Genealogical Research

The UCSD Libraries are not the best place in San Diego County to do genealogical research: our collections are intended to support the school curriculum, not the needs of a family historian. However, we do have quite a few guides to help you get started on your research, as well as a few specialized sources that may be useful. This guide highlights certain items located in the Social Sciences and Humanities Library; use our online catalog Roger to locate additional titles. This guide will also direct you to Internet sites and other resources in the San Diego area which specialize in genealogical research.



Books

The American census handbook. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2001.

SSH reference stacks CS49. K4 2001

The census book : a genealogist's guide to federal census facts, schedules and indexes : with master extraction forms for federal census schedules, 1790-1930. Bountiful, Utah : Heritage Quest, 2000.

SSH reference stacks HA214 .D63 2000


Gale's guide to genealogical & historical research : a Gale ready reference handbook. Detroit : Gale Group, 2000.
SSH reference stacks CS1 .G35 2000


Genealogical research and resources : a guide for library use. Chicago : American Library Association, 1988.

SSH reference stacks Z688.G3 G54 1988


The handybook for genealogists : United States of America. Logan, Utah : Everton Publishers, 2006.

SSH reference stacks CS47 .H36 2006


How to find your family roots. New York : McGraw-Hill, 1977.

SSH reference stacks CS16 .B35


International vital records handbook. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2000.

SSH reference desk CS42.7 .K46 2000


Map guide to the U.S. federal censuses, 1790-1920. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2005.
SSH reference stacks G1201.F7 T5 2005


The New York times obituaries index, 1858-1968. New York, New York Times, 1970.

SSH reference desk CT213 .N47

The New York times obituaries index II, 1969-1978. New York : New York Times, 1980.

SSH reference desk CT213 .N48


Passenger and immigration lists bibliography, 1538-1900 : being a guide to published lists of arrivals in the United States and Canada.

Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., 1988.

SSH reference stacks CS47 .P377 1988


Printed sources : a guide to published genealogical records. Salt Lake City, Utah : Ancestry, 1998.
SSH reference stacks CS9 .P75 1998


The researcher's guide to American genealogy. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2000.

SSH reference stacks CS47 .G79 2000


The source : a guidebook to American genealogy. Provo, UT : Ancestry, 2006.

SSH reference stacks CS49 .S65 2006


Virtual roots 2.0: a guide to genealogy and local history on the World Wide Web. Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 2003.

SSH reference stacks CS14 .K46 2003



Databases (available only within the UCSD Libraries, unless you are student, staff or faculty at UCSD)


Access World News

  • Worldwide newspapers (dates vary from 1977-present)

American Periodicals Series (APS) Online

  • Full text of North American periodicals (magazines and newspapers) from 1740-1900.

America's Historical Newspapers

  • Coverage is 1690-1876, from cities in 24 states east of the Mississippi

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

  • Cumulative index to several print biographical dictionaries

HeritageQuest



Other

California Census

  • 15th census, population, 1930. California [microform]. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Administration, 2002.
    XF 2689
  • 14th census of population, 1920. California [microform]. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Administration, 1992.
    XF 2478 (reels 130-132 cover San Diego)
  • 13th census, 1910. California [microform]. Washington, D.C. : Bureau of the Census : For sale by National Archives Trust Fund Board, 1982.
    XF 2736 (reels 94-95 cover San Diego)
  • 12th census of population, 1900 [microform] : California. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Service, 1981.
    XF 1976 (reels 99-100 cover San Diego)
  • 10th census, 1880 [microform] : California.
    XF 1975 (reel 72 covers San Diego)
  • Population schedules of the ninth census of the United States, 1870 [microform] : California. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Service, 1965.
    XF 2761 (reel 78 covers San Diego)
  • Population schedules of the eighth census of the United States, 1860 [microform] : California. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Service, 1967.
    XF 1930 (reel 64 covers San Diego)
    ( See also 1860 California census index : heads of households and other surnames in households index.
    8th Floor Oversize collection: F860 D54 1984)
  • Population schedules of the seventh census of the United States, 1850 [microform] : California. Washington, D.C. : National Archives and Records Service, 1964.
    XF 1979 (reel 35 covers San Diego)

San Diego City Directories

  • City directories of the United States. 1902-1935 [microform]. Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc. (1903-1933)
    XF 2480 (reels 1-14 cover San Diego)
  • Polk's San Diego (San Diego County, Calif.) city directory. Monterey Park, Calif. : R.L. Polk & Co. (1952-1964, 1966-1980, 1984)
    F869. S22 A18
  • San Diego city and county directory. San Diego [Calif.] : San Diego Directory Co. (1916-1927, 1929-1945, 1947-1948, 1950)
    F869. S22 A19

San Diego Newspapers

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps. California. [microform]. Teaneck, N.J. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1983.
XF 2577



Ethnic Resources

African American

African American genealogical sourcebook. New York : Gale Research, 1995.

