POLI 115A Gender, Politics and Globalization (Spring 2009)


 

Starting Your Library Research


 

International Government Information Search Engines

Search for Online International Documents and Publications




 

International Gender Resources



Country Background Information

  • CIA World Fact Book (US Govt)
    Annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
  • Country Studies from the Library of Congress
    Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.
  • Geo.worldbank.org
    A mashup of World Bank data with Google Maps. Has basic data, news, and project information for every country in which the World Bank is involved.
  • Human Development Reports Country Tables
    Annual publication of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
  • MDG Monitor
    A one-stop-shop for information on progress towards the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), globally and at the country level. Statistics and project progress information are available by country and by goal.
  • UNdata
    "A World of Data." Single search interface for data produced and collected by various United Nations (UN) organizations.
  • USAID
    Provides an overview of each county where the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) does work.
    United States federal agency that provides economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world in support of the foreign policy goals of the United States.
  • World Development Indicators (WDI) [UCSD Only]
    Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank.

 

Books, etc.

Use Roger to find books about your topic. Begin with a keyword search, for example:

women and politic*

(women or feminis* or gender) and politic*

(Note that the * is a truncation symbol, e.g. feminis* returns results for feminism, feminist, feminists, etc.)

When you find a record for a book that looks useful, take a look at the subject headings. In Roger, these subject headings are clickable links that run a new search. Searching by these subject headings may help find resources that don't turn up with an initial keyword search. They might also give you ideas of other search terms to use in your keyword search.




Scholarly Articles

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [UCSD Only]
    1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
  • IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences [UCSD Only]
    1951-present. More than 2 million abstracts for journal articles, reviews, books and book chapters for social sciences and interdisciplinary research. Broad international coverage with material from over 100 languages and countries.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index: SSCI [UCSD Only]
    1956-present. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to more than 1700 leading social sciences journals. In many cases with searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. One of the Web of Science databases.
  • LexisNexis Academic [UCSD Only]
    Contains full text law review articles.
  • Weslaw Campus [UCSD Only]
    Provides full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; legal periodicals and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides and information for pre-law students.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues [UCSD Only]
    Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.
  • GenderWatch [UCSD Only]
    A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
  • Women's Studies International [UCSD Only]
    1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts (1984-present). Former name: Women's Resources International.


News Resources

  • News Sources
    from the UC San Diego Libraries Reference Shelf
  • LexisNexis Academic [UCSD Only]
    Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Former name: Academic Universe.
  • Los Angeles Times [UCSD Only]
    Search and view full text of the Los Angeles Times on Proquest.
  • New York Times [UCSD Only]
    Search and display full text of the New York Times on Proquest. Uses the Late Edition (East Coast)
  • World News Connection [UCSD Only]
    1994-present. Translations and summaries by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and nonclassified technical reports. Successor to FBIS.


Gray Literature/Policy Documents

  • PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) [UCSD Only]
    1915-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, and law. Global, multilingual scope.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online [UCSD Only]
    Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
  • SourceOECD [UCSD Only]
    Full-text of books and journals from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, as well as statistical data on a wide range of topics in economics, political science, environmental studies, and more.
  • UNBISnet: United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet
    UNBIS is the primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. Established in 1979, it offers access to documents of the United Nations and to non-UN publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva
  • Find print documents using Roger
    The UC San Diego Libraries collect many documents from IGOs and NGOs as well as government documents from the United States, the European Union, and some foreign governments. Search Roger to find titles, locations, and call numbers.


Example Policy Briefs



Additional Resources


 

Contact

For assistance, contact Annelise Sklar
Librarian for Political Science, Law & Society, and State, Local, and International Government Information
858-822-1993,  asklar@ucsd.edu