UCSD Logo UCSD Logo For Printing

Skip navigation links

Navigation

Search

Libraries

Section Navigation

Instruction & Guides

Library Resources for IRCO412

Handout to accompany presentation by Harold Colson, IR/PS Library Fall 2008

This guide outlines the research products and sites that are tapped most frequently and successfully by students across the IR/PS curriculum. Several of the items highlighted here are essential to the completion of your upcoming assignments in this class, and nearly all of them will come into play at some time in your IR/PS career. Subscribed products are highlighted in yellow; you will need proxy or VPN to access them from off campus.

Country Statistics

Getting current, authoritative economic indicators for a country (or a group of countries) is one of the most common research needs within IR/PS, and a dozen or so publications (print, CD-ROM, online) here answer most of the recurring queries. Far and away the top two statistical sources are:

World Development Indicators (World Bank)

Annual print edition at: IR/PS Reference HC 59.69 W62
WDI web subscription: http://ddp-ext.worldbank.org/ext/DDPQQ/member.do?method=getMembers&userid=1&queryId=6 The print WDI carries recent data plus selected back years; use the web version for time series retrievals. Provides 800+ economic, demographic, social, and environmental statistics, some as far back as 1960. See full list of indicators for 2008 at: http://publications.worldbank.org/WDI/indicators

International Financial Statistics (IMF)

Yearbook edition in print at: IR/PS Reference HG 3881 I6262
Current monthlies in print at: IR/PS Current Shelves HG 3881 I626
IFS web subscription: http://www.imfstatistics.org/imf
Online user guide and help page: http://ifs.apdi.net/imf/help/ifshelp.htm

The latest yearbook edition has annual data 1994-2005; the monthlies have recent monthly and quarterly numbers plus annuals back to 1995. Use the web database (covers 1948- ) for longer time series and extensive multi-country extractions. Provides exchange rates, balance of payments, money supply, total imports and exports, GDP, population, and much more.

Other recurring data hunts involve these publications:

Asian Development Outlook (Asian Development Bank)

Yearbook editions in print at: IR/PS Stacks HC 411 A74
2008 edition online with country reports and statistical appendix at:
http://www.adb.org/documents/books/ado/2008/default.asp

Balance of Payments Statistics (IMF)

earbook edition in print at: IR/PS Reference HF 1014 I52

China Data Online

National, provincial, county, and city statistics, plus census data
http://141.211.142.26/eng/ereg/ceitgroup.asp

Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)

Yearbook edition in print at: IR/PS Reference HF 1016 D52
Current quarterlies in print at: IR/PS Current Shelves HF 1016 D5
DOTS web subscription: http://www.imfstatistics.org/dot/ Shows aggregate import and export flows between countries. For example, Malaysia's total imports and exports with Japan, Indonesia, and Mexico. Web version data begins 1980.

Global Financial Database (GFD)

http://www.globalfindata.com/ucsd.php3
GFD provides some 6500 historical and current financial and economic data series from over
150 countries. 11,000 US stock price series are also available. Many series reach back with deep data runs to prior centuries. Easy graphing and downloading is available on the system.

Government Finance Statistics (IMF)

Yearbook edition in print at: IR/PS Reference HJ 101 G68

Human Development Report (UN)

"Human Development Indicators" data online at: http://hdr.undp.org/en/statistics/data/

International Trade Centre (UNCTAD/WTO)

http://www.intracen.org/tradstat/welcome.htm
Gives country and product import and export totals, 2001-2005

Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries (ADB)

Print edition at: IR/PS Reference HC 411 K4
2008 edition online at: http://www.adb.org/Documents/Books/Key_Indicators/2008/default.asp
Online PDF and XLS country tables have data for years 1990 to 2007.
Also try new Statistical Database System: http://sdbs.adb.org

SourceOECD

http://www.sourceoecd.org
Interactive subscription database of OECD books, periodicals, and statistics. Country coverage includes members Mexico Korea, and Japan. Additional non-member coverage for Brazil, China, Indonesia, India.

Statistical Yearbook for and the Pacific (United Nations ESCAP)

Print edition at: IR/PS Reference HA 1665 S73
Companion "Asia Pacific in Figures" (2006) online at: http://www.unescap.org/stat/data/apif/index.asp
Also time series database online at: http://www.unescap.org/stat/data/main/goalindicatorarea.aspx

Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean (United Nations ECLAC)

Print edition at: IR/PS Reference HA 755 A68
2007 edition online at: http://websie.eclac.cl/anuario_estadistico/anuario_2007/

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics

Yearbook edition in print at: IR/PS Reference HF 1016 U54
Free interactive data access at: http://www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=1890
The data available from the UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics online are structured into these parts: International merchandise trade, International merchandise trade by region, International merchandise trade by product, International merchandise trade indicators, International trade in services, Commodities, International finance, Development indicators

UNdata

http://data.un.org
Interactive free database of UN and IGO country data series, including economic, social and environmental indicators. Coverage as far back as 1944.

UN COMTRADE

http://comtrade.un.org/db/default.aspx
Detailed commodity imports and exports statistics by country, 1962-present.

