Hints for moving references into RefWorks
- If you export database references directly into RefWorks, you may need to change your browser's popup-blocker settings to allow popups for that database.
- After you have added a group of references into RefWorks, whatever the method, always check to make sure they are importing into RefWorks correctly. View Last Imported Folder will let you see the last set of references you added to RefWorks.
Major Science & Engineering Databases
Other S&E Databases & E-Journals
ACM Digital Library
Save and Import
- For the reference you want to save, select the full citation version.
- Select the BibTeX display format and use the Save As (or right-click to save) function on your Browser to save the file in text (.txt) format to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = BibTeX, Database = ACM Digital Library.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
- Instead of saving the text file to your computer, you can also copy and paste the BibTeX-formatted text from your browser into RefWorks (Import Data from the following text) and Import.
Back to Top
Astrophysics Data System
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references, then scroll down to Retrieve the above records in other formats or sort order.
- Select Refman format from the Return drop-down menu, Save to file from the 2nd drop-down menu, and click Retrieve Selected Records.
- Use the Save As function on your browser to save the file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = RIS Format, Database = Reference Manager.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
- Instead of saving the text file to your computer, you can also copy and paste the formatted text from your browser into RefWorks (Import Data from the following Text) and Import.
Back to Top
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (Aerospace & High Technology Database, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, GeoRef, METADEX, Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts)
Direct Export
- Mark the desired references and click RefWorks.
- Click the Export to RefWorks button to open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
- You can also continue marking references, Update Marked List, and go to Save, Print, Email to Export to RefWorks.
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references, Update Marked List, and click Save, Print, Email.
- Select Full Format from the drop-down menu.
- Select the correct file format and Save the file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts), Database = [whichever CSA database you used].
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import
Back to Top
Civil Engineering Database
References from this database must be entered into RefWorks manually. Go to RefWorks/Add New Reference.
Back to Top
Current Index to Statistics
Save and Import
- Search for references with the Output Format set to BibTeX.
- There is no option to mark and save references to a file for importing.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = BibTeX, Database = Current Index to Statistics (CIS).
- Copy the desired references and paste them into RefWorks (Import Data from the following Text) and Import.
Back to Top
EBSCOhost (Business Source Premier)
Direct Export
- In your search results, click the Add link next to the desired references to add them to the Folder.
- Click Folder has items to bring up the marked references, then click Save to Disk.
- Click the Bibliographic Manager tab, select Direct Export to RefWorks, then click the Save button to open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
Save and Import
- In your search results, click the Add link next to the desired references to add them to the Folder.
- Click Folder has items to bring up the marked references, then click Save to Disk.
- Click the Bibliographic Manager tab, select Citations in a format that can be uploaded to bibliographic management software.
- Use the Save As function on your Browser to save the file in text (.txt) format to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import. Select Import Filter/Data Source = EBSCOhost, Database = Business Source Premier.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
- You can also import individual references into RefWorks by clicking Save when you bring up that reference, then follow the rest of the steps.
- Instead of saving the text file to your computer, you can also copy and paste the formatted text from your browser into RefWorks (Import Data from the following Text) and Import.
Back to Top
Ei Engineering Village 2 (Compendex)
Direct Export
- Mark the desired references and click Download.
- In the new browser window that opens, select RefWorks direct import and click Download to open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references, select the Detailed Record format and then click Download.
- In the new browser window that opens, select Plain text format and click Download to save the file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import. Select Import Filter/Data Source = EI Engineering Village 2, Database = Compendex.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
Google
References from this database must be entered into RefWorks manually. Go to RefWorks/Add New Reference.
Back to Top
Google Scholar
Direct Export
- Go to Google Scholar and select Scholar Preferences.
- Under Bibliography Manager, select Show links to import citations into RefWorks.
- Save Preferences and begin searching.
- Click the Import into RefWorks link under the desired reference. RefWorks will open in the Edit Reference view. However, the record is already saved in the Last Imported folder so you only need to Save Reference if you make any changes to it (including specifying a folder).
Back to Top
IEEE Explore
Direct Export
- Select the AbstractsPlus view for a single record, or mark multiple records and click View Selected Items.
- In the Download Citations box, select Citation or Citation & Abstract, then select the RefWorks option and click >> to open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references and click view selected items.
- Select Citation or Citation with Abstract, then select EndNote,ProCite,RefMan format and click >> to save the file to your computer with a .jsp extension.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = RIS Format, Database = IEEE/IEL.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
ISI (Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews)
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references and Add to Marked List.
- Click the Marked List button. For Step 1, check abstract* if you want those included. For Step 2, leave the second drop-down menu option on Field Tagged and click Save to File to save the text file (.txt) to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = ISI (Institute for Scientific Information), Database = Web of Science or BIOSIS.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
Lexis-Nexis
References from this database must be entered into RefWorks manually. Go to RefWorks/Add New Reference.
