Sociology Tools & Resources

Goals for this guide

Doing research always takes more time than the researcher thinks it should. Learning to use library resources, such as online catalogs, databases, paper indexes, and bibliographies, will help you become an effective and efficient researcher. The goal of this guide is to introduce you to the many types of resources available for sociological research in the UCSD Libraries.



The Basics

  • Use the Social Sciences & Humanities Library home page as your starting point for the library's resources, collections, and services.
  • Become familiar with the layout of the Geisel Library and the call number areas used for the subject you choose to research. Reference books are in the Reference Stacks on the main floor (2nd level, west wing). Many circulating books for sociology are on the 6th floor with call numbers beginning with H. Depending on your research topic, however, you will find useful books in many other call number areas. Examples:

    E 184 - E 185: American ethnic groups.
    HA: Social science statistics.
    HM: Sociology (general and theoretical). Social psychology.
    HN: Social history. Social problems. Social reform.
    HQ: The family. Marriage. Women. Feminism.
    HT: Communities. Classes. Races. Slavery.
    HV: Social and public welfare. Substance abuse. Criminology.
    HX: Socialism. Communism. Anarchism.
    K: Legal issues
    LC: Educational sociology.
    RA: Social medicine.



General Printed Reference Tools

Indexes & Abstracts help you identify citations for articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, chapters within books, conference proceedings and dissertations.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Research Guides & Handbooks provide descriptions, definitions, overviews, and recommended reading lists.
Annual Reviews
Style & Research Guides
Professional Guides & Association Publications


Subject-Specific Printed Reference Tools

Bibliographies, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Statistical Sources
Maps & Atlases


Electronic Reference Tools

Catalogs provide access to records for books, journals, government reports, videos, etc.

Indexing & Abstracting Databases help you identify citations for articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, chapters within books, conference papers, dissertations, and more. Many of these include UC-eLinks, a feature that will tell you if the article is available online or which UC library subscribes to that journal in paper.

Full-text Databases and Electronic Journals offer one-stop shopping for complete text of an article, but sometimes don't include statistical tables, charts, graphs, illustrations, and photos.

**NOTE** To see a complete list of databases recommended as useful for sociology, click on SAGE from the SSHL home page. Then click on Social Sciences, then Sociology. Last, click on article databases or electronic texts (collections).

Free Internet Sites are, generally speaking, not very useful for finding scholarly, authoritative material. However, if you decide to search the Web for information on your topic, be sure that the webpage contains credible information. How can you tell if a website is credible? Look for the following criteria and evaluate the information accordingly:

  • Authority -Who has "published" this information? Is it a reliable source of information?
  • Currency -How recent or out-of-date is the information?
  • Purpose - What is the purpose of the website or the organization that hosts the information?

If you decide to surf the Net, try Google as a search engine. Put phrases and names in quotation marks, e.g., "O.J. Simpson" media coverage. Also, check out the Librarians Index to the Internet and our own web portal, Sage Or, you can use a meta-engine, like Dogpile, which will search the Web using multiple search engines simultaneously. Also, check out InFoPeople's Best Search Tools. Remember that the web contains a lot of inaccurate information. Be sure to evaluate all websites and web pages for reliability.



Critical Journals for Sociological Research

(Of course there are many others, but these ten are the top-ranked according to JCR, Journal Citation Reports)



Identifying Appropriate Sources for Your Topic

A controlled vocabulary called the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) is used to describe all library materials in the catalogs, so to use the catalogs effectively, you'll need to figure out which subject headings best describe your topic.

EXAMPLE: A subject search for drug-addicted babies in ROGER will retrieve nothing because the subject headings used by the Library of Congress are these:



Finding Useful Subject Headings

Do a keyword search for any book on your topic, and see what subjects have been assigned to the records you find. Then use those subjects to find similar items.

EXERCISE: The word whiteness is in many titles, but it's not an official subject heading. What subject headings are used instead?

Do a subject search in ROGER Web to see related subjects.

EXERCISE: A search for poverty will show you all subject headings beginning with that word and links to related headings.

Try the Keyword search in ROGER and the Subject search in Melvyl which allows you to search for words in the subject or other parts of the record without knowing the exact word order.

EXERCISE: compare a search for welfare mothers in ROGER and in Melvyl, as both a phrase and a subject search.



Data & Documents

If you need data you can manipulate, check out the Social Sciences Data Collection which can provide you with statistical data to support your research.

Government publications are another great source to remember, particularly for statistics, public policy reports, maps, and primary source information.



Alanna Aiko Moore
Sociology, Ethnic Studies and Gender Studies Librarian
Social Sciences & Humanities Library
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, 0175R
La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
Phone (858) 822-5918
Fax (858) 534-7548
aamoore@ucsd.edu