Download a print-friendly PDF version of this guide.
Note: SSH = Social Sciences & Humanities Library
DeMiller, Anna L. Linguistics: A Guide to the Reference Literature. 2nd ed. Englewood , Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 2000.
A critically annotated, classified bibliography of reference materials on linguistics in general and individual languages and language groups.
SSH Ref P 121 .D45 2000
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. David Crystal. 2nd edition. Cambridge & New York: Cambridge University Press, 1997. (DeMiller 18)
SSH Ref P 29 .C64 1997
Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics. Ed. Bernard Spolsky. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 1999.
SSH Ref P 40.8 .C66 1999
The Encyclopedia of Language and Education. Gen. ed. David Corson. Dordrecht & Boston: Kluwer, 1997. 8 vols. Each volume focuses on a particular aspect of the topic: v. 1 Language policy and political issues in education; v. 2 Literacy; v. 3. Oral discourse and education; v. 4. Second language education; v. 5 Bilingual education; v. 6 Knowledge about language; v. 7 Language testing and assessment; v. 8 Research methods in language and education.
SSH Ref P 40.8 .E53 1997
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (ELL2). 2nd ed. Ed.-in-chief Keith Brown. ; coordinating eds. Anne Hl. Anderson et al. Boston: Elsevier, 2006- . (DeMiller 5 for 1st ed., 1994)
ONLINE ONLY
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (IEL). 2nd edition. Ed.-in-chief William Frawley. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 2003. 4 vols. (DeMiller 13)
SSH Ref P 29 .I58 2003
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London and New York: Routledge, 1998.
Although not as detailed for linguistics as other sources above, covers general principles of the philosophy of language and related topics, e.g. structuralism and semiotics.
ONLINE Only. The print set was 10 vols..
Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. 5th edition. (The Language Library). Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2003. (DeMiller 19)
SSH Ref P 29 .C65 2003
Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Language. 2nd edition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001. (British edition called Penguin Dictionary of Language. First edition called An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages, 1992, which is DeMiller 20).
SSH Ref P 29 .C68 2001
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics: A Handbook for Language Teaching. Ed. Keith Johnson and Helen Johnson. Oxford & Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998. (DeMiller 366)
In Blackwell Reference Online: Linguistic
Pullum, Geoffrey K. and William A. Ladusaw. Phonetic Symbol Guide. 2nd edition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1996. (DeMiller 49)
SSH Ref P 226 .P85 1996
Richards, Jack C., John Platt, and Heidi Weber. Longman Dictionary of Applied Linguistics (LDAL). Harlow, England: Longman, 1985. (A newer edition, 1992, which UCSD doesn't have, is DeMiller 368).
SSH Ref P 29 .R52 1985
For dictionaries of a particular language, do a subject search in Roger for "[x] language-Dictionaries."
See also the type "Dictionaries" in SAGE: Linguistics and Languages for some electronic dictionaries.
The Atlas of Languages: The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout the World. Consultant eds. Bernard Comrie, Stephen Matthews, and Maria Polinsky. Revised Edition. New York: Facts on File, 2003. (DeMiller, 620)
SSH Ref P 107 .A87 2003; circulating copy of 1996 edition.
Atlas of the World's Languages. Gen. eds. Christopher Moseley and R.E. Asher. London and New York: Routledge, 1994. (DeMiller 629)
SSH Ref G 1046 .E3 A8 1994 (and circulating copy)
Atlas of Languages of Intercultural Communication in the Pacific, Asia, and the Americas. Eds. Stephen A Wurm, Peter Muhlhausler, Peter Tyron, and Darrell T. Tyron. Berlin: Mouton de Gruyter, 1996. 2 vols. in 3 parts. (DeMiller 631)
SSH Ref P 130.5 .A87 1996
Campbell, George L. Compendium of the World's Languages. 2nd edition. London and New York: Routledge, 2000. 2 vols. (1st edition is DeMiller 555)
SSH Ref P 371 .C36 2000
Campbell, George L. Handbook of Scripts and Alphabets. London and New York: Routledge, 1997. (DeMiller 557)
SSH Ref P 211 .C25 1997
Ethnologue: Languages of the World. Ed. Barbara F. Grimes. Maps by Richard K. Sanderson and Mary Kathleen Greene. 15th ed. Dallas: Summer Institute of Linguistics, 2005. (DeMiller 572-574)
SSH Ref DESK P 371 .E83 (Also available ONLINE
Ruhlen, Merritt. A Guide to the World's Languages. Volume I: Classification. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 1987. (DeMiller 587) A complete genetic classification of all the world's languages, the most comprehensive and up-to-date presently available.
