COGN 191A-B: Honors Seminar (Fall 2008-Winter 2009)

To find this page: http://sshl.ucsd.edu/instruction/guides/



Library Catalogs

Library catalogs give you access to libraries, starting from UCSD and reaching out to all of the United States. If we don't have it, use Request and our Interlibrary Loan Service will get it for you. 

NOTE ON SUBJECT HEADINGS: The Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are used for cataloging by most U.S. academic  libraries.  Subject searching on reasonable natural language terms not in LCSH may result in zero.   HINT:  try keywords searches to find a few likely books and then view a long display to determine actual subject headings used.

ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, and other materials owned by UCSD.  NOTE: Articles aren't included, but includes links to full text electronic journals and any other cataloged resources where we have digital access.  Use "Request" to renew, recall or put holds on books. If UCSD copy is unavailable, or we don’t own, "Search in Circuit" button redoes search in combined catalogs of UCSD, SDSU, USD CSU San Marcos and the San Diego County Library system, with 24-48 hour delivery.

MELVYL Catalog (CDL): The California Digital Library (CDL) maintains MELVYL, a combined catalog of all UC Libraries: books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals), and more. "Request" button automatically initiates Interlibrary loan service; delivery ranges from a 2-3 days (Southern California campuses) to 7-10 days. Also try the MELVYL Next Generation pilot, which uses the WorldCat but shows UC locations first.

WorldCat:   Combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States (nearly all, from Library of Congress to public libraries) and worldwide (selectively). The UC-eLink button  is used to initiate Interlibrary loan; may take longer than within the MELVYL libraries. 

 
General and Cross Disciplinary Databases

NOTE: Some databases link directly to full text; if necessary also use UC eLinks , found in results of most database searches, to locate either electronic or print versions.

Academic Search Complete: The starting point for research on all subjects. Has more than 8200 general magazines and journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and life and physical sciences. 

Reader's Guide Retrospective: Indexing of general circulation U.S. magazines (1890-1982).  

Alt-Press Watch: 1995-present.  Full text of more than 170 alternative newspapers, journals and newsletters. 

Ethnic Newswatch:   1960-present. Full text of U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, and magazines.  Searchable in English and Spanish.

Web of Science: 1955-present. Lists articles in thousands of scholarly and scientific journals in all fields, including 1100 journals in arts & humanities; 5300 in social sciences.

Google Scholar: Accustomed to the easy Google search box, but flooded by too many irrelevant results? Google Scholar focuses on just the academic and scientific research literature. Using the version at UCSD, your results willinclude "UC E-Links", which will help you find the articles that regular Google users might be asked to pay for.

Dissertations & Theses: 1861-present. Ph.D dissertations/master's theses from 1,000+ graduate schools & universities in North America/the world. Book-length research projects with extensive bibliographies. Full-text UC dissertations, 1996-present, available at no charge. Interlibrary loan will get  the rest.

 

Special Focus Databases

NOTE: Some databases link directly to full text; if necessary also use UC eLinks , found in results of most database searches, to locate either electronic or print versions.

*Communication Abstracts :  1977-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies). 

*ERIC (Education Research Information Clearinghouse): 1966-present. Lists and summarizes journal articles and non-journal documents (research reports, curriculum, etc  Access to full text of most ERIC documents is available online from 1993 onward; we have microfiche subscription to the rest.

*PsycInfo (Psychological Abstracts):  1806-present. Access to international literature in psychology, cognitive science, and related disciplines. Abstracts journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.

*Sociological Abstracts:  1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences, published since 1963. Also includes selected web resources.

America: History and Life:   This is the most comprehensive source for abstracts of scholarly articles in U.S. and Canadian history published since 1964, covering periods from prehistory to the current decade.  Very strong in coverage of gender, race and ethnicity. For the rest of the world, use Historical Abstracts

Anthropology Plus:19th century-present. Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals, plus book chapters. Includes anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. Also try Anthrosource, the full text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association, including current and past issues.

Bibliography of Asian Studies: 1971-present. Lists Western-language books, book chapters and journal articles on all parts of Asia.

Black Studies Center: Includes full text journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender and NY Amsterdam News, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.

Business Source Complete: Article database covering scholarly journals and trade magazines in business, management, advertising & marketing, and more. Also includes country, company, industry, and market reports.

Contemporary Women's Issues: Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues

GenderWatch:   A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender, including materials going as far back as the early 1970s.

Women's Studies International:  Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-present)

Film and Television Literature Index: 1987-present; limited coverage 1970-86. Drawn from 600 publications (about half of them cover-to-cover).  Also try its predecessor, Film Literature Index: 1976-2001. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular

FIAF: International Filmarchive: 1972-present. Includes International Index to Film Periodicals and International Index to Television Periodicals



News Sources

Access World News: More than 1500 newspapers and other sources on countries worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. and more than 100 in California, ranging from small towns to major urban dailies. Dates of coverage vary, mostly from 1990s, some back to mid-1980s.

LexisNexis Academic:  Includes thousands of full-text newspapers, broadcast news transcripts, wire services & other news sources, in the U.S. and internationally. Also newsletters, magazines, trade journals, law journals, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. 

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full text/page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851 -2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), and Washington Post (1877-1992)

Proquest Current Newspapers: Full text (but not page images) of the Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1999-present) and Wall Street Journal (1982-present).

Ethnic Newswatch:   1960-present. Full text of U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, and magazines.  

ABYZ News Links: Links to newspapers, broadcast and other news media around the world, by country: local, national, and also "foreign sources" published on each country. United States broken down by state.


 
Remote Access to Electronic Resources from Off-Campus

Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of UCSD or UC faculty, staff, and students. When you are off campus you must be authenticated (verified as currently affiliated with UCSD) by the UCSD Proxy Server in order to use these resources.Click here for set-up instructions.


 
Other Useful Information

Ask a Librarian:  Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.

My Library Account:  Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. (View instructions on setting up your account).

A web-based bibliographic service that enables you to collect, create, and manage citations, share them, build them into your papers. Free for all UCSD people. First time users will need to set up an individual account. Refworks classes scheduled for Fall 2008.


 


Contact Information

Gayatri Singh
Communication Bibliographer
gasingh@ucsd.edu

Version: November 4, 2008