UCSD Logo UCSD Logo For Printing

Skip navigation links

Navigation

Search

Libraries

California Legislative Documents

This guide describes how to locate California Legislative documents at the Social Science & Humanities Library. Online versions are listed where available.




Overview of Legislative Process



Text of Bills

A Bill is a legislative proposal that if passed by both the Assembly and the Senate and approved by the Governor becomes law. Each bill is assigned a bill number. A denotes bills that originate in the Assembly and S denotes bills that originate in the Senate. Note: older bills (1867 - 1994) are available at the San Diego County Public Law Library.

  • Bill Information (1993 - present)
    Searchable database of information about all bills, including bill text, bill history and committee analyses if available.
  • Assembly Bills (2003 - present)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks, Call Number: L 500 B5a
  • Senate Bills (2003 - present)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call Number: L 500 B5s


Text of Laws

Statutes
Called "chapters" in California, statutes are the session laws as they were written at the time of passage. The Statutes of California is in chronological order as enacted, with no subject arrangement or indication whether a subsequent statute has amended or repealed a prior one.

  • Statutes of California and digests of measures (1849 - present)
    Location: SSH Ref Stacks, Call Number: KFC 25 A25
  • Statutes (1993 - present)
    Searchable database from the Legislative Counsel of California

Code
The Code is the body of law still in force, arranged by subject (eg Health and Safety Code). Note: UCSD does not retain previous editions of the California Code



Indexes to Bills/Laws (including bill history)

Final History
Includes detailed bill history information. Organized by bill number. Also includes voice vote information. Earlier years (1893-1972) include subject index.

Legislative Index
Detailed subject index to all bills. Does not include a list of bills or bill history. For earlier years, see the Final History (1893-1972), above.

Digest of Legislation

Detailed listing of all bills with basic subject indexing. Includes summary of bill and later years include outcome (e.g. Vetoed by Governor).

  • Legislative digest (1935 - 1957, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L 450 L44
  • Digest of legislation (1958 - 1966, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L450 L45
  • Digest of legislation (1987 - present)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L551 S53

Summary Digest

Brief description of bills that became law with basic subject index.

  • Statutes of California (1849-1935) (listed as "Table of Laws Enacted" or "Contents")
    Location: SSH Ref Stacks Call No. KFC 25 A25
  • Summary Digest (1937-1965, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L400 S85
  • Statutes of California (1966-present) (Summary Digest is in the last volume of each year)
    Location: SSH Ref Stacks Call No. KFC 25 A25

Other indexes

  • Bill Information (1993 - present)
    Searchable database of information about all bills, including bill text, bill history and committee analyses if available.
  • General Index to West's Annotated California Codes (latest edition only)
    Location: SSH Ref Stacks Call No. KFC 30.5 W4
    Subject index to the California code. Does not include bill history.
  • Larmac consolidated index to the Constitution and laws of California (1951 - present, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Ref Stacks (earlier ed. In SSH Stacks) Call No. KFC 40 L3
    Subject index to the California code. Does not include bill history.
  • Index to the laws of California, 1850-1920
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L450 I53 1850-1920
    Includes subject index to bills. Does not include bill history.


Other Legislative Documents

Hearings / Reports

Note that most hearings and reports are not published or distributed. Those that are can be found in these indexes. Check Roger to see if UCSD owns a particular publication listed in these indexes.

  • California Interim Legislative Committees and Reports (1937 - 1969, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L425 C64
  • Hearings and reports of committees of the California Legislature (1961-1967)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L530 H4
  • Hearings and reports of committees of the California Legislature (1973-1984)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L532 H4
  • California Legislative Hearings & Reports (1984 - present)
    This is a database of the California legislative hearings and reports issued since 1984 that are available in the UC Hastings Law Library.

Journals

Official record of the proceedings of each house. They do not contain verbatim accounts, but they do list the actions taken. The Journals also include voice and roll call votes.

  • Journal of the Assembly (1873 - present, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No. L500 J7a
  • Journal of the Senate (1884 - present, incomplete)
    Location: SSH Docs CAL Stacks Call No . L500 J7s


Contact

Megan Dreger
Head, Data, Government & Geographic Information Services
Phone (858) 822-5897
Fax (858) 534-7548
mdreger@ucsd.edu

Terms and Conditions of Use