For direct link for this guide, go to Instruction & Guides: http://sshl.ucsd.edu/instruction/guides/, then browse Course and Subject Guides
A NOTE ON SUBJECT HEADINGS: Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are the subject terms used to catalog books in most academic libraries. General Subject searching on reasonable terms not in LCSH may result in low results. HINT: try keywords searches to find a few likely books, then view long display see the "official" headings used. Use those in a General Subject search.
For example: A regular Subject search of UNITED STATES MEXICO BORDER turns up only about 20 books. If you do a keyword search on those words, and look at the full record of relevant items, you'll see the Subject term
MEXICAN-AMERICAN BORDER REGION
A Subject search using those words will bring up many hundreds of results.
ROGER: UCSD Library Catalog: listings of books, government publications, maps, audiovisuals, periodicals, etc., owned by UCSD. No articles listed, but has links to electronic journals, or anything else online. Use
for recalling, putting holds or renewing books. If UCSD copy is unavailable, or we do not own, "Search in Circuit" will repeat your search in the combined catalogs of UCSD, SDSU, USD, CSU San Marcos and the San Diego County Public Library system: 24-48 hour delivery.
MELVYL NextGen: Combined search of all UC Libraries, books, government documents, periodicals subscriptions (but not content of periodicals), and more. "Request" button activates Interlibrary loan service; delivery from 2-3 days (Southern California campuses) to 5-7 days (Northern campuses). NOTE: MELVYL is now part of the WorldCat, a combined catalog of more than 12,000 libraries around the United States and Worldwide. The same
button will get them for you; it just takes a little longer.
____________________________________________________________________
NOTE: For a complete alphabetical database list, please see SSHL Databases A-Z. For article databases arranged by academic discipline, look at Find Articles by Subject.
NOTE: Some databases link directly to full text. Others don't have access to the e-journals UCSD subscribes to. When you don't see the article attached to your search results, look for the gold
button, which opens a portal to find either electronic or print versions, or if we have neither, to request a free scanned article from a library that does.
CAUTION:Most licensed databases are limited to use by UCSD students and staff. To use from off campus, you need to verity your status by using the Proxy Server or VPN: see the guide to Remote Access:
GENERAL AND CROSS DISCIPLINARY
Academic Search Complete: Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 11,000 scholarly journals and general interest magazines in all fields. Most go back 30-40 years, but there are many publication back to the early 20th century.
Reader's Guide Retrospective : 1890-1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century. Doesn't include popular magazines, but for popular magazines, much earlier coverage than Academic Search Complete.
Periodicals Index Online: 1665-1995. Index to 16 million articles from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Web of Knowledge: 1900-present. Major database indexes 10,000+ academic journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities, plus conference proceedings
Alt-PressWatch: 1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Google Scholar: Accustomed to the easy Google search box, but flooded by too many irrelevant results? Google Scholar focuses on just the academic and scientific research literature. If you set up your "Scholar Preferences" for UC-Elinks, and set your browse for remote access, it will help you view the articles that UC has licensed for you, but regular Google users might be asked to pay for themselves.
SPECIALIZED SUBJECTS AND DISCIPLINES
America: History and Life: 1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, from before European settlement through latest decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. For the rest of the world, use Historical Abstracts
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service):1972 -present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, and law. For 1915-1976, go to the PAIS Archive.
Business Source Complete: Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles
EconLit: 1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center): 1966-present. Educational Resources Information Center is a database sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature.
Education Index Retro (Wilson): 1929-1983. Education Index Retrospective indexes over 500 English-language periodicals. Covers all aspects of education
Index to Legal Periodicals (Retrospective): 1908-1981. Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia,New Zealand. Also annual surveys, yearbooks, and annual reviews of work in a given field or topic
LexisNexis Academic: Thousands of full-text sources including law journals and court decisions, newspapers, trade journals; also industry news, company information. Coverage dates vary.
Music Index: 1974-2008. Important index of periodical articles from over 850 journals and magazines on all aspects of music
Sociological Abstracts: 1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including law, and public administration/policy.
Women's Studies International: 1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Womens Studies Abstracts (1984-present).
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000: Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Black Studies Center: Fulltext journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender and NY Amsterdam News, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
IIBP: International Index to Black Periodicals: Citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean (as far back as 1902)--and full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward)
Chicano Database: Comprehensive index including all types of materials on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from the 1960s to the present; selecive coverage back to early 1900s.
___________________________________________________________________
LexisNexis Congressional: Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes access to U.S. legislative information: ng bills, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980): Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
CURRENT NEWS
Access World News: More than 1500 newspapers and other news sources worldwide. Includes 650 in the U.S. and more than 100 in California, ranging from small towns to major urban dailies. Dates of coverage vary, mostly from 1990s, some back to mid-1980s.
LexisNexis Academic: Includes thousands of full-text newspapers, broadcast news transcripts, wire services & other news sources, in the U.S. and internationally. Also newsletters, magazines, trade journals, law journals, court decisions. Coverage dates vary.
Proquest Current Newspapers: Full text (but not page images) of the Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present) and Wall Street Journal (1982-present).
Ethnic Newswatch: 1960-present. Full text of U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, and magazines.
HISTORICAL NEWSProquest Historical Newspapers: Full text/page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2006), New York Tribune (1841-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1896-1992), and Washington Post (1877-1991)
Proquest Black Historical Newspapers Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
African American Newspapers, 1822-1988: Newspapers in the 19th and early-mid 20th centuries; some later. Many titles include only a few years; others much longer.When complete will have 270 papers from 35 states.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980: Nearly 300 Spanish-language newspapers from 13 states (including California). About 25 papers continue into the 1960s and 1970s. Search, browse and view article and page images.
Television news archive--TV News Search: 1968-present. Detailed summary (but not transcripts) of evening network news broadcast for ABC, CBS and NBC from 1968, CNN from 1995, Fox News from 2004. Video for NBC back to 1968 and CNN back to 1999.
Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of regular UCSD students. When off campus you must be authenticated by the UCSD Proxy Server or VPN to use these resources. For instructions go to
http://sshl.ucsd.edu/services/remote.html.
Selected Websites in U.S.History A larger collection of recommended online resources selected by the U.S. History Librarian, part of our Sage Database of e-resources selected by UCSD Librarians in all disciplines.
Ask a Librarian: Depending on the day and time, get help by text message, email, live chat, phone, or in person at the Reference Desk.
My Library Account: Roger, the UCSD library catalog, has a "My Library Account" feature that allows you to view items that you have borrowed, renew items, request books, and more. Help on setting up and using your account is on the My Library Account page.
Style and Citation Guides for Research Papers: Excellent guides to citation styles are maintained by Concordia University and the University of Texas. Or browse a much larger selection of style and citation guides on the UCSD Library Reference Shelf
![]()
a web-based bibliographic service that enables you to collect, create, and manage citations, share them, build them into your papers. Free for all UCSD students and staff. First time users will need to set up an individual account. Plenty of help is available
Elliot Kanter
U.S. History Bibliographer
Website
ekanter@ucsd.edu