Marketing Research



Finding Advertising Information

  • Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
    SSHL Ref Desk Z6951 A97
    Detailed information on over 67,500 newspapers, magazines, journals, periodicals, directories, newsletters, and radio, and television and cable stations. Includes ad rates.
  • Business Source Premier (try searching with terms like advertisingI or demographics)
  • Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
    Search by publication title to discover advertising rates.
  • Ad $ summary
    Old editions in SSH stacks, HF5801 .A14, new editions at SDSU (Ref HF5805 .L4, 1st floor, Library Addition)
    Lists advertising expenditures in magazines, newspapers, radio and television.
  • Television and Cable Factbook. (3 parts).
    SSHL reference TK6540 .T453
    Part 1- Cable; Part 2-Services, Part 3-Stations. Arranged geographically. Provides broadcast range, fees, Nielsen coverage, etc. Also Advertising rates
  • Ad Age Data Center
    Includes a list of the 100 leading national advertisers with comprehensive ad spending estimates, information on newspapers and magazines (circulation, linage and ad revenue rankings), and lists ad agencies.
  • Green Book
    A WHO's WHO for finding suppliers of over 400 types of marketing research services including: advertising, brand, media and product research, analytical services, computer services and programs, interviewing, surveys and technical services. Also try the Blue Book (directory of marketing research firms).
  • Advertising Media Internet Center (AMIC)
    Source for radio (market CPRPs), TV (market CPRPs), and magazine cost (CPMs) data, including some SMRB. Registration is required, but free. Data is a few years old.


Finding Demographic Information

  • Lifestyle Market Analyst
    SSH Reference Business HF 5415.33 U6 L54
    Provides lifestyle profiles, market profiles, consumer segment profiles, and a list of consumer magazines targeted toward each lifestyle profile.
  • Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
    Poll results from opinion polling sources such as Gallup, Harris, Roper; ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC; Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal.
  • CBSA and Media Market Totals and CBSA and Media Market Rankings
    Parts of the 2004 edition of the Survey of Buying Power available through ABI Inform. " it features statistics, rankings, and projections for every county and media market in the United States, with demographics broken out by age, race, city, county, and state; information on retail spending; and projections for future growth in these areas. New to the Survey thls year, the rankings are divided into 922 Core Based Statistical Areas (CBSAs), which are geographic areas set by the Census Bureau, and 210 Media Markets (television or broadcast markets determined by Nielsen Media Research), and all of the data is provided by Claritas Inc.*"


Finding Company Information

  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis provides company history, primary SIC code, profiles, financial data, SEC reports, and company news. It also includes full text articles from hundreds of newspapers, magazines, and trade journals. If you don't find what you're looking for, try Business Source Premier or Expanded Academic ASAP.
  • Edgar Database (SEC) Also includes SEC filings.
  • EdgarScan from PWC -- allows downloads into Excel!
  • Investext
    Provides complete PDF versions of company, industry, and country research reports prepared by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and trade associations. Contributors include Morgan Stanley, A.G. Edwards, Bear Stearns, Deutsche Bundesbank, Barclays, Thompson BankWatch, Warburg, Credit Suisse First Boston, etc.
  • America's Largest Private Companies (Forbes list)
    Contains information on revenues and profits.
  • CorpTech
    Contains directory information on over 52,000 technology companies and developers in major high-technology industries throughout the United States. Includes contact information, key executive names, primary industry and a brief company profile.
  • Business Rankings Annual SSH Ref Business HD 2709 B87
  • Market share reporter SSH Ref Business HF 5410 M35
    Provides tables giving market share for key brand names and companies.


Finding Industry Information

  • Business Source Premier
  • Investext
    Provides complete PDF versions of over 1,000,000 company, industry, and country research reports prepared by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and trade associations.
  • Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (SSHL Reference Business HC 106.6 S74)
    Provides overviews of an industry. It includes industry trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, and comparative company analysis.
  • Associations Unlimited
    Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Use this database to find links to relevant associations, as the associations are likely to have relevant statistics.
  • Current Industrial Reports
    "These surveys measure manufacturing activity in important commodity areas such as textiles and apparel, chemicals, primary metals, computer and electronic components, industrial equipment, aerospace equipment, and consumer goods."
  • Zapdata
    Register for free access to 2 industry and company reports of your choosing. Industry reports include market size statistics - See the total number of U.S. companies in the 4-digit SIC code you select, the total number of people employed in this industry, the total annual sales for the SIC code, the average number of employees per business, and the average sales per business.


BioTech Resources

  • Biotechnology Industry Organization
  • Center for Drug Evaluation and Research from the FDA. Includes information on regulatory guidelines and initiatives.
  • Company Catalogs
    Many companies produce catalogs to sell chemicals. Within these catalogs, there is often useful property data information, links to MSDS sheets and more. Also look at this list of chmeical suppliers.
  • CorpTech
    Contains directory information on over 52,000 technology companies and developers in major high-technology industries throughout the United States. Includes contact information, key executive names, primary industry and a brief company profile.
  • Pharmaceutical Industry report from PhRMA.org
  • TechNet
    Tech-Net is a free service for those seeking small business partners, small business contractors and subcontractors, leading edge technology research, research partners (small businesses, universities, federal labs and non-profit organizations), manufacturing centers and investment opportunities.
  • U.S. Office of Biotechnology Activities part of NIH
    "Monitors scientific progress in human genetics research in order to anticipate future developments, including ethical, legal, and social concerns, in basic and clinical research involving Recombinant DNA, Genetic Technologies, and Xenotransplantation," among many activities.


Other Useful Information

  • County Business Patterns
    "County Business Patterns provides data on the total number of establishments, mid-March employment, first quarter and annual payroll, and number of establishments by nine employment-size classes by detailed industry for all counties in the United States and the District of Columbia."
  • ClickZ
    Internet statistics.
  • Interactive Advertising Bureau
    Information on advertising effectiveness on the internet.
  • San Diego source book
    SSHL Reference Desk HS 17 S2
    Information from the census, and on the economy, real estate, growth, associations, and organizations.


Resources at other local libraries

  • SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service) Business publication advertising source
    At: CSU San Marcos and SDSU.
  • Mintel reports
    At: University of San Diego
    Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.


Getting Help

Try Get Started! with Business Research guide -- it may answer your questions. Also, for assistance with business related questions, contact:

Adele Barsh
Economics and Business Librarian
Social Sciences & Humanities Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, 0175L
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
Phone (858) 534-1249
Fax (858) 534-7548
abarsh@ucsd.edu