Back to Top
MathSciNet
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references and click Add to Clipboard.
- Click View Clipboard to bring up all of the citations.
- Select Citations (BibTeX) format and click Text.
- Use the Save As function on your Browser to save the file in text (.txt) format to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = BibTeX, Database = MathSciNet.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
- Instead of saving the text file to your computer, you can also copy and paste the formatted text from your browser into RefWorks (Import Data from the following Text) and Import.
Back to Top
MDL (Beilstein & Gmelin)
Save and Import (works with journal references; patent references will not import correctly into RefWorks and will need to be fixed)
- In CrossFire, run the search with the context set to Citations (not Sustances or Reactions).
- Mark the desired references, and under Export Hits select ProCite/EndNote/Reference Manager.
- Choose the appropriate Export Data (probably 'Selected Hits Only') option and click Start.
- Save the references to your computer as an ASCII text (.txt) file.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = RIS Format, Database = Beilstein.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
- Beilstein and Gmelin references will not include article titles. You will need to add these to the references manually once they are in RefWorks.
Back to Top
Melvyl (UC Libraries Joint Catalog)
Search Melvyl from the RefWorks Interface
- Go to Search/Online Catalog or Database, and select MELVYL - University of California.
- Run your search and decide which results you want to import into a RefWorks folder.
- Using RefWorks to search Melvyl will not give you the same, exact set of results you would see by searching with the regular Melvyl interface.
Back to Top
OCLC FirstSearch (WorldCat)
Direct Export
- Mark your desired references and click Export.
- Select Export To: RefWorks and click Export to open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
Save and Import
- Mark your desired references and click Export.
- Select Export To: Text file and click Export.
- Save the text (.txt) file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = OCLC FirstSearch, Database = WorldCat.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
OvidSP (INSPEC, INSPEC Archive)
Direct Export
- Mark the desired references and scroll down to Results Manager.
- Select Complete Reference, then select Direct Export and click Save.
- Select Export references to RefWorks and click Continue to open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references and scroll down to the Results Manager.
- Select Complete Reference, then select Ovid Format and click Save.
- Select Windows, Macintosh or Unix for your platform and click Continue to save the file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = OVID, Database = INSPEC.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
ProQuest (Digital Dissertations)
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references (the clipboard icon next to each one) and click Marked List.
- Click Download.
- Select an output format (citaiton or citation/abstract) and click Download.
- Save the text (.txt) file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = ProQuest Digital Dissertations, Database = Digital Dissertations.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
PubMed
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references you want to export (or go to the Clipboard if you already have saved records) and change the Display from Summary to MEDLINE.
- In the Send To drop-down menu, select Text.
- Use the Save As function on your Browser to save the file in text (.txt) format to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = NLM PubMed, Database = PubMed.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
- Instead of saving the text file to your browser, you can also copy and paste the MEDLINE-formatted text from the Browser into RefWorks (Import Data from the following text) and Import.
Back to Top
Roger (UCSD Library Catalog)
Search Roger from the RefWorks Interface
- Go to Search/Online Catalog or Database, and select University of Californa, San Diego, near the bottom of the list.
- Run your search and decide which results you want to import into a RefWorks folder.
- Using RefWorks to search Roger will not give you the same, exact set of results you would see by searching with the regular Roger interface.
- The Quick Search does not work. Use the Advanced Search form and search by title, author, or subject heading (All Fields is currently not working).
Back to Top
SciFinder Scholar
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references you want to export and click the Save As button.
- Save the file to your computer as Tagged Text (.txt).
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = CAS SciFinder, Database = <Multiple Databases> (or CAPlus if you excluded MEDLINE references from your results).
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top
SilverPlatter (Applied Science & Technology Abstracts)
Direct Export
- Mark the desired references and click the Save button (floppy disk icon) in the upper right area of the screen.
- Select Export to RefWorks and click the OK button in the upper right area of the page. This will open RefWorks and automatically import your references.
Save and Import
- Mark the desired references and click the Save button (floppy disk) in the upper right area of the screen.
- Select Export to RefWorks and Complete Record under Save These Fields.
- Under Also save, mark Record number and database name and select Short labels in the drop-down menu, then click OK in the upper right area of the page.
- Select Save to Disk and click OK to save the file to your computer.
- Open RefWorks in another browser window if it's not already open, and go to References/Import.
- Select Import Filter/Data Source = SilverPlatter WebSPIRS, Database = Appl Sci & Technol FTX.
- Import Data from the following Text file. Browse to locate your saved text file, then click Import.
Back to Top