SSH reference stacks E185.96 .A444 1995

Black genesis : a resource book for African-American genealogy. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2003.

SSH reference stacks CS21 .R57 2003

Ethnic genealogy : a research guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983.

SSH reference stacks CS49. E83 1983

Finding a place called home : a guide to African-American genealogy and historical identity. New York : Random House, 1999.

SSH reference stacks E185.96 .W69 1999

For additional titles, see Roger


Asian American

Asian American genealogical sourcebook. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, 1995.

SSH reference stacks E184.06 A828 1995

Ethnic genealogy : a research guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983.

SSH reference stacks CS49. E83 1983


European

Ancestral trails : the complete guide to British genealogy and family history. Stroud : Sutton, 2004.

SSH stacks CS414. H37 1998 (new edition on order)

Encyclopedia of German-American genealogical research. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., 2003.

SSH reference stacks E184.G3 S662 2003 (on order)

A genealogist's guide to discovering your Germanic ancestors : how to find and record your unique heritage. Cincinnati, Ohio : Betterway Books, 2000.

SSH reference stacks E184. G3 A49 2000

The German research companion. Sacramento, CA : Lorelei Press, 1997.

SSH reference stacks CS613 .R56 1997

Germanic genealogy : a guide to worldwide sources and migration patterns. St. Paul, MN : Germanic Genealogy Society, 1997.

SSH reference stacks CS614 .G47 1997

Guide to genealogical resources in the British Isles. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1989.

SSH reference stacks CS434 .O94 1989

For additional titles, try a keyword search in Roger using "genealogy AND (country name)"


Hispanic

Ethnic genealogy : a research guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983.

SSH reference stacks CS49. E83 1983

Hispanic American genealogical sourcebook. New York : Gale Research, 1995.

SSH reference stacks E184.S75 H563 1995


Jewish

Avotaynu encyclopedia of Jewish genealogy. Bergenfield, N.J. : Avotaynu, 2004.

SSH reference stacks CS21.A96 2004

The encyclopedia of Jewish genealogy. Northvale, N.J.:J.Aronson, 1991.

SSH reference stacks CS 21.E53 1991

Finding our fathers: a guidebook to Jewish genealogy. New York: Random House, 1977.

SSH reference stacks CS3010.R57

Germanic genealogy: a guide to worldwide sources and migration patterns. St. Paul, MN: Germanic Genealogy Society, 1997.

SSH reference stacks CS614.G47 1997

For additional titles, see Roger


Native American

Cherokee proud : a guide for tracing and honoring your Cherokee ancestors. Somerville, Tenn. : Chunannee Books, 1997.

SSH reference stacks E99.C5 M375 1997

Ethnic genealogy : a research guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983.

SSH reference stacks CS49. E83 1983

Native American genealogical sourcebook. New York : Gale Research, 1995.

SSH reference stacks E98.G44 N37 1995

For additional titles, see Roger


Internet Resources

There are numerous Internet sites dealing with genealogy. Below are a few of the "best", but you may find others by browsing subject directories such as Google, the Internet Public Library, or Yahoo!

General Sites

AccessGenealogy

Ancestry.com

Cincinnati Public Library's Genealogy Page

Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet

FamilySearch.org

Pittsburg State University's Genealogy Page

RootsWeb

rssGenealogy.com

USGenWeb

Vital Records

Bible Records Online

Cemetery Records Online

Guide to the Public Records Collection of the San Diego Historical Society

Marriage Records Online

Social Security Death Index


Local Organizations Specializing in Genealogy Research

Genealogical & Historical Societies

Carlsbad Historical Society

Chula Vista Genealogical Society

Computer Genealogy Society of San Diego

Escondido Genealogical Society

Jewish Genealogical Society of Los Angeles

Los Angeles Regional Family History Center

Orange County California Genealogical Society

San Diego Genealogical Society

San Diego Historical Society

Southern California Genealogical Society

Genealogical and Historical Societies of Southern California (extensive listing)

Libraries

Carlsbad City Library

Huntington Beach Public Library

Los Angeles Public Library

National Archives, Pacific Region facility

National City Public Library

San Diego Public Library