HIEU 156: The Russian Empire and the Soviet Union, 1855-1991 (Spring 2009)



Library Catalogs

ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, etc., owned by UCSD.  No articles listed, but has links to electronic journals, or anything else online. 

NextGeneration MELVYL: Combined search of all UC Libraries: books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals), and more. 

WorldCat:   Combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States and worldwide (selectively).

 



How to find journal articles (and more):


Historical Abstracts

ABSEES online: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies


How to find full-text journal articles and book reviews:


JSTOR

Project MUSE


How to find books at UCSD:


Roger


Looking for eBooks?


eScholarship Editions (Access to almost 2000 titles published by the University of California Press)
Tip! – Browse all subjects and select Russian and Eastern European Studies

ACLS Humanities E-Book (Access to over 2,200 titles in the humanities from the American Council of Learned Societies)
http://www.humanitiesebook.org/
Tip! -- Browse by subject, Russia or Soviet Union

Ebrary (Access to over 30,000 full-text books in all subject areas)
Tip! -- Download the plugin to access ebooks from off campus


Good starting points for resources on the Internet:


REENIC: Russian and East European Network Information Center 



Accessing Electronic Resources from Off-Campus

Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD faculty, staff, and students. When off campus your current status must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server or the VPN (Virtual Private Network) in order to use these resources. For set-up instructions go to
http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html.



Other Useful Information

Reminder: Some databases link directly to full text; when they don't also try   to find either electronic or print versions.

Ask a Librarian:  Depending on the day and time, get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.

My Library Account:  Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. 



a web-based bibliographic service that enables you to collect, create, and manage citations, share them, build them into your papers. Free for all UCSD people. First time users will need to set up an individual account. 



Contact Information                    

  • Stop by the SSHL Reference Desk during opening hours