COSF171a: American News Media (Spring 2009)

To find this page go the SSHL Courge Guide page at: http://libraries.ucsd.edu/locations/sshl/guides/course-subject-guides

image


Individual Newspapers and News Magazines: In print

The Current Periodicals, Newspapers and Microfilm room (CPNM) in Geisel has a modest collection of newspapers in print and, because they are so expensive, a smaller number saved in microfilm. We keep them for at least two months and, for those archived in microfilm, until the microfilm arrives. The advantage of print/microfilm over most online versions is that you get article and page layout and graphics, not just text.


Christian Science Monitor (also micro); Los Angeles Times (also micro); New York Times (also micro); Sacramento Bee; San Diego Union Tribune (also micro); San Francisco Chronicle; Washington Post, Wall Street Journal (also micro).


CPNM also has current subscriptions to news/opinion magazines like Newsweek, Time, U.S. News & World Report, Nation, National Review, and more. After a year, these are bound and go to the SSHL Stacks upstairs. Look up in Roger to see what we have, their location in print and – if available – links to online versions.




Individual Newspapers: Online

Note: the databases listed here are licensed to the Libraries for the use of UCSD students, faculty and staff.  To use them from off campus, you will need to configure your computer for access.





News Collections Online

Search together many newspapers, other news sources; may also be able to browse or search them individually. Some may be selected, others cover-to-cover. Most have text but not page images. To find individual papers, searching in Roger will get you a link to it within the collection.

  • Access World News : More than 650 U.S. newspapers, including many smaller regional and local papers, as well as news magazines; also about 850 international sources. You can search by subject or browse by date for individual papers, or search many at a time. Dates of coverage vary, but usually as recent as the previous few days
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic: A large collection of full-text sources including newspapers, wire service reports, broadcast news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals. Dates of coverage; may be as recent as today's news.
  • Newspaper Source: Provides cover-to-cover full-text articles from 28 U.S. and international papers, plus television news transcripts and selected full text from more than 260 additional U.S. newspapers. Coverage dates vary. Updated daily.
  • Academic Search Complete: Indexes and abstracts articles in more than general interest and newsmagazines, as well as 11,000 scholarly journals in all subject areas.
  • Alt-Press-Watch: Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press, from 1995 up to recent months.
  • Ethnic Newswatch: Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish. Coverage is from 1970s through recent months.
  • Television NewsSearch : The Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University has second-by-second summaries (including commercials) of the network half-hour evening news programs:  ABC, CBS and NBC back to 1968 (including video for NBC); CNN since 1995 (including video); and Fox back 1999.
  • ABYZ News Links: One of the better directories taking you directly to websites of newspapers and other news operations, in the U.S. and around the world. Depth and years of coverage will vary greatly, by decisions of each newspaper or broadcaster.



Other Useful Information

  • Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
    Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD faculty, staff, and students. When off campus your current status must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server or the virtual private network (VPN) in order to use these resources. For set-up instructions go to: http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html
  • Ask a Librarian: Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.



Contact Information                    

Gayatri Singh
Communication Bibliographer
gasingh@ucsd.edu