LTWL 123: Vampires in Literature


Download a printer-friendly PDF version of this guide


Biting ROGER


Sample Library of Congress Subject Headings: Individual Authors/Directors

Bürger, Gottfried August, 1747-1794-Lenore

Byron, George Gordon Byron, Baron, 1788-1824-Criticism and Interpretation

Coleridge, Samuel Taylor, 1772-1834-Christabel

Ewers, Hanns Heinz, 1871-1943-Criticism and Interpretation

Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von, 1749-1832-Bibliography

Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von, 1749-1832-Characters

Goethe, Johann Wolfgang von, 1749-1832-Criticism and Interpretation

Herzog, Werner, 1942-

Le Fanu, Joseph Sheridan, 1814-1873-Criticism and Interpretation

Matheson, Richard, 1926--Criticism and Interpretation

Meyer, Stephenie, 1973-Twilight Saga Series

Murnau, F. W. (Friedrich Wilhelm), 1888-1931

Polidori, John William, 1795-1821-Vampyre

Stoker, Bram, 1847-1912-Bibliography

Stoker, Bram, 1847-1912-Criticism and Interpretation

Stoker, Bram, 1847-1912-Dracula-Criticism and Interpretation

Stoker, Bram, 1847-1912-Film and Video Adaptations

William of Newburgh, 1136-1201-Historia Rerum Anglicarum

Sample Library of Congress Subject Headings: General Topics

Vampires-Drama

Vampires-Fiction

Vampires-History

Vampires-[Place Name, e.g. Romania]

Vampires-Psychological Aspects

Vampires in Literature

Vampire Films-History and Criticism

Vampires on Television

Horror in Literature

Horror Tales-[American, English, German]-History and Criticism

Horror Tales-[American, English, German]-Film and Video Adaptations

Horror Films

Dracula, Count (Fictitious Character)

Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Fictitious Character)

Dracula Films-History and Criticism

Nosferatu (Motion Picture)

Gothic Fiction (Literary Genre), English-History and Criticism

Racism in Literature

Racism in Motion Pictures

Sex Role in Literature

Sex Role in Motion Pictures

Sex Role on Television

Romanticism-Great Britain

Romanticism-Germany

Technological Innovations

Technological Innovations-Great Britain-History-19th Century

Phonograph-History

Eastman Kodak Company

Motion Pictures and Literature

Film Adaptations-History and Criticism

Sex in Popular Culture

Homosexuality in Literature

Homosexuality in Motion Pictures

Gays in Literature

Gays in Motion Pictures

Queer Theory

Examples of cases to use a Keyword search: "Blacula," "Giaour," "Blade movie" (not in quotes), "'True Blood'" (in quotes)

Back to Top




Drawing Blood from OLD BOOKS & MAGAZINES (Primary Sources)


NOTE: All databases mentioned below are available from the SSHL Home Page (sshl.ucsd.edu)

Database: ECCO (Eighteenth-Century Collections Online)

Search "vampyre"

Database: C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

Search by "vampyre" and "vampire"

Database: Literature Online 

Search Texts by vampyre (41 poems, 12 plays, 16 prose works) or vampire (350 poems, 124 plays, 56 prose works)

Back to Top



Resurrecting the LIVES of the DEAD (and UN-DEAD)


Database: The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (primarily for British Dead)

Examples: Le Fanu, Stoker, Polidori, Byron, Coleridge, Rymer, William of Newburgh.

Database: Literature Resource Center

Examples: Goethe, Byron, Coleridge, Stoker, Polidori, Meyer, Tieck, Hoffman, Bürger, Matheson, Let the Right One In (title).

Back to Top

 


Sucking Meaning from the Text: Secondary Sources


Database: MLA International Bibliography. Indexes mostly scholarly articles, book chapters, dissertations, etc. on British, German, American, and all other post-Classical literatures. Includes some coverage of film, particularly adaptations of literary works and themes. No full text in the database, but links to full text are provided.

Sample search #1: Stoker as Descriptor AND (rac* or ethnic*) as Descriptor = 11 hits (1 book, 1 dissertation, 6 chapters in books, 3 journal articles)

Sample search #2: Giaour as Keyword AND vamp* as Keyword = 2 hits

Sample search #3: Meyer as Keyword AND twilight as Keyword AND limit English = 5

Sample search #4: Murnau, F.W. as Descriptor OR Herzog, Werner as Descriptor AND Nosferatu as Keyword = 139 hits

Sample search #5: Murnau, F. W. as Descriptor AND Herzog, Werner as Descriptor AND Nosferatu as Keyword = 6 hits

Database: FIAF (International Index to Film Periodicals)

Sample search #1a: Nosferatu = 548 hits in 348 citations

Sample search #1b: Nosferatu limited to English language = 113 hits in 38 citations/p>

Sample search #1c: Nosferatu in the Film/Television Title search box = 110 citations

Sample search #2: vampire AND sexual* = 35 hits in 8 citations

Sample search #3: Dracula near.5 Stoker = 121 hits in 72 citations

Database: Academic Search Complete. Indexes a mixture of popular magazines, scholarly journals, and news sources. More than 50% of citations include full text.

Sample search #2: "True Blood" AND (TV or television) AND (sexual* or bisexual* or homosexual* or heterosexual* or straight* or gay*) = 10 (8 with full text)

Sample search #3: Blacula AND ("motion pictures" or film* or tv* or television*) = 3

Database: New York Times (Historical and Current). Full text of the entire NY Times from 1851 to the present. Particularly good for finding book, movie, theater, and television reviews as well as news of the publishing, theater, and film industries, including display ads.

Sample search #1: Dracula AND Herzog = 18

Sample search #2: "True Blood" and Review as Document Type = 5

Sample search #3a: "synthetic blood" and vampire in Citation & Abstract = 2

Sample search #3b: "synthetic blood" and vampire

Database: Literature Resource Center (see Biography, above)

Back to Top



Formatting Those Bloody Citations


Sign Up for a RefWorks Workshop at http://libraries.ucsd.edu/services/instruction/

Friday, August 13, Noon-1:30 p.m.

Wednesday, August 16, 9:00-10:30 a.m.

Both in the Library Classroom 1 (Room 274), Geisel Library

Take the RefWorks Tutorial at http://www.refworks.com/tutorial

Back to Top



Seek More Assistance (at your own risk)


Rob Melton Subject Specialist for Literature & Cultural Studies
Social Sciences & Humanities Library
(858) 534-7573
rmelton@ucsd.edu