To find this page: http://sshl.ucsd.edu/instruction/guides/
SUBJECT HEADINGS: Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are used to catalog books in most U.S. academic libraries. General Subject searching on reasonable terms not in LCSH may result in zero. HINT: try keywords searches to find a few likely books and then view a long display see the best "official" headings used. Then put them in a General Subject search..
ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, etc., owned by UCSD. No articles listed, but has links to electronic journals, or anything else online. Use "Request" for recalling, putting holds or renewing books. If UCSD copy is unavailable, or we don’t own, "Search in Circuit" redoes in combined catalogs of UCSD, SDSU, USD CSU San Marcos and the San Diego County Public Library system: 24-48 hour delivery.
MELVYL Catalog: Combined search of all UC Libraries,: books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals), and more. "Request" button activates Interlibrary loan service; delivery from 2-3 days (Southern California campuses) to 5-7 days (Northern campuses).
WorldCat: Combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States and worldwide (selectively). To start Interlibrary Loan use
.
NOTE: For a complete alphabetical database list, please see SSHL Databases A-Z. For article databases arranged by academic discipline, look at Find Articles by Subject.
NOTE: Some databases link directly to full text; when they don't also try
to find either electronic or print versions. The gold E-Link button is found in results of most database searches.
Expanded Academic ASAP: abstracts to 1500+ popular magazines as well as the core scholarly journals in all fields; substantial full text, 1980-present.
Web of Science: 1955-present. Lists articles in thousands of scholarly and scientific journals in all fields, including 1100 journals in arts & humanities; 5300 in social sciences.
Ethnic Newswatch: 1960-present. Full text of U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, and magazines. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Alt-Press Watch: 1995-present. Full text of more than 170 alternative newspapers, journals and newsletters.
Communication Abstracts: 1977-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies). Film studies recently added.
America: History and Life: This is the most comprehensive source for abstracts of scholarly articles in U.S. and Canadian history published since 1964, covering periods from prehistory to the current decade. For the rest of the world use Historical Abstracts
Business Source Premier: Article database covering scholarly journals and trade magazines in business, management, advertising & marketing, and more. Also includes country, company, industry, and market reports.
Environment Index: 1950s-present. Contains citations for scientific/popular literature on energy, waste, recycling; pollution; environmental health, law, conservation, wildlife management; and social, economic, political, ethical issues
ERIC (Education Research): 1966-present. Citations to journal articles and research reports in all areas of education, K-12 through university. Ranges from theory to issues of teaching and administration. Access to full text of most ERIC documents is available online from 1993 onward.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service):1915-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, and law. Global, multilingual scope
Sociological Abstracts: 1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences, published since 1963. Also includes selected web resources.
Urban Studies Abstracts: 1992-present. Index for all aspects of urban studies and planning. Includes abstracts and many full-text links.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [UCSD Only]
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy
Free? Available?
ABYZ News Links http://www.abyznewslinks.com is one of the best directories of print and broadcast media with a presence on the Internet. But there are no common standards about whether news will be archived and, if it is archived, how completely, for how long and whether it will be free. That's the advantage of using licensed databases, paid for by the library: stable, relatively complete, the years of coverage made clear.
Licensed Databases, Reliable Access
Access World News: More than 1500 newspapers and other news sources worldwide. Includes 650 in the U.S. and more than 100 in California, ranging from small towns to major urban dailies. Dates of coverage vary, mostly from 1990s, some back to mid-1980s.
Factiva: Includes more than 1000 newspapers, in the U.S and worldwide, along with a huge collection of business resources. Not always easy to use, but has stronger international newspaper coverage, especially foreign language, than its competitors.
LexisNexis Academic: Includes thousands of full-text newspapers, broadcast news transcripts, wire services & other news sources, in the U.S. and internationally. Also newsletters, magazines, trade journals, law journals, court decisions. Coverage dates vary.
Proquest Current Newspapers: Full text (but not page images) of the Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1999-present) and Wall Street Journal (1982-present).
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full text/page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1896-1990), and Washington Post (1877-1991)
San Diego Union Tribune , 1983-present. Full text; no page images. Browse or search. Part of Access World News.
Television news archive--TV News Search: 1968-present. Detailed summary (but not transcripts) of evening network news broadcast for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video available for CNN evening news broadcasts and some specials, 1999-present.
Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD faculty, staff, and students. When off campus your current status must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server in order to use these resources. For set-up instructions go to
http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html.
Ask a Librarian: Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.
My Library Account: Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. (View instructions on setting up your account).
The Reference Shelf: A collection of information sources on the web such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, manuals, guides, and other general resources selected and arranged for the use of the UCSD community. On the UCSD website since before there was a Web (1993).
Selected Websites in Communication: A collection of resources selected by the Communication Librarian, part of UCSD's Sage Database of e-resources in all disciplines.
![]()
a web-based bibliographic service that enables you to collect, create, and manage citations, share them, build them into your papers. Free for all UCSD people. First time users will need to set up an individual account. Refworks classes scheduled for Winter 2008.
Elliot Kanter
Communication Bibliographer
http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/people/kanter/
ekanter@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-1263