? Where can I study?
This workshop will answer all these questions and more! Come learn 10 things about the UCSD Libraries to be sure you are making the most of your time and taking advantage of all of our great services. No registration necessary - just show up!

  • October 1, 3:00 pm
  • October 14, 12:15 pm
  • October 29, 1:00 pm
  • November 4, 12:15 pm
  • November 17, 1:00 pm


Search Series - Library Databases and Search Tools

Essential PubMed

This hands-on workshop forucses on what every user needs to know about PubMed, whether doign a search for a specific author or topic using keywords. Learn to focus your results with limits, become familiar with the features of the advanced search screen, and know how to use UC E-Links to easily get to full text articles.

  • Wednesday, October 7, 2-3:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, December 10, 11:30 - 1:00 p.m.

Note: PubMed classes are also available at the Medical Center Library, Hillcrest

PubMed Beyond the Essentials

This hands-on workshop moves beyond the basics to help searchers refine and expand their searching skills. Learn to search using MeSH terms and subheadings and search specific fields. We will also cover how to use MyNCBI to turn your search into an email alert for any new articles on your topic.

  • Thursday, November 3, 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Extreme Googling

Come learn the secrets of extreme Googling, focusing on the search tools within Google. Find out how to exploit Google and Google Scholar to the max. See how Google Scholar and UC-eLinks make getting to the full-text easy.

  • Thursday, October 8, 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, December 9, 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.

Information Management Series

EndNote (Desktop) - Hands-On

Note: We do use examples from life sciences databases, but attendees from other departments are welcome.

Writing a research paper and need to manage your references? Using EndNote already, but want to learn about its "power" features (e.g., Connect, "Cite While You Write," etc.)? Take this workshop to learn to build your own EndNote reference library and work with Word to write your paper and seamlessly create bibliographies.

  • Tuesday, October 20, 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, November 18, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.

Note: EndNote classes are also available at the Medical Center Library, Hillcrest

Organizing & Writing with RefWorks

Learn how to use RefWorks to organize your references and instantly format your research papers, articles, and other publications using APA, NLM and hundreds of other writing styles. You'll also learn how to download references using your favorite research databases and library catalogs.

Register for these using THIS SEPARATE FORM

  • Thursday, October 15, 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. - Geisel Library, LEC Room
  • Tuesday, October 27, 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. - BML Computer Classroom
  • Friday, November 6, 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. - Geisel Library, LEC Room
  • Monday, November 16, 12:00 - 1:30 p.m. - BML Computer Classroom

My Google Tools: What Else Can Google Do?

A survey of 7 Google tools each one limited to 10 minutes each. Find out about iGoogle, Maps, Google Reader, Docs, Calendar, Blogger, and Google Groups. Please set up a Google account before class - if you are not sure how to do this, come a few minutes early and we'll get you set up.

  • Tuesday, November 24, 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.

Library 101

Find It Fast (For UCSD Faculty & Staff)

Do you go without important inormation because you don't know where to start looking? Find time saving tips that will get you to needed resources and learn about Library services that can be delivered to your desktop. For details and to sign up, check out Enrollment Central.

  • Wednesday, October 28, 10-11:30 - Geisel Library

Information Commons Series

These workshops are designed around software tools available in the Biomedical Library Information Commons.

Unleash the Power of PowerPoint

The workshops do build on each other, but you can come to any or all depending on your needs and skill level. All classes will use PowerPoint 2007 for Windows.

PowerPoint Beginnings

This class is for people who have limited experience with PowerPoint or want a firm grounding the in the fundamentals of this program. This class covers developing a concept, making an outline in MS Word & importing it, and editing the slides. It also covers the menu & toolbars, task panes, and differing views. If you want to get it right from the very beginning, this class is for you!

  • Friday, October 2nd, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon
Power Enhancements

Learn to format your master slides and other techniques to visually enhance your presentation. Also covered are inserting and editing elements such as tables, charts, diagrams, sound, video, and animation. Experience using PowerPoint is necessary. Attendance at the previous session (Getting Started) is helpful but is not required.

  • Friday, October 9th, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon
Break-Through Presentations

Learn the do's and don'ts of presentation effectiveness and how to impress your audience with a well-timed balance of speech and visual communication. This class will help you prepare for and conduct great presentations from organizing, preparing, rehearsing, and delivering your presentation. Also covered are printing handouts and speaker notes, exporting your presentation to other applications and publishing it on the web.

  • Friday, October 16th, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon
Creating Killer Posters in PowerPoint

Learn to create research posters suitable for presentation at scholarly meetings using PowerPoint, a tool you already have on your desktop. If you have content, please feel free to bring it on a USB thumb drive.

  • Friday, October 30th, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon

Microsoft Visio

Diagrams Made Easy With Visio
  • Friday, November 13, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon
Making Diagrams Come Alive With Data (New Workshop!)
  • Friday, November 20, 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon


Registration Form

To enroll, select your classes of choice from the calendars below. No need to sign up for more than one of the same class.

Contact Information

Your Name
Department
Email
Phone Number
Mail Code
Status
Please indicate if you have a preference for us to contact you:

October 2009
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri






1

2
PowerPoint
      Beginnings
      10-12
      BML
5

6

7
Essential
      PubMed
      2-3:30p
      BML
8
XTreme
      Googling
      11a-12:30p
      BML
9
PowerPoint
      Enhancements
      10-12
      BML
12

13

14

15
RefWorks
      2-3:30p
      Geisel
16
PowerPoint
      Presentations
      10-12
      BML
19

20
EndNote
      11a-12:30p
      BML
21

22

23
26

27
RefWorks
      11-12:30p
      BML
28

29

30
PowerPoint
      Posters
      10-12
      BML
November 2009
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
2

3
PubMed
      Beyond
      11a-12:30p
      BML
4

5

6
RefWorks
      9-10:30a
      Geisel
9

10

11

12

13
Visio I
      10-12
      BML
16
RefWorks
      12-1:30p
      BML
17

18
EndNote
      3-4:30p
      BML
19

20
Visio II
      10-12
      BML
23

24
Google
      Tools
      10-11:30p
      BML
25

26

27

30








December 2009
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri


1

2

3

4

7

8

9
XTreme
      Googling
      1-2:30p
      BML
10
Essential
      PubMed
      11:30a-1p
      BML
11

14

15

16

17

18

Friendly URL: http://biomed.ucsd.edu/services/instruc.htm

Terms and Conditions of Use