LTEN 132: James Joyce

Download a printer-friendly PDF version of this guide

Background Articles

Scholarly Books

Article-Length Criticism

Contact


I. Background Articles (Print & Digital resources)

 A Biographical Dictionary of Irish Writers. Ed. Anne M. Brady and Brian Cleeve. Mullingar, Ireland: Lilliput Press, 1985. PR 8727 .B5 1985b SSHL Reference Stacks

A Dictionary of Irish Literature. Robert Hogan, Editor-in-Chief. Revised, expanded edition. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1996. 2 vols. PR 8706 .D5 1996 SSHL Reference Stacks

Fargnoli, A. Nicholas. Critical Companion to James Joyce: A Literary Reference to His Life and Work. Revised Edition. (Facts on File Library of World Literature). NY: Checkmark Books, 2006. PR 6019 .O9 Z533376 2006 SSHL Reference Stacks

Literature Resource Center (electronic resource). Detroit: The Gale Group.

Contains over 400 articles and documents on Joyce, including the full text of James Joyce Revisited (Twayne's English Authors Series), the booklet on Joyce in the British Writers Series, and the article by Bernard Benstock about him in Dictionary of Literary Biography Volume 36: British Novelists, 1890-1929: Modernists.

The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature. Ed. Robert Welch. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1996. PR 8706 .O88 1996 SSHL Reference Stacks

Note: The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature (abridged and updated in 2000) is available online and in the SSHL stacks (PR 8706 .C66 2000 7th floor)

Wall, Richard. An Irish Literary Dictionary and Glossary. Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire: C. Smythe, 2001. PE 2406 .W36 2001 SSHL Reference Stacks


 II. Scholarly Books

To find what books-printed or electronic-the UCSD Libraries own on the life and work of James Joyce or on any topic, use our catalog "Roger" (http://roger.ucsd.edu/). Roger defaults to a keyword search, in which you can type whatever words you are interested in and hope for the best results. However, it is usually more productive to change to a Subject approach, by typing in approved Library of Congress Subject Headings.

For book-length critical and interpretive studies about Joyce's work as a whole, or of more than one work:

  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Criticism & Interpretation
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Aesthetics
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Censorship
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Literary style
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Manuscripts-Facsimiles 

For book-length critical and interpretive studies of specific works:

  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Ulysses
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Characters-Molly Bloom [Leopold Bloom, Stephen Dedalus, Jews, Women, etc.]

For book-length studies of Joyce's knowledge of or opinions on various subjects, or his influence on other writers:

  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Knowledge-Art [History, Greece, Literature, etc.]
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Views On [Nationalism, Sex Role, Time, etc.]
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Influence
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Appreciation-United States  

For other books dealing with Ulysses which are not primarily critical/interpretive:

  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Ulysses-Concordances
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Ulysses-Crticisim, Textual
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Ulysses-Exhibitions
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Ulysses-Illustrations
  • Joyce, James, 1882-1941-Ulysses-Sources

For book-length studies broader than Joyce alone (examples):

  • English Fiction-Twentieth Century
  • English Fiction-Irish Authors-History and Criticism
  • English Literature-Irish Authors-History and Criticism
  • Modernism-Literature
  • Modernism-Literature-Ireland
  • Myth in Literature
  • History in Literature
  • Catholic Church in Literature
  • Dublin (Ireland)-Description & Travel
  • Ireland-History-[Specific period]

III. Article-Length Criticism

Roger does not index scholarly journals or magazines down to the article level. To find scholarly and critical articles about Joyce, you need to use either online bibliographic databases, printed bibliographies, or browse in Joyce-related journals

1. Online Bibliographic Databases.

There are two online bibliographic databases that generally index most articles about Joyce. Both of them are accessible from the "Databases A to Z" list linked from the Libraries' home page (http://sshl.ucsd.edu ). These will be demonstrated in class (take notes, if needed):

MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) Published by the Modern Language Association (U.S.)

Indexes scholarly journals and many scholarly books in and about all languages except ancient Greek and Latin in the fields of literary and textual criticism, literary theory, cultural studies, folklore, and selective coverage of linguistics, theater, film, and literary pedagogy. Some indexing goes back to the late 19th century.

Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL). Published by the Modern Humanities Research Association (U.K.)

Indexes scholarly journals and many scholarly books relating to literature in the English language and the English language itself published since approximately 1920. 

2. Printed Bibliographies. There are also printed bibliographies that are useful for Joyce studies. Here are a few:

Articles on Twentieth Century Literature: An Annotated Bibliography, 1954-1970. Ed. David E. Pownall. 7 vols. PN 771 .P66 Reference Stacks

The English Novel, 1578-1956: A Checklist of Twentieth-Century Criticisms. Ed. Inglis Bell and Donald Baird. Denver: A. Swallow, 1958. PR 821 .B4 SSHL Reference Stacks

Continued by:

English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972. Ed. Helen H. Palmer and Anne Jane Dyson. Hamden, Ct.: Shoe String Press, 1973.   Suppl. I, 1976. Suppl. II, 1981. Suppl. III, 1986. Suppl. IV, 1990. Suppl. V, 1994. Suppl. VI, 1997. Suppl. VII, [check date] (Various compilers; Suppls. V-VII published by Archon Books, North Haven, Ct.) PR 821 .E64 SSHL Reference Stacks

Anglo-Irish Literature: A Review of Research. Ed. Richard J. Finneran. New York: MLA, 1976. PR 8712 .A5 SSHL Reference Stacks

Harmon, Maurice. Select Bibliography for the Study of Anglo-Irish Literature and Its Backgrounds: An Irish Studies Handbook. Dublin: Wolfhound Press, 1977. PR 8711 .H37 SSHL Reference Stacks

Rice, Thomas Jackson. James Joyce: A Guide to Research. New York: Garland Publishing, 1982. PR 6019 .O9 R5 1982 (7th floor)  

3. Browsing Journals.

It is possible to browse directly in journals, either in print format or online. However, by not using one of the bibliographic databases above, you risk not finding references to relevant articles in other journals. Nevertheless, here are some journals that typically include scholarly and critical articles about the work of James Joyce:

James Joyce Quarterly, Vol. 44, 2006-present online in Project Muse. Older volumes in print only: PR 6019 .O9 A5 (7th floor of SSHL).

Joyce Studies Annual, 2001-2003 in Project Muse (Ceased 2003); older volumes in print only: PR 6019 .O9 Z4583

Hypermedia Joyce Studies: Electronic Journal of Joycean Studies (1995-present).    

Modern Fiction Studies, 1955-1995 in Periodicals Archive Online; 1985-present in Project Muse; PS 379 .M55 (vols. 1-40 on 7th floor; 41-49 at SRLF).

Journal of Modern Literature, 1970-2006 in JSTOR; 1970-1996 in Periodicals Archive Online; 1998-present in Project Muse and Literature Online (LiON). 1970-1991 in print at SRLF.

Twentieth-Century Literature, 1955-2006 in JSTOR; 1975-present in Academic Source Complete; 1994-present online in LiON. 1955-2000 in print at SRLF.

Journal of Irish Literature, 1979-1993 in print at PR 8700 .J6  (1979-1985 in Annex; 1986-93 on 7th floor).

 


Contact

Rob Melton
Literature, Linguistics, Theater & Dance
Social Sciences & Humanities Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, 0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
Phone (858) 534-1264
Fax (858) 534-7548
rmelton@ucsd.edu