RefWorks Importing & Exporting Instructions

How do I save articles to RefWorks? Before you start--

  1. Log in or sign up for a Refworks account. (Tip: After logging in, create folders for each class you are writing a paper for to keep your citations organized.)
  2. Disable the pop-up blocker on your web browser (Mozilla Firefox: Tools - Option - Content; Internet Explorer: Tools - Options - Privacy
Click on the database you're using from the list below:
Database Import Filter/Datasource/Vendor
Academic Search Complete EBSCO
Alt Press Index Combined OCLC First Search
Alt-Press Watch ProQuest
America: History & Life EBSCO
American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies EBSCO
American Periodical Series Online ProQuest
Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature Chadwyck-Healey
Anthropology Plus OCLC First Search
Art & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) ISI
Article First OCLC First Search
ATLA Religion Database EBSCO
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) ProQuest
Bibliography of Native North Americans EBSCO
Business Source Complete EBSCO
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) ProQuest
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987) ProQuest
Chicano Database OCLC First Search
Communication Abstracts CSA
Dissertations & Theses ProQuest
EconLit CSA
Education Full Text Wilson Web
Education Index Retrospective Wilson Web
Environment Index EBSCO
ERIC CSA
Ethnic NewsWatch ProQuest
Family & Society Studies Worldwide EBSCO
Film & Television Literature Index EBSCO
FRANCIS OCLC First Search
GreenFILE EBSCO
Historical Abstracts EBSCO
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences CSA
Index Islamicus CSA
Index to Jewish Periodicals EBSCO
International Bibliography of History of Science, Technology & Medicine OCLC First Search
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance EBSCO
JSTOR JSTOR
Left Index EBSCO
LGBT Life EBSCO
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Wilson Web
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts EBSCO
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts CSA
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) ProQuest
Los Angeles Times (1991-1987) ProQuest
MasterFILE Premier EBSCO
MLA International Bibliography CSA
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) ProQuest
New York Times (1851-2006) ProQuest
New York Tribune (1841-1922) ProQuest
NextGen Melvyl
Old Testament Abstracts EBSCO
PAIS Archive CSA
PAIS International CSA
Peace Research Abstracts EBSCO
Philosopher's Index CSA
Play Index Wilson Web
Proceedings First OCLC First Search
PsycArticles CSA
PsycINFO CSA
Race Relations Abstracts EBSCO
Reader's Guide Retrospective Wilson Web
Roger/UCSD catalog Innovative Interfaces
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) ProQuest
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Knowledge) ISI
Social Services Abstracts CSA
Sociological Abstracts CSA
Urban Studies Abstracts EBSCO
Wall Street Journal (1889-1992) ProQuest
Washington Post (1877-1993) ProQuest
Women's Studies International EBSCO
Worldcat OCLC First Search
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts CSA

Chadwyck-Healey

  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the citations you wish to save by checking the box on the left side of each record
  3. Click Marked List on the top of the page.
  4. Click Download Citations.
  5. Choose Export directly to RefWorks.
  6. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations. 
CSA
  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Mark the citations you wish to save by checking the box on the left side of each item.
  3. Click the RefWorks link just above the list of citations.
  4. Click the Export to RefWorks box.
  5. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations.

EBSCO
  1. Conduct your search.
  2. Click Add to folder under each citation you wish to save.
  3. In the Folder has items section on the right, click on Folder View.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. Select Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save.
  6. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations.

Innovative Interfaces
  • Part I in Roger
    1. Check the box next to each desired record. 
    2. Click on the Save checked records button. 
    3. In the Format of List section, select Endnote/RefWorks. 
    4. In the Send List to Section, select Local Disk and click Submit
    5. Click Open. 
    6. Using the Edit menu, Select All and Copy the text.

    Part II in RefWorks

    1. Log on to www.refworks.com
    2. In the References menu, select Import.
    3. In the Import Filter/Data Source menu, select Innovative Interfaces (Endnote/RefWorks Format)
    4. In the Database section, select University of California - San Diego.
    5. In the Import Data from the following Text File, click Browse, select the file you have just saved and click Import.
  • ISI
    Part I in Database:
    1. Click in the box to the left of desired records.
    2. Click Add to Marked List at the top of the screen.
    3. Click Marked List at the top of the screen.
    4. Select desired options under Step 1.
    5. Select Save to File with Field Tagged and Other Reference Software showing in drop-down menus under Step 2.
    6. Click Save to File.
    7. Click Save if the Save As dialog box does not open automatically.
    8. Identify your disk drive and filename plus the extension .txt (plain text) in the File Name Box.
    9. Click Save

    Part II in RefWorks
    1. Log on to RefWorks
    2. Under the References menu, click Import
    3. Select Thomson Reuters from the Import Filter/Data Source drop-down menu.
    4. Select Web of Science from the Database drop-down menu. 
    5. At the Import Data from the following Text File box click Browse to select the file name of your saved records. 
    6. Click Import. Your citation(s) will automatically be imported into the Last Imported Folder
  1. Select Export Citations under your desired records. 
  2. Click on RefWorks.
  3. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations.
  1. Check the boxes next to each desired record. 
  2. Click on Export at the top of the screen. 
  3. Select Marked records from this search in the Export section and RefWorks in the Export To section. 
  4. Click Export.
  5. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations.
  1. Mark the citations you wish to save by checking the box on the left side of each item. 
  2. Click on Export right above the search results. 
  3. Click on Export directly to RefWorks. 
  4. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations.


  1. Click in the box to the left of desired records.
  2. Click Exporting/Citing at the top of the screen.
  3. In the Download Record(s) into section, select RefWorks Direct Export Tool.
  4. Click on Export.
  5. RefWorks will open in a new window. Log in if you have not already done so. Your saved citations will automatically be imported. Click View Last Imported Folder to check your imported citations.