Good for finding books, journals and government documents from all jurisdictions.
Roger, UCSD's Library catalog
Circuit, Library catalog for all San Diego area Universities
Melvyl, Library catalog for all UC libraries
WorldCat, Catalog for Libraries all over the US
*America History & Life: (Indexes many local history
journals including Journal of San Diego History and Southern California Quarterly.)
*Dissertations & Theses: (Abstracts of dissertations back
to 1980, mater's theses back to 1988 & full-text of UC dissertations, 1996-present)
*IBSS: International Bibliography of Social Sciences
(See handout for using this database as an access point to other relevant databases
such as World Wide Political Abstracts, PAIS and more.)
*San Diego Union Tribune, 1984-present
San Diego Union:
o 1868-1869, Special Collection Rare FF AN S3 S1
o 1889-1897, 1922-1992 SSH Micro XF 248
*San Diego Business Journal: (To read full text articles back
to 1999, you need to create a free user name and password using the library's
subscription number - 00133657)
*Los Angeles Times, 1985-present
*Los Angeles Times Historical, 1881-1985
*Access World News (coverage of over 140 newspapers
in California, over 800 nationwide plus international coverage.)
Government Information is being published exclusively online with more frequency than ever
before. These search engines and the resources below can help you find that information.
Don't forget to check library catalogs for older documents which may not be online. ("Older"
can even mean late-1990s and early 2000s)
USA Search, government search engine (Searches .gov .mil and .us sites as well as selected others. Usually does not include quasi-governmental
agencies such as port authorities or development corporations.)
San Diego County Local Governments search engine: (A custom Google search engine which searches the websites of 47 local San Diego area
governments and quasi-governmental entities.)
California Local Government Finance Almanac: (From the League of California Cities)
*Index to Current Urban Documents, full-text 1995-present:
(Paper indexes back to 1972 available in SSH Ref
Stacks JS 39 .I5; fiche copies of full text documents available on loan from Berkeley)
*LexisNexis Congressional (Indexes U.S. Congressional Hearings, Congressional Record and more. Includes selected full text.)
LUPIN, California Land Use Planning Information Network:
SCAG, Southern California Association of Governments (Covers all counties in Southern California, except San Diego.)
SANDAG, San Diego Association of Governments (Covers all of San Diego County.)
American Factfinder (Includes access to Census and American Community Survey data)
Neighborhood Knowledge California (NKCA)
*Rand California (Statistical database on California)
Social Explorer (Interactive mapping of selected Census Data at the Tract level, back to 1940)
Statistical Abstract of the United States, SSH Docs Ref C 3.134:2008 & online at
California Statistical Abstract, SSH Docs Cal Ref F 380 S8 v.2004 & online at
Resources with a * must be used on campus, or from a computer with proxy access set
up. Instructions for setting up proxy access on your home computer can be found here.
All resources with a * can be found in the Libraries' Databases A-Z List.
Don't forget to use RefWorks* to organize all
your sources! Check out the libraries RefWorks workshops to learn how you can use it
to easily build your bibliography and cite sources! Sign up here.
Remember, you can request journal articles and books the library does not own using
our Interlibrary Loan service. (It's free!) Use UC e-Links when using an article
database, or go directly to the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan page.
Rebecca C. Hyde
U.S. Government Information and
Urban Studies Librarian
858-534-4175
rhyde@ucsd.edu
Annelise Sklar
Political Science and State, Local &
International Documents Librarian
858-822-1993
asklar@ucsd.edu