SSH Ref P 203 .R8 1987
Voegelin, Charles Frederick and Florence M. Voegelin. Classification and Index of the World's Languages. New York: Elsevier, 1977. (DeMiller 591) Largely superseded by Ruhlen, this nevertheless remains an important reference source, particularly for its index of names.
SSH Ref P 203.V6
The World Atlas of Language Structures . Ed. Martin Haspelmath, Matthew S. Dryer, David Gil, and Bernard Comrie. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. Book + CD-ROM. Together, the book and CD-ROM display the structural properties of the world's languages. The book's 142 full-color maps and numerous regional maps display the geographical distribution of features of pronunciation and grammar. The CD-ROM allows users to customize the maps, establish correlations between features, and display bibliographical sources.
SSH Ref G 1046.3 .E3 W67 2005
The World's Major Languages. Ed. Bernard Comrie. London: Croom Helm, 1987. (DeMiller 561). Fifty separate chapters on language groups or languages, each written by an expert.
SSH Ref P 371 .W6 1987b (and circulating copy)
The World's Writing Systems. Ed. Peter T. Daniels and William Bright. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. (DeMiller 564) Provides a historical sketch and the table of signforms of the world's major scripts. The IPA (1989 revision) in its entirety can be found on the book's endpapers.
SSH Ref P 211 .W714 1996 (and circulating copy)
Roger. The UCSD Libraries' Catalog. Provides searching by author, title, subject, keyword, and call number. Records for all materials owned by the Libraries (books, journals, documents, manuscripts, media, etc.) as well as links to electronic resources provided by the Library or by the California Digital Library (CDL) and selected Web sites. Does not catalog individual articles in journals.
Melvyl. The joint catalog of the University of California System's libraries for books, periodicals, media, databases, and selected Web sites. During fall 2008, the UC Libraries are piloting an enhanced version of Melvyl, "NextGen Melvyl."
WorldCat. The largest available electronic catalog for books and other materials, with over 45 million records. Useful for identifying items not available in the UC system. Also included in NextGen Melvyl.
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
(DeMiller 85) Coverage: 1973 to present electronically; 1967-1973 in print only.
P 105 .L3 Stacks (1967-1973)
MLAIB: Modern Language Association International Bibliography.
(DeMiller 88) Coverage: Extensive from the mid-1920s to present; some coverage from the 1880s-1920s.
These are the two big electronic bibliographic databases for linguistics research. There is considerable overlap between the two. In addition to journal articles, both cover books (although more selectively than articles), dissertations, conference proceedings, and, to some extent, individual chapters or articles within books. MLAIB does not contain book reviews; LLBA does. LLBA's focus on linguistics (MLAIB covers literature and folklore as well) and its abstracts make it the primary database of the two, but for a comprehensive search, MLAIB needs to be consulted as well. Because UCSD obtains access to both of these databases from the same vendor (CSA Illumina), they can be cross-searched. Both of them allow you to set up a customized "Alerts" service, by which new articles meeting your search criteria will be e-mailed to you automatically.
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature = Bibliographie linguistischer Literatur (BLL)
Coverage: 1971 to present; international in scope (for general linguistics and English, Germanic, and Romance linguistics). (DeMiller 79). ONLINE ONLY
Linguistic Bibliography for the Year . = Bibliographie Linguistique de l'année .
Coverage: 1939 to present.
Provides comprehensive, worldwide coverage of periodical articles, dissertations, and contributions to collected works such as festschriften and conference proceedings, including reviews of such publications. Somewhat slow to appear (the latest covers the year 1999.) (DeMiller 78)
SSH Reference P 121 .L56
The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies
Coverage: 1929/30-1994 (Online only) and 1995-present (printed volumes)..
An annual, critical survey of research on language and literature. Five main sections: General linguistics (begun in 1974), Latin, Romance languages, Germanic languages, and Slavonic studies. Each of the latter four is divided into language and literature sections, often with further subdivisions. Sections written by separate experts in those fields. (DeMiller 652)
SSH Reference PB 1 .Y45
Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL).
As title suggests, for English language research only.
Coverage: 1920-present (Print & Electronic)
Includes books, dissertations, chapters of books, and journal articles. Unlike MLAIB, ABELL does include book reviews; in fact, a search can be limited to reviews, or they may be excluded. (DeMiller 739)
Print version: SSH Reference PE 71 .M69
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: Approximately 1900 to present.
