UCSD Logo UCSD Logo For Printing

Skip navigation links

Navigation

Search

Libraries

China Focus

China Business and Economy: A Resource Guide

International Relations and Pacific Studies Library, UCSD

Part One: Electronic Resources

General Information

Business and Economic News. In Chinese. GB

Includes more than 80 Chinese newspapers from China and other parts of the world, of which nearly one-third are for business and economy including Jingji Ribao, Shanghai Jingji Ribao, Guoji Shanye Ribao, Zhongguo Zhengjuan Bao, and Shanghai Zhengjua Bao.

China Business Vista.

Good for general information on companies, business culture and policies, trade and investment activities, and commercial news.

China Business World

Provides basic information on doing business with China.

China Economic Information Network In Chinese and English.

Produced jointly by State Information Center and State Development Planning Commission, the Network offers the most comprehensive coverage of economic and business information. It also provides paid services for finding needed information on China trade and investment. The specially created English column, "China Economy", covers a broad spectrum of business and economic activities, new policies and regulations issued by central and local governments.

China Economic Information Service In Chinese and English.

Offered by Xinhua News Agency, the service is known for its "authoritative, accurate, up-to-date and practical" information. It provides about 45 pieces or 35 pages of information daily except weekends, Christmas Day and official holidays.

Economics Education and Research

Economic Education and Research China Economics Network In Chinese and English.

Created by the China Center for Economic Research(CCER) of Beijing University, the database is devoted to economic studies in China and other countries. Information on economists, academic programs, research projects and publications is very useful.

The Chinese Economists Society

A non-profit academic organization founded on May 26, 1985, in New York City. The purpose of the CES is" to promote market-based economic reform and open-door policy in China, expand academic exchanges between China and the outside world and engage in scholarly studies of the Chinese economy".

The Chinese Finance Association .

A non-profit organization with the purpose of facilitating the exchange of ideas, knowledge and information on education, research and practice in finance and related areas between the US and China.

Library Databases for Business and Economy

University of Toronto Cheng Yu Tung East Asian Library: Business and Economy

Offers exclusively links to various information sources on investment and business opportunities in China, with some useful descriptions about China's economic conditions and economic publications.

China WWW Virtual Library: Business and Economy

Of the more than 60 links provided, about one third is on Asia and East Asia in general with information on China. The remainder deals with economy and business of China, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan. Included are such well known sites as Chinese Economic Information Network(in Chinese) and China Business Vista.

Directory of Electronic Sources for Chinese Business and Economy

Created in 1995 by the University of Melbourne in Australia, this directory covers in six broad catagories information on sources of various topics. Very strong in the areas of economic and business news and media but relatively limited in other areas related to China economy and business. Particularly useful for finding sources in Australia and Singapore.

Selected Asian Business Information Sources at the Library of Congress

The Section for China contains a selected number of print materials, CD-ROMs, and internet resources. There are separate coverages for Hong Kong and Taiwan. Very limited in coverage.

Publication and Bibliography

There are no bibliographies on China economic and/or business available online. General bibliographies such as Bibliography of Asian Studies, ABI, and Business Periodicals Index can be used to find books and journal articles. However, some publishers, book vendors, and research institutions, government agencies, world organizations, have included in their Website information on publications related to China economy and business. Among them are World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Asia Law & Practice, State Information Center of PRC, State Statistic Bureau of PRC, Economic Intelligence Unit, Asia-Pacific Institute of Business Center for Chinese Business Studies, Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies, China Center for Economic Research of Beijing University, and many U.S. governmental agencies such Department of Commerce, Department of Treasure, CIA, Department of Agriculture.

Statistical Sources

China has produced an enormous amount of statistical data at both the national and provincial levels, covering nearly every aspect of business and economic activities. The data appear primarily in economic/statistical yearbooks and industry/trade yearbooks such as China Statistical Yearbook, China Energy Yearbook, China Autoindustry Yearbook, and China Economic Yearbook. While a small number of such yearbooks is accessible online through consultant firms with fee, most of them are in print. Outside China, many international organizations and government agencies of nations have collected and published various statistics on China economy and trade, of which a few are available online now.

China Statistical Yearbook. In Chinese and English. Available on CD-ROM since 1998.

This is still the most authoritative statistical source for the study of China economy and business. There is a monthly, China Monthly Statistics, available online now. Some firms offer monthly statistical reports of various scope and nature. See China Monthly Statistics and China Monthly eStatistics for detailed information.

Country Commercial Guides: China

Produced by U.S. Department of Commerce, it covers statistics on China's foreign trade and commodity.

