COGN 150: Communication and Disasters (Winter 2011)

To find this page: http://libraries.ucsd.edu/locations/sshl/guides/course-subject-guides



Library Catalogs

A NOTE ON SUBJECT HEADINGS: Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are the subject terms used to catalog books in most academic libraries.  General Subject searching on reasonable terms not in LCSH may result in low results. HINT:  try keywords searches to find a few likely books, then view long display see the "official" headings used. Use those in a General Subject search.

For example: A regular Subject search of UNITED STATES MEXICO BORDER turns up only about 20 books. If you do a keyword search on those words, and look at the full record of relevant items, you'll see the Subject term            
                                         MEXICAN-AMERICAN BORDER REGION
A Subject search using those words will bring up many hundreds of results.

ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, etc., owned by UCSD.  No jourhnal articles are listed, but has links to journal subscriptions, including electronic journals, or anything else online. Use Request for recalling, putting holds or renewing books. If UCSD copy is unavailable, or we do not own, "Search in Circuit" redoes in combined catalogs of UCSD, SDSU, USD, CSU San Marcos and the San Diego County Public Library system: 24-48 hour delivery.

MELVYL NextGen: Combined search of all UC Libraries, books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals), and more. "Request" button activates Interlibrary loan service; delivery from 2-3 days (Southern California campuses) to 5-7 days (Northern campuses). NOTE: MELVYL is now part of the WorldCat, a combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States and Worldwide. The same  Requestbutton   will get them for you; it just takes a little longer.


 
General and Cross Disciplinary Databases

NOTE: Some databases link directly to full text; when they don't also try UC-eLinks  to find either electronic or print versions. The gold E-Link button is found in results of most database searches. It opens a portal for finding the article online or -- if necessary -- the location in print. If not available at UCSD, it will also generate a free interlibrary loan request.

Academic Search Complete: Abstracts from articles in 11,000 publications: core scholarly journals in all fields as well as general interest/popular magazines. About half go directly to full text. This is the starting point for all research.

Web of Knowledge: 1955-present. Lists articles in more than 10,000 scholarly and scientific journals in all fields, including 1100 journals in arts & humanities; 5300 in social sciences.

Ethnic Newswatch:   1960-present. Full text of U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, and magazines.  Searchable in English and Spanish.

Alt-Press Watch: 1995-present.  Full text of more than 170 alternative newspapers, journals and newsletters. 

Google Scholar:  Sub-set of a full Google search, with a focus on scholarly articles, reports and other documents. Use Scholar Preferences option for UC-eLinks or else Google may think you have to pay. Disadvantage? Results tend to be disorganized.


 
Special Focus

Communication Abstracts: 1977-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).

America: History and Life:   This is the most comprehensive source for abstracts of scholarly articles in U.S. and Canadian history published since 1964, covering periods from prehistory to the current decade.  For the rest of the world use Historical Abstracts

Business Source Complete: Article database covering scholarly journals and trade magazines in business, management, advertising & marketing, and more. Also includes country, company, industry, and market reports.

Environment Index: 1950s-present. Contains citations for scientific/popular literature on energy, waste, recycling; pollution; environmental health, law, conservation, wildlife management; and social, economic, political, ethical issues

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service):1915-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, and law. Global, multilingual scope.

Sociological Abstracts:  1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences, published since 1963. Also includes selected web resources.

Urban Studies Abstracts: 1992-present. Index for all aspects of urban studies and planning. Includes abstracts and many full-text links.

Women's Studies International: 1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts.  

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy

Disasters: the International Journal of Disaster Studies and Practice.  Not a collection of journals but a single journal devoted to the subject, published since 1977. UCSD only has an online subscription.



News Sources (Current and Historical)

Free? Available?

ABYZ News Links http://www.abyznewslinks.com is one of the best directories of print and broadcast media with a presence on the Internet. But there are no common standards about whether news will be archived and, if it is archived, how completely, for how long and whether it will be free. That's the advantage of using licensed databases, paid for by the library: stable, relatively complete, the years of coverage made clear.

Licensed Databases, Reliable Access

Access World News: More than 1500 newspapers and other news sources worldwide. Includes 650 in the U.S. and more than 100 in California, ranging from small towns to major urban dailies. Dates of coverage vary, mostly from 1990s, some back to mid-1980s.

LexisNexis Academic:  Includes thousands of full-text newspapers, broadcast news transcripts, wire services & other news sources, in the U.S. and internationally. Also newsletters, magazines, trade journals, law journals, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. 

Proquest Current Newspapers: Full text (but not page images) of the Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1999-present) and Wall Street Journal (1982-present).

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full text/page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2004), New York Tribune (1844-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Times of India (1861-2001),  Wall Street Journal (1896-1990), and Washington Post (1877-1991)

Proquest Black Historical Newspapers: Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-40, 1946-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). Papers can also be searched individually.

San Diego Union Tribune, 1984-present. Full text; no page images. Browse or search. Part of Access World News. Historical San Diego Union, 1871-1983, available only in microfilm (until later in 2011).

Television news archive--TV News Search: 1968-present. Detailed summary (but not transcripts) of evening network news broadcast for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Streaming video available for CNN evening news broadcasts and some specials, 1999-present. And from NBC News, August 1968-present.

American History in Video: Along with documentaries on all eras of American history, includes a large streaming collection of newsreels from 1929-1967. Before television, weekly newsreels shown in movie theaters were our visual window on world events. (For earlier years, newsreel sound track didn't survive.)


 
Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-Campus

Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD faculty, staff, and students. When off campus your current status must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server in order to use these resources. For set-up instructions go to
http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html.


 
Other Useful Information

Ask a Librarian:  Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.

My Library Account:  Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. (View instructions on setting up your account).


a web-based bibliographic service that enables you to collect, create, and manage citations, share them, build them into your papers. Free for all UCSD people. First time users will need to set up an individual account. Refworks classes scheduled for Winter 2011.



Contact Information                    

Gayatri Singh
Communication Bibliographer
gasingh@ucsd.edu