World Investment Report (UNCTAD)

Yearbook editions in print at: IR/PS Stacks HG 4538 W67
See country FDI " Fact Sheets" and "Profiles" with data at:
http://www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=3198&>http://www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=3198?=1
Free access to their interactive FDI database at:
http://www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=3199&lang=1
We also carry many country statistical yearbooks in the HA section of IR/PS Reference.

In addition, national statistical offices, central banks, and government ministries in most countries nowadays maintain websites with varying amounts of official country data online.

Country Analysis

These sites can help in various ways: BMO, EIU, and Global Insight for ready reviews of country political and Economic developments, including investment environments and industries; Investext for quality brokerage house reports on countries, industries, and companies; WDS for World Bank research and policy publications. In addition, the ADB is strong on Asian social policy research and offers many of its recent publications online. The IMF "Country Reports" include detailed reviews of economic policy issues in certain member nations. Other international agencies covering Latin America and also offer websites with member country data and economic surveys.

The PDF reports in Investext can save considerable time previously spent researching global firms and industries via press sources. In fact, they contain much information that is not available to us in any other way!

EIU.com http://portal.eiu.com/index.asp?autologin=bulk

including Country Commerce

Global Insight

http://myinsight.globalinsight.com/servlet/cats?pageContent=home&imask=1

Business Monitor Online

http://www.businessmonitor.com/enter

InvestextPlushttp://uclibs.org/PID/1509

World Development Sources (World Bank)http://www-wds.worldbank.org

IMF http://www.imf.org ADB http://www.adb.org
IDB http://www.iadb.org WTO http://www.wto.org
APEC http://www.apecsec.org.sg/ ASEAN http://www.aseansec.org/
ESCAP http://www.unescap.org/ ECLAC http://www.eclac.org

Country Commercial Guides

http://www.stat-usa.gov/mrd.nsf/vwCCG_Country?OpenView&Count=-1

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices

http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/hrrpt/2007/index.htm

Global News

Although weak in scholarly content, LexisNexis Academic and Factiva are by far our best products for global journalism as drawn from thousands of general and specialty newspapers, magazines, newsletters, andwire services. ISI Emerging Markets adds hundreds of "in-country" news and industry publications, many in languages other than English. (Its China coverage is particularly stunning.) Statistics, market reports, company financials, bank and brokerage house commentaries, and other wonders also lurk within - try it! LADB and Latinnews.com offer weekly recaps of political and economic developments in, Central America, and South America.

LexisNexis Academic http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic

Factiva http://uclibs.org/PID/32497

AsiaInt http://www.asiaint.com

ISI Emerging Markets http://site.securities.com

Access World News http://uclibs.org/PID/98452

Latin America Data Base (LADB) http://ladb.unm.edu

Latinnews.com http://www.latinnews.com

World News Connection (FBIS) http://wnc.dialog.com

Academic Articles

There is no "one-stop shopping" for scholarly literatures spanning the IR/PS curriculum, so a proper retrieval strategy generally requires visits to several databases, each of which carries particular strengths and weaknesses (not to mention different search interfaces). Among the products selected below for this class, Business Source Premier and Expanded Academic ASAP offer the best "on-the-fly" access to viewable article texts and images (PDF), drawn from strong sets of academic, trade, and general periodicals. Try the other databases as needed for extended disciplinary coverage.

Academic Search Complete - scholarly journal and general magazine coverage from 11,000 publications; over 5000 with HTML or PDF full-text
http://uclibs.org/PID/126936

Business Source Complete - scholarly journals, trade mags, country reports, industry and company profiles; carries 6800 titles with HTML or PDF full-text
http://uclibs.org/PID/126938

EconLit - economics journal articles, book chapters, papers, and dissertations
http://web5.silverplatter.com/webspirs/start.ws?customer=ucsd&databases=ECON

JSTOR - complete searchable backfile runs of top journals in economics, political science, finance, business, history, sociology and other fields; most recent 2-3 years of titles generally not available here
http://www.jstor.org

PAIS International - global policy literature from journals, books, government pubs
http://www.csa3.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=diego&access=diego222&cat=pais

Web of Science (SSCI) - over 7000 scholarly journals in all fields; includes law, political science, international relations, economics, business, area studies, development; many citations have links to our licensed e-journal content
http://isiknowledge.com/wos

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - literature appearing in 1100 journals
http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=diego&access=diego222&db=polsci-set-c&adv=1

LexisNexis Academic carries some 300 full-text law reviews in its Legal Research section; law review articles often work well with IR/PS concerns in trade, investment, regulation, and intellectual property. Additional law reviews are online via Westlaw Campus: http://uclibs.org/PID/95262

Pre-publication Scholarship

The scholarly editorial and publishing process takes months to get new manuscripts into print, but these two sites organize and distribute early versions of relevant academic papers for use now. Many, but not all, of these papers will eventually appear in journals or books.

CIAO - full-text international affairs papers from institutes and centers worldwide
http://www.ciaonet.org

RePEc/IDEAS- economics "working papers" worldwide; many are ready to download here months or years prior to actual publication
http://ideas.repec.org

SSRN - full-text papers in economics, finance, politics, management, marketing, and more http://www.ssrn.com

Google Scholar - finds full-text papers from academic sites, plus references to published articles
http://scholar.google.com

Terms and Conditions of Use