Skip to main contentSkip to navigation links
UCSDUCSD

Navigation

Search

Libraries

Physical Sciences and Engineering Databases

A|B|C|D|E|F|G|I|J|K|L|M|N|P|R|S|T|U|W
ABack to Top
1. Academic Search Complete [UCSD Only]
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
2. ACM Digital Library [UCSD Only]
1947-present. The ACM Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and full texts of works published by the Association for Computing Machinery and affiliated organizations. INSPEC doesn't index all ACM articles.[Full Description]
http://www.acm.org/dl/
3. Aerospace & High Technology Database [UCSD Only]
2007- . Latest year of International Aerospace Abstracts. Years 1961-present are found in S&E Ref Indexes TL521.I625 or searched online by appointment at S&E (subsidized/free for UCSD students). [Full Description]
URL too long to display
4. Agricola [UCSD Only]
1979-present. Covers agriculture and related disciplines. Good for soil chemistry