China Customs Statistics

Comprises all merchandises passing through Chinese Customs Territory and is the basic information on China's external trade performance. Paid service provided.

China Statistic Data

Part of the service programs offered by the State Information Center. On the basis of subscription, it provides subscribers with either annual or monthly statistics for nearly 100 different types pertaining to industries and trade.

Statistical Data Locator

Links to sources with statistical materials on China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and many other Asian countries. Limited on China; strong on Hong Kong.

China Statistical Information Network. In Chinese

Produced by the State Statisitical Bureau, it is the major database for statistical information in China. Included are the Chinese version of the China Statistical Yearbook and information on every aspect of statistical works and articles. Various data and reports on business and economic activities.

China Data Center, University of Michigan

Contains statistical tables and indices on many aspects of China's economy and trade, plus some useful links and GIS data.

Business Directory

Kompass China

The most comprehensive China business directory in English. Available to subscribers only.

Great China Web Directories: Hong Kong and China Bilingual Business Directory

A searchable and free database offers fairly large listings in certain business categories. In Chinese and English.

China: Business and Economy: Companies:Directories

Links to nearly all the directories, free or paid, available online today, of which China Gold Directory, Bichannel, and China Page are better in scope.

China Infonet: China Business Directory

Good listings in certain business categories.

China Phone Book

Links to more than 30 cities, provinces and autonomies.

SinoSource: Business Directory of China

Extensive listing of foreign trade companies in China. Index only, not searchable. Service provided upon request.

Business and Investment Opportunities

Information on business and investment opportunities have been offered by a variety of government agencies, private companies and news media. In nearly all the sites on China business and economy, there is a section for business opportunities, investment opportunities or market opportunities. To attract foreign investments to their region or province, most of Chinese provinces, major cities and economic special zones have issued a type of "investment guide"(touzi zinan) listing opportunities for investment and trade. In recent years, an increasing number of them has appeared on line.

Asiaco: China: Business and Economy: Business Opportunities

Links to networks, individual companies, consultant firms and government agencies that offer the information on business and investment opportunities.

China Investment Guide. In Chinese and English

Valuable links to investment guides to and investment opportunities in various cities, provinces, and autonomies.

China Window

Provides general information about China business and economy at both national and local levels. Local windows for provinces and cities offer information about their economic plans, developmental projects, and investment opportunities.

Window for Development Areas in China. In Chinese, English and Japanese.

Offered by the Economic Special Zones Office of State Council, it provides information on the development of the Development Areas and investment opportunities for overseas Chinese and foreign investors.

Stock and Securities

China Finance Net

Provides information on stocks and stock markets in China.

China Law Resources on the Internet

Links to various legal websites and legal services.

Trade Mark and Patent

China Patent InfoNet

Created by the Bureau of Patent, it offers the most comprehensive information on patent in China.

China Trademark and Patent Law Office. http://www.cntrademark.com/

Homepage only.

Part two: Print Materials

Western Languages

Newspapers and Journals

Asian Journal of Business and Information Systems. Hong Kong Poly. Univ., 1995-

Business Alert. China. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Trade Development Council, 1999-Monthly

Business China. Hong Kong: Business International Asia/Pacific, 1988-

China: Economic Scene. By Development Research Center, State Council of PRC. Quarterly.

The China Analyst / from the Bank Credit Analyst Research Group Published Montreal : BCA Publications, c1993- Monthly.

China Business Handbook, 1999(London, England) London: China Economic Review. Annual.

China Business Monthly. Stoncutter Publications. Also available online.

The China Business Review. Published by National Council for US-China Trade, Washington, D.C.

China Country Commercial Guide: A Guide to Doing Business in China & Information on Current Economic Conditions. Prepared by U.S. Embassy, Beijing. Distributed by NTIS. Annual

China's Customs Statistics = Chung-kuo hai kuan tung chi Published Hong Kong : Economic Information & Agency, 1983-

China Development Briefing. Hong Kong: Asia Pacific Social Development Research Centre. Bi-monthly.

China Economic News = Chung-kuo ching chi hsin wen . Hong Kong : Economic Information & Concultancy Co. In English and Chinese.

China Economic News Weekly. Beijing: Economic Daily. Bilingual Edition(English and Chinese)

China Economic Review. By Chinese Economists Society. Greenwich, Conn. : JAI Press, 1989- Semiannual.

China: Economic Scene. By Development Research Center, State Council of PRC. Quarterly.

China Environmental Review. London: Asia Environmental Trading, 1997-

China's Foreign Trade. Peking : China Council for the Promotion of International Trade. Monthly.

China Hand. Hong Kong: EIU. Two loose-leaf volumes with monthly updates. Also on CD-ROM.

