COGN 150: American News Media & Political Controversy (Fall 2010)

Newspapers and Broadcast Media

  • Access World News : More than 650 U.S. newspapers, including many smaller regional and local papers; also about 850 international sources (newspapers for English-speaking countries; for the rest of the world mostly wire services and BBC newspaper digests). Also a small but growing collection of video from local US news broadcasts. You can search by subject or browse by date for individual news source, or search many at a time. Dates of coverage vary, but usually as recent as the previous few days
  • San Diego Union Tribune, 1983-present. Full text; no page images. Browse or search. Part of Access World News. For actual page images library also retains the Union-Tribune and its predecessor, the Union on microfilm all the way back to 1897, microfilm call number XF248
  • Proquest Newspapers: More recent years (to present) are text only; historical coverage also includes all images in articles and full display of all pages. To browse individual newspaper by date, choose the tab for "Publications". Note there may be some overlap of each version
  • Proquest Black Historical Newspapers: Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic: A large collection of full-text sources including newspapers, wire service reports, broadcast news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals. To search regular newspapers, choose  the News Category "General News" and the News Type "Major Papers". Also try News Categories "U.S. News" or "World News" and try various News Types. Click on the "source list" to see what papers are included in each. Dates of coverage; may be as recent as today's news.
  • Television NewsSearch: The Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University has second-by-second summaries of news coverage of the half-hour evening news programs of each major network, back to the 1960s. For NBC it has streaming video of the evening news program back to 1969 and for CNN back to 1999.
  • ABYZ News Links: Use this directory to go directly to websites of newspapers and other news operations, in the U.S. Or follow the links to news sources around the world. Depth and years of coverage will vary greatly, by decisions of each newspaper or broadcaster

Other Media

  • Alt-Press-Watch: Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, from 1995 up to recent months.
  • Ethnic Newswatch: Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish. Coverage is from 1970s through recent months.
  • Academic Search Complete: Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 scholarly journals in all fields and also general interest magazines. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
  • AUL Index to Military Periodicals: Lists articles on military, defense, and national security issues, from specialized journals published by the military or the private sector, 1990 to present. Full text not directly linked to the database. . Most publications indexed will not be owned by UCSD, but may be available using Interlibrary Loan.

Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-Campus

Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD faculty, staff, and students. When off campus your current status must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server or the VPN (Virtual Private Network) in order to use these resources. For set-up instructions go to
http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html.


 
Other Useful Information

Ask a Librarian:  Get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk. The live chat service is part of a national network open 24/7 so depending on time of day or night you could get a librarian at UC Berkeley, University of Illinois or UCSD's Communication Librarian.

My Library Account:  Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. (View instructions on setting up your account).



Contact Information                    

Gayatri Singh
Communication Bibliographer
gasingh@ucsd.edu