Provides journal articles and book reviews from a broad range of periodicals in many fields. Not at all comprehensive for linguistics; however, for core journals, it is useful because it is much more quickly updated than either LLBA or MLAIB. Also, there is an increasing number of full-text articles provided within the database.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
Coverage: 1951 to the present.
Provides more than 2 million citations and abstracts for journal articles, reviews, books and book chapters for social sciences and interdisciplinary research. Has broad international coverage with citations from over 100 languages and countries.
Social Sciences Citation Index. (Part of The Web of Science).
Coverage: 1956 to the present.
Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. The unique feature of SSCI (along with its counterparts, Arts & Humanities Citation Index-which can also be used for language and linguistics-and Science Citation Index-which may be useful for some of the more computational and neurological aspects of linguistics) is that it provides indexing of articles that have cited other articles or books. I.e., you can search not just for articles on a topic, but for documents that have cited a particular article (or book) that is central to your concern, under the theory that research by other scholars who cite that source will also be of interest to you. (DeMiller 92)
ERIC
Coverage: 1966 to the present. A good database for research in foreign language teaching and language acquisition; also important for older items treating "exotic" languages. There are two types of publications indexed in ERIC: journal articles, designated EJ, and otherwise unpublished documents, designated ED. The majority of ERIC documents from 1993-present are available online (full-text). Most of the remaining ERIC documents are available on microfiche in the SSHL Reference Department.
PsychINFO (Psychological Abstracts) and Sociological Abstracts
SAGE.
From the SSHL home page, click on SAGE, then on Language and Literature, then Linguistics and Languages. Electronic resources in linguistics available to the UCSD community are grouped in categories, e.g. Web megasites, dictionaries, article databases, journals and other full-text sources, etc. Remember: SAGE lists only electronic resources. It is not-as this guide in brief and DeMiller (see p. 1) in much more detail attempt to be-a guide to all useful resources on linguistics, both print and electronic.
The UCSD Libraries, along with all other UC libraries and the majority of research libraries in the United States, use the classification system adopted by the Library of Congress for books, journals, and some other materials that can be shelved. (At UCSD, we use home-grown systems for housing microfilms, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and other materials requiring specialized storage.)
The most relevant call numbers for linguistics and language study are:
BF - Psychology (especially near BF 723, for cognition)
P - Communication in general, including general linguistics. Specific numbers, or ranges of numbers, are used to sub-classify, e.g. P 37 psycholinguistics; P 41 sociolinguistics; P 215-240 phonology; P 301 discourse analysis and sylistics.
PA - Classical (Western) languages and philology in general, and Latin and Greek; Byzantine and modern Greek; Medieval and modern Latin.
PB - Modern languages and philology (in general); Celtic languages
PC - Romance languages and philology: 1000-Italian; 2001-3761 French and Provençal; 3801-3976 Catalan; 4000 Spanish; 5000 Portuguese
PD - Germanic languages and philology: Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, Icelandic, Old Norse.
PE - Germanic languages and philology: English.
PF - Germanic languages and philology: Dutch, Afrikaans, Flemish, Friesian, German.
PG - Slavic languages/philology and literatures. 2000 Russian
PH - Finno-Ugrian and Uralic languages/philology and literatures. Finnish, Estonian, Hungarian, 5001-Basque
PJ - Oriental languages/philology and literatures. (1000-Egyptian & Coptic, 2301-2551 Hamitic, 3001-9293 Semitic).
PK - Indo-Iranian languages and literatures, including Vedic, Sanskrit, Pali, Persian, Urdu, Hindi, Bengali); 8001-8958 Armenian; 9001-Caucasian and Georgian)
PL - Eastern Asian, Africa, and Oceania. 500-700 Japanese; 901-49 Korean, 1000-2239 Chinese, 5001-7511 Oceanic, 8001-8844 African.
PM - 1-7356 Native languages of the Americas; 7800-Mixed and Creole languages, 8000-9021 Artificial languages.
QP 399 - Neuro-/psychological aspects of language.
Z 7001-04 - Some bibliographies of linguistics.
Most electronic reserves, electronic journals, electronic books and databases are restricted for the use of UCSD or UC faculty, staff, and students. When you are off campus you must be authenticated (verified as currently affiliated with UCSD) by the proxy in order to use these resources. Click here for set-up instructions.
Rob Melton
Bibliographer for Linguistics
Social Sciences & Humanities Library
9500 Gilman Drive, 0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
858-534-7573
rmelton@ucsd.edu
September 19, 2008