Business Source Premier
Search for publishing, then refine your results by clicking on Industry Profiles,Market Research, SWOT analysis, etc.
Investext
Provides complete PDF versions of over 1,000,000 company, industry, and country research reports prepared by analysts at leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and trade associations. Try the drop down selection under industry - look for Printing Publishing or search for your favorite publicly traded company.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (SSHL Reference Business HC 106.6 S74)
Provides overviews of an industry. It includes industry trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios & statistics, and comparative company analysis.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
SSHL Ref Desk Z6951 A97
Detailed information on over 67,500 newspapers, magazines, journals, periodicals, directories, newsletters, and radio, and television and cable stations. Includes ad rates.
Industry Statistics Newspaper Association of America
Statistics on the newspaper industry; includes advertising, audience, readership and circulation.
Literary Market place
SSHL Ref. Desk PN 161 L5
Listings for publishers, agents, manufacturers and other businesses associated with publishing.
Online Publishers Association
OPA provides high-quality, original and third-party reports on Internet usage, media consumption, online journalism, politics and advertising.
Bowker Annual of Library and Book Trade Information
SSHL Ref. Desk Z731.B786
Use to find statistics, directory and calendar of events.
Library Research Service
Contains "library statistics and research for library and education professionals, public officials, and the media. LRS reports and analyzes statistics on school , public , and academic libraries, and conducts studies on major library issues..."
Library statistics program
The NCES surveys "academic libraries, public libraries, school library media centers, and state library agencies. NCES works collaboratively with the Bureau of the Census and the U.S. National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (NCLIS) to plan survey content and to collect, process, and disseminate the data."
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
SSHL Ref Desk Z6951 A97
Detailed information on over 67,500 newspapers, magazines, journals, periodicals, directories, newsletters, and radio, and television and cable stations. Includes ad rates.
Ad $ summary
Old editions in SSH stacks, HF5801 .A14, new editions at SDSU (Ref HF5805 .L4, 1st floor, Library Addition)
Lists advertising expenditures in magazines, newspapers, radio and television.
Television and Cable Factbook. (3 parts).
SSHL reference TK6540 .T453
Part 1- Cable; Part 2-Services, Part 3-Stations. Arranged geographically. Provides broadcast range, fees, Nielsen coverage, etc. Also Advertising rates
Ad Age Data Center
Includes a list of the 100 leading national advertisers with comprehensive ad spending estimates, information on newspapers and magazines (circulation, linage and ad revenue rankings), and lists ad agencies.
Green Book
A WHO's WHO for finding suppliers of over 400 types of marketing research services including: advertising, brand, media and product research, analytical services, computer services and programs, interviewing, surveys and technical services. Also try the Blue Book (directory of marketing research firms).
Advertising Media Internet Center (AMIC)
Source for radio (market CPRPs), TV (market CPRPs), and magazine cost (CPMs) data, including some SMRB. Registration is required, but free. Data is a few years old.
Finding Demographic Information
Lifestyle Market Analyst
SSH Reference Business HF 5415.33 U6 L54
Provides lifestyle profiles, market profiles, consumer segment profiles, and a list of consumer magazines targeted toward each lifestyle profile.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Poll results from opinion polling sources such as Gallup, Harris, Roper; ABC, CBS, CNN and NBC; Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal.
CBSA and Media Market Totals and CBSA and Media Market Rankings
Parts of the 2004 edition of the Survey of Buying Power available through ABI Inform. " it features statistics, rankings, and projections for every county and media market in the United States, with demographics broken out by age, race, city, county, and state; information on retail spending; and projections for future growth in these areas. New to the Survey this year, the rankings are divided into 922 Core Based Statistical Areas (CBSAs), which are geographic areas set by the Census Bureau, and 210 Media Markets (television or broadcast markets determined by Nielsen Media Research), and all of the data is provided by Claritas Inc.*"