China Investment Compass. Hong Kong: Asia Information Associates, 1998-. Annual.

China's Foreign Trade, 1956-. Peking : China Council for the Promotion of International Trade. Monthly

China Market Review. Hong Kong, China Information Service. Fortnightly.

China Monthly Statistics / China Statistical Information and Consultancy Service Centre Published Beijing, China : China Statistical Information and Consultancy Service Centre, 1992-

China Oil & Gas. Beijing : International Bureau of CNPC : China Petroleum Industry Press, [1994- Monthly

China's Tariff & Non-tariff Handbook. Manassas, VA : US-China Information & Service Corporation, c1996- . Annual.

China Tax Review. Hong Kong : Ashton-Brooke Asia Publishing, 1990-

China Trade Report. Hong Kong, Far Eastern Economic Review.

The Chinese Economy : Translations and Studies. Armonk, NY : M.E. Sharpe.

The Directory of China's Foreign Trade. Beijing: China Council for the Promotion of International Trade: China Chamber of International Commerce, 1975- . Biennial. Also available on CD Rom.

Doing Business and Investing in the People's Republic of China. New York: PricewaterhouseCoopers, 1999- . Irregular.

Doing Business in China. New York: Ernst & Young, 1994- . Irregular

Doing Business in China. Hong Kong: Hodgson Impey Cheng, 1993- . Irregular.

Doing Business in China: People's Republic of China. Yonkersm NY: Juris Publishing, 1999-

Far Eastern Economic Review. Hongkong [Far Eastern Economic Review Ltd., etc.]

Chung-kuo jen min yin hang t'ung chi chi pao = The People's Bank of China Quarterly Statistical Bulletin. [China] : Zhongguo renmin yinhang 1994- In Chinese and English.

Atlas and Map

China Market Atlas. Hong Kong:EIU, 1996.

The National Economic Atlas of China.. New York : Oxford University Press, 1994.

The Population Atlas of China / compiled and edited by the Population Census Office of the State Council of the People's Republic of China and the Institute of Geography of the Chinese Academy of Sciences Published Hong Kong ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1987

Bibliography

Casper, Dale E. Chinese Economic Policy, 1980-1986. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1987.

Goehlert, Robert, et al. The Chinese Economy: A Bibliography of Works in English. San Bernadino, CA: R. Rginald/Borgo Press, 1995.

Miller, E. Willard and Ruby M. Miller. The Third World. People's Republic of China: Economic Aspects: A Bibliography. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1988.

Schmidt, Marlis. Economic Reforms in the People's Republic of China since 1979: A Bibliography of Articles and Publications in English-Language Magazines and Newspapers. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1987.

Wiechert, Carolyn. The Chinese Economy, 1978-1994: An Annotated Bibliography of Western Language Sources. Palo Alto, CA: Accolade Press, 1995

Wright, Tim. The Chinese Economy in the Early Twentieth Century: Recent Chinese Studies. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1992.

Business Culture

De Mente, Boye Lafayette. Chinese Eitquette and Ethics in Business. Lincolnwood, IL: NTC Business Books, 1989.

Huang, Quanyu, et al. Business Decision Making in China / Huang Quanyu, Joseph W. Leonard, Chen Tong. New York : International Business Press, c1997.

Kenna, Peggy. Business China: A Practical Guide to Understanding Chinese Business Culture. Lincolnwood, IL: Passport Books, 1994.

Wang, Yuan, et al. Business Culture in China / Yuan Wang, Xin Sheng Zhang, Rob Goodfellow. Singapore : Butterworth-Heinemann Asia, 1998

Contract and Business Agreement

International business agreements in the People's Republic of China : readings and materials / edited by Ralph H. Folsom, W. Davis Folsom. London ; Boston : Kluwer Law International, c1996

Dictionary and Encyclopedia

A Dictionary of Economics and Commerce, Chinese-English, English-Chinese. Beijing:Zhongguo Shehui Kexue Chubanshe, 1993.

Liao, Wenyuan, ed. A Chinese-English Dictionary of Economics and Finance. Shengyang: Liaoning Renmin Chubanshe, 1991.

Sung, Chow Wing, ed. and trans. Encyclopedia of Chinese Commercial Law. S. L.: Leisure Overseas Education, 1995.

Directory

American Business in China, 1998-1999. Torrance, CA: Caravel, 1998.

Asian Advertising, Marketing and Media Handbook: A Directory and Sourcebook, 1995. London: Euromonitor, 1994.

China Fax directory. Hong Kong : China Phone Book Co., c1998- Formerly China Fax & Telex Directory.

