COSF175: Communication in the Age of Lincoln (Spring 2009)

To find this page go the SSHL Courge Guide page at: http://libraries.ucsd.edu/locations/sshl/guides/course-subject-guides

image


Library Catalogs

Library catalogs give you access to libraries, starting from UCSD and reaching out to all of the United States. If we don't have it, use Request and our Interlibrary Loan Service can get it for you quickly and at no charge.

ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, and other materials owned by UCSD. 
NOTE: Articles aren't included, but includes links to full text wherever we have digital access.  Use "Request" to renew, recall or put holds on books. If UCSD copy is unavailable, or we don’t own, the "Search in Circuit" button redoes the search in combined catalogs of UCSD, SDSU, USD, CSU San Marcos and the San Diego County Library system, with 24-48 hour delivery.

MELVYL Catalog
: A combined catalog of all UC Libraries: books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals), and more. "Request" button automatically initiates Interlibrary loan service; delivery ranges from a 2-3 days (Southern California campuses) to 7-10 days.

Also try the MELVYL Next Generation pilot. It uses the WorldCat, a combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States, first showing UC Libraries, then extending outward from closest to furthest away. This network includes every kind of library, from major universities to small public libraries. The UC-eLink button UC eLinks is used to start Interlibrary loan; may take longer if outside the UC Library system.

NOTES ON SUBJECT HEADINGS: For subject searching of books, try Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) thesaurus, the terms used by most U.S. academic libraries to describe the main subjects of books. Subject searching on perfectly natural words and phrases may give lower or no results if not the "official" terminology. Special subject terms may be used to identify primary sources (examples: sources, memoir, diaries, correspondence, etc.)  When you discover useful books from a keyword search, a glance at actual subject headings in the catalog record gives suggestions of both the "official" subject term and new directions to try. 





Articles in Scholarly Journals

IMPORTANT NOTES:

  • Some databases link directly to full text; when they don't, use UC eLinks to find either electronic or print versions. The gold E-Link button is found in most of our databases.
  • Most databases listed here are for the use of UCSD students, faculty and staff.  To use them from off campus, you will need to configure your computer for “remote access”.

    Academic Search Complete: Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 scholarly journals in all fields and also general interest magazines. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
    America: History and Life: International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
    Historical Abstracts:  International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
    Communication Abstracts: Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies.
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy
    International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text: The most comprehensive bibliographical resource for international scholarship in the fields of theater and dance.
    International Index to the Performing Arts (Full-Text): An index to over 200 journals and magazines in dance, drama, film, theater, opera, puppetry, circus, and other forms of performance art
    MLA International Bibliography: The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of literature and folklore. Also an important source for linguistics, rhetoric, theater & film.
    History of Science, Technology and Medicine: Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.

    Periodicals Index Online: Index to 16 million articles, 1665-1995, from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences. The modern articles can be used as secondary sources. Those from the 19th century are also contemporary to the period you are researching and may be considered primary sources.




    Primary Sources: Contemporary Newspapers and Magazines

    Proquest Historical Newspapers: Search at one time cover to cover for article text & page images of several major newspapers. Or search and browse them separately: Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922 eventually; now only back to 1880), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991).
    America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-1876):  Coverage of English-language papers 1690-1876, 700 papers from cities in 24 states east of the Mississippi. Also includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, 300+ papers from different states including Calif. Coverage from a few issues to many years
    London Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985: Searchable full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images.
    American Periodicals  Online: 1740-1900. Full text of North American periodicals (magazines and newspapers) from 1740 through the 19th century; a few early 20th century periodicals also included. Search by keyword or browse by journal
    Harper's weekly  1857-1912. Can be searched by full text, illustration, photographs, maps, advertisement; also browsed by date or other categories.
    Nation Digital Archive: 1865-present. Search or browse full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine of news, politics, culture and comment published since the end of the Civil War.




    Primary Sources: Other

    American Memory: Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound.
    American Civil War: Letters and Diaries: Contains 100,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs written 1861-65, by more than 2000 authors.
    North American Women's Letters and Diaries: More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950.
    Everyday Life & Women in America: Scanned texts of books, pamphlets, tracts, and periodicals covering the social history, family life, and popular culture of U.S. women from 1800 – 1920.

    British Parliamentary Papers, House of Commons, the 19th Century: British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, a detailed primary source for the United Kingdom, its colonies and the wider world. Searchable full text; displays page images with tables, maps, illustrations.
    U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1969: Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.




    A Few Useful Online Reference Books

    NOTE: Most of these and much more are also available in print in the SSHL Reference Collection.
    Encyclopaedia Britannica: Search the complete text of one of the world's most authoritative general encyclopedias, augmented by continuing updates and related websites.
    Oxford Companion to United States History: More than 1400 entries on political, diplomatic and military history; social, cultural and intellectual trends; science, technology and medicine; the arts and religion.
    Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: Over 6600 essays describe that cover the coming of the war, its conduct, and its consequences in a political, military, and social context.
    Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History:  Includes 900 articles by noted scholars, ranging from 500-word entries on inventors, organizations and important figures to lengthy essays on markets, industries, and labor.
    Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance: Authoritative articles about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
    American National Biography: Detailed articles on more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life. Includes bibliographies and links to web resources




    Other Useful Information

    • Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-Campus
      Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD faculty, staff, and students. When off campus your current status must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server or the virtual private network (VPN) in order to use these resources. For set-up instructions go to: http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html
    • Ask a Librarian: Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.



    Contact Information                    

    Gayatri Singh
    Communication and U.S. History Librarian
    gasingh@ucsd.edu