NOTES ON SUBJECT HEADINGS: For subject searching, try Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) thesaurus, the terms used by most U.S. academic libraries to describe the main subjects of books. Subject searching on perfectly natural words and phrases may give lower or zero results if not the "official" terminology. For example, a subject search on CHICANA won't find anything; the official term is MEXICAN AMERICAN WOMEN.
HINT: when you discover useful books from a keyword search, a glance at actual subject headings in the catalog record for books use gives suggestions of both the "official" subject term and new directions to try.
ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, and other materials owned by UCSD. No article databases, but includes links to full text electronic journals and any other cataloged resources where we have digital access. Use "Request" to renew, recall or put holds on books. For a guide to using Roger and Request, go to our Get Started page.
NOTE: If a book is checked out, missing or not owned by UCSD, redo your search with the
button in your Roger results screen. This searches the combined catalog of UCSD, SDSU, USD, CSU San Marcos, and the San Diego County Library system. Delivery is 24-48 hours (Monday-Friday). You can also search The Circuit directly.
MELVYL Catalog (CDL): The California Digital Library (CDL) maintains the MELVYL Catalog, which combines holdings of all UC Library catalogs: books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals). Use the online
form to request books from other UC libraries. Delivery can be as soon as 2-3 days and usually no more than a week.
WorldCat: Combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States (nearly all, from Library of Congress to public libraries) and worldwide (selectively). Use the
button to request an Interlibrary loan; may take longer than within the CDL system of UC libraries, but usually not much longer than 1 or 2 weeks.
For a complete alphabetical database list, please see list at SSHL Databases A-Z .
NOTE: Want to get to databases from off campus? Here's how to configure your web browser for the UCSD Proxy Server
NOTE : Some databases will include direct links to full text, but don't be discouraged if they don't. Look for the
button in the lists of results. It opens window that locates the articles either online or in print. (Not all articles exist yet online.) .
Expanded Academic ASAP. From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Indexes scholarly journals, general interest periodicals, newsmagazines - many with full text and images. Publications from 1980-present.
Also try Academic Source Premier , on trial now. Has more than 8200 magazines and journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and life and physical sciences. It may be replacing Expanded Academic in 2008.
America: History and Life. This is the most complate database for every aspect of history of the United States and Canada (social, cultural, political), from pre-European times to late 20th century. Publications from 1964-present.
Sociological Abstracts. 1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. A key resource for studies of race and gender.
Reader's Guide Retrospective. General interest magazines in the U.S. from 1890-1982. Doesn't include scholarly journals, but these are essential primary sources for tracking what was being written about the popular culture at the time.
NOTE: Some magazines have complete runs as bound volumes in the stacks. Since photos and illustrations don't appear in most online versions, they are worth browsing. EXAMPLES: (links below go to Roger record for the magazine, including links to any portions online and locations of what we have in print).
Essence (1970-present)
Life (1933-1972) and (1978-present)
Look (1938-1971)
Nation (1865-present)
Newsweek (1933-present)
Time (1923-present)
Rolling Stone (1967-present)
GenderWatch. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present
Black Studies Center: Includes fulltext journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
Chicano Database: Index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
IIMP: full text international index to music periodicals. Indexes approximately 400 music periodicals; 52 titles are available with the full text of articles. Retrospective coverage varies, a few going as far back as early 20th century. Also try IIPA-FT (International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text).
What about Google? Try instead Google Scholar, the version that focuses on scholarly journals and books rather than everything on the web. Google Scholar also includes UC-Elinks to help locate the text.
NEWS SOURCES
Access World News: United States: Full-text content (but not page images) of more than 650 U.S. newspapers, including 116 in California. Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government. Part of a larger database with international coverage. Dates vary, but very little before the late 1980ss.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full text/page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851- 2004), Wall Street Journal (1896-1990), and Washington Post (1877-1991)
Proquest Current Newspapers: Full text (but not page images) of the Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1999-present) and Wall Street Journal (1982-present).
San Diego Union Tribune. 1984-present. Full text (but no images) of the Union-Tribune, and before the 1990 merger, of the separate San Diego Union and Evening Tribune. For page images, library has on microfilm 1992-present and 1922-91.
Ethnic Newswatch. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish. Coverage is mostly 1980s to present, though some as far back as 1960s.
Chicago Defender. 1910-1975. Full text and page images of one of the major African-American newspapers in the U.S. For after 1990, available in Ethnic Newswatch.
La Opinion. 1936-1996 (SSH Microfilm XF 2181); 1992-present online through through Ethnic Newswatch.
NOTE: Along with articles by subject experts on broad issues and specific topics, encyclopedias include bibliographies: a shortcut to finding key books and articles. Links below take you to the page in Roger describing contents and location.
American Decades: Primary Sources. Detroit : Gale, c2004. Ten volumes, one for each decade, 1900 through 2000. Covers arts, business, education, fashion & design, politics, law, lifestyle & trends, media, medicine & health, religion, sports, with overview articles, chronologies, documents, photographs and bibliographies
SSH Ref Stacks E169.1 .A471977 2004
St James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Detroit: St James Press, 2000. Five volumes. Covers the 20th century
SSH Ref Stacks E169.1 .S764 2000
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History. 2nd edition. Detroit : Macmillan Reference USA, c2006. Six volumes.
SSH Ref Stacks E185 .E54 2005
Black Women in America. 2nd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005. Three volumes.
SSH Ref Stacks E185.86 .B542 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos & Latinas in the United States. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005. Four volumes.
SSH Ref Stacks E184.S75 O97 2005
Asian American Encyclopedia. New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995- . Six volumes.
SSH Ref Stacks E184.O6 A827 1995
Caution: As you know, any organization or individual can put pages on the web. For some advice on how to sort the credible from the incredible, take a look the UCSD library page on Criteria for Evaluating Web Documents.
Ad*Access Project. An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.
AP Multimedia Archive. Associated Press's selection of 700,000 photos from their archives, 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995
Admiring Cultures : The Los Angeles Murals A virtual tour of murals located throughout Los Angeles, California. The murals represent cultural, social and political movements that have helped shape the history of the city of Los Angeles
American Memory. Library of Congress digital library of primary source and archival material relating to American culture and history: print, manuscripts, photographs, moving pictures and recorded sound
Calisphere: a world of primary sources and more. University of California's gateway to a world of historical primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items:photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, art works, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising,and more
Chicana Studies. Links to organizations, biographies, resources, networks, etc. relating to hispanic women
Gender Ads Project . Site dedicated to understanding the contexts of sexism, gender, women, men, violence, racism, and social change within the confines of print advertising.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (UCSD Subscription): Search or browse for recent scholarship and bibliographies. Includes large sections of articles on media, race, social movements
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. See especially the volume on the United States and Canada.
Sage is the UCSD Libraries gateway to quality websites, evaluated and selected by our subject librarians. You can browse by broad academic fields, from U.S. History to Communication, from Film Studies to Gender Studies. First you get to the subject, then drill down further by types of website. For a list of all subjects, go to SAGE
Ask a Librarian: Get help by email, live chat, phone, or in person at the SSHL Reference Desk.
My Library Account: Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that lets you view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. (View instructions on setting up your account).
The Reference Shelf: One of UCSD's first websites launched in the 1990s and still maintained. A collection of information sources on the web such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, and other general resources selected and arranged for the use of the UCSD community.
: a web-based bibliographic service, free to UCSD students, enabling you to collect, create, manage and share citations, and even to integrate them in Word documents. First time you need to set up an individual account. Classes are being offered this Fall.
Elliot Kanter
U.S. History Librarian
ekanter@ucsd.edu
(858) 534-1263