The China Phone book & Business directory, 1999= Chung-kuo tien hua pu. Hong Kong : China Phone Book Co. ; Queens Village, N.Y. : Distributed by Croner Publications Inc.

Chinese Business in America, 1999-2000. Torrance, CA: Caravel, 1999.

Directory of Chemical Products & Producers in China 1998.(5th ed.)

Directory of China Electronics Industry 1996-1997= chung kuo tien tzu ch'ang shang ming lu /, Technology Information Research Institute of MEI Beijing, P.R. China : Technology Information Research Institute of MEI : Publishing House of Electronics Industry.

Directory of China Computer Vendors, 1994-1995. Beijing: IDG, 1994.

Directory of China Electronics Industry 1997= chung kuo tien tzu chang shang ming lu / Technology Information Research Institute of MEI Published Beijing, P.R. China : Technology Information Research Institute of MEI : Publishing House of Electronics Industry.

Directory of Standing Representative Organizations of Foreign and Territorial Companies in China 1999.

Directory of U.S. Importers Doing Business with China, 1997/1998. Beijing: General Office of International Economy and Trade News.

KOMPASS China. East Grinstead, Eng.: Reed Information Service

Standard Directory of International Advertisers and Agencies, 1993. New Providence, N.J.: National Register, 1993.

Sino-U.S.-Euro Trading Almanac = Mei Ou Chung mao i nien chien. By Sino-U.S.-Eure. Trading Almanac Editorial Board. New York : Sino-U.S. Information, Inc.; Shanghai Jiao Tong University Press, 1995-

Guide

The A-Z of Cutting Rish in the PRC: A guide to Protecting your China Investment/ Managing Editor Chris Hunter. London: Asia Law & Practice, 1996.

Ambler, Tim. Doing Business in Greater China. New York: Routledge, 2000.

Business Guide to Modern China / Jon P. Alston and Stephen Yongxin He .East Lansing, Mich. : Michigan State University Press, c1997.

China Hand: Investing, Licensing and Trading Conditions in the People's Republic of China. London: EIU, 1997. Other title: China Hand, the Complete Guide to Doing Business in China.

China Investment Guide: Beijing and Tianjin: Establishing and Operating a Business. Hong Kong: EIU, 1997.

China Investment Guide:Guangdong: Establishing and Operating a Business. Hong Kong: EIU, 1997.

China Investment Guide: Inland China: Establishing and Operating a Business. Hong Kong: EIU, 1997.

China Investment Guide:North-East China:Establishing and Operating a Business. Hong Kong: EIU, 1997.

China Investment Guide: Shanghai: Establishing and Operating a Business. Hong Kong: EIU, 1997.

China :Investment & Business Guide / Emerging Markets Investment Center, USA. Washington, DC : Emerging Markets Investment Center, 1998.

Contact China: A Resource Guide for Doing Business in the People's Republic China. Beijing: U.S. & Foreign Commercial Service, American Embassy, 1998.

Cutshaw, Kenneth A. Corporate Counsel's Guide to Doing Business in China. 2nd Edition. Chesterland: Business Laws, 1999. Loose-leaf.

DeVore, Howard O. Technology Trade and Investment: China: A Comprehensive Guide to Business Issues in China Focusing on Opportunities for Trade and Investment in Advanced Manufacturing and other High-Tech Industries. Coulson: Jane's Information Group, 1999.

Doing Business and Investing in the People's Republic of China/PricewaterhouseCoopers. New Edition. London: PricewaterhouseCoopers, 1999.

Doing Business in China. Editor: Freshfield's Asia Group with Offices in Hong Kong, Beijing and Shanghai. Juris Publishing, 1998. 1 loose-leaf volume of 1200 pages updated twice per year.

Doing Business in China and Hong Kong into the Next Century: Burgeoning Opportunities for American Business: Toronto: ACI, 1995.

Doing Business in China and Hong Kong Post "1997". Toronto: Insight Press, 1997.

Doing Business with China. Consultant Editors: Jonathan Reuvid and Li Yong. 3rd Edition. London: Kogan Press, 1999.

Doing Business with China. Hong Kong: Asia Information Associates, 2000.

Guidebook on Trading with China = Tui hua mao i chih nan / Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. 5th ed. New York : United Nations, 1999.

Intellectual Property Guide: People's Republic of China. Hong Kong: Asia Information Associates, 1999.

Kourdi, Tim. Strategies and Techniques for Doing Business in China. Lo998.ndon: Thorogood: 1

Lou, Yadong. International Investment Strategies in the People's Republic of China. Brookfield: Ashgate, 1998.

Morarjee, Rachel. China Investment Guide: the North-East China: Establishing and Operating a Business. Hong Kong: Economist Intelligence Unit, 1997.

Li, Jenni, et al. Passport China: Your Pocket Guide to Chinese Business, Customs & Etiquette. New York: World Trade Press, 1996.

Wang, Yongjun. Investment in China: A Question and Answer Guide on How to Do Business. New York: AMACOM, 1997.

Handbook and Manual

China Forex Handbook, by Winston Zee. Hong Kong: Asia Information Associates, 1999.

China Investment Manual. 2nd Edition. Edited by Donald J. Lewis. Hong Kong: Asia Law& Practice, 1998.

China Security Handbook 1998-1999. Hong Kong: Philip Jay Publishing.

PRC Corporate Secretarial Practice Manual. Hong Kong: Sweet & Maxwell Asia, 1998.

Tseo, George K. Y. China Trade Manual : Business,Investment and Regulation / George K.Y. Tseo. New York : Thompson Publ. Group, 1995- Updated quarterly. Includes China Trade Bulletin.

Law and Regulation

China Law Reference Service : (December 1986 - the present.) Hong Kong : Asia Law & Practice, c1996- 6 v. in 8 (loose-leaf)

Customs Regulations and Tariffs of the People's Republic of China : 1998 / compiled by the Office of Customs Tariff Commission under the State Council of the PRC and the Customs General Administration Tariff Department of the PRC. 2nd ed. Sydney, NSW : CCH Asia Pacific, 1998. 1 v.

Business Law in China : Trade, Investment, and Finance / Editors-in-chief, Daniel A. Lapr??s, Zhang Yuejiao. Paris : International Chamber of Commerce, 1997.

Survey and Report (various subjects)

China Agricultural Development Report '97 / Ministry of Agriculture, People's Republic of China. Beijing : China Agriculture Press, 1998. Annual.

China Financial Outlook. By the People's Bank of China. [Beijing] : China Financial Pub. House. Annual Began with 1994?

The Insurance Industry in China. Asia Information Associates. Hong Kong, 1999.

Walsh, Kathleen A. U.S. commercial technology transfers to the People's Republic of China : A report / by Kathleen A. Walsh with support from Karen A. Swasey. [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Export Administration, Office of Strategic Industries and Economic Security : DFI International, 1999. 110 p. : ill. ; 28 cm

Wang, Henry. China's Oil industry & Market .Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1999

Yearbook

Almanac of China's Finance and Banking. English edition. Beijing: China's Financial Pub. House, 1991(?)-

Almanac of China's Foreign Economic Relations and Trade. [Hong Kong] : The Editorial Board of the Almanac of China's Foreign Economic Relations and Trade, 1987-

Beijing Statistical Yearbook 1998(with CD-ROM). Beijing: China Statisical Pub. House. In English and Chinese.

Beijing Statistics in Brief 1997. Compiled by Beijing Municipal Statistical Bureau.Beijing : China Statistical Pub. House. In English and Chinese.

China Agriculture Yearbook. English ed. Zao Ying lu Chaoyang District, Beijing : Agricultural Pub. House ; Beijing, China : Distributed by China International Book Trading Corp., 1986-

China Environment Yearbook. Compiled by the Editorial Board of China Environment Yearbook. [Beijing] : China Environment Yearbook, Inc., 1994-

China Markets Yearbook. Hong Kong : City University of Hong Kong Press, 1999-

(Formerly China's Industrial Markets Yearbook)

The Foreign Companies in China Yearbook, 1998. London: The Commercial Intelligence Service, 1998. (Directory ) Also on searchable CD-ROM.

China Chemical Industry Yearbook 1998. English ed. Beijing : China National Chemical Information Centre. Began in 1994?

China Eonomic Systems Reform Yearbook 1997. Beijing : State Commission for Restructuring Economic Systems PRC : China Reform Publishing House.

China Securities and Future Statistical Yearbook 1997. Chung-kuo cheng chuan chien tu kuan li wei yuan hui pien. Pei-ching: Chung-kuo t'ung chi ch'u pan she. In English and Chinese

China Securities Yearbook 1997.

China's Customs Statistics Yearbook. Hong Kong : Economic Information & Agency, 1990-

China's Industrial Markets Yearbook: Reports on 588 Industrial Markets, 1997. Hong Kong: City University of Hong Kong Press, 1997.

Shandong Statistical Yearbook 1997-

Shanghai Economy Year Book 1998. Pocket ed. [Shanghai] : Shanghai Economy Yearbook Editorial and Publishing Agency.

Chinese Language Publications

(To be added)

Terms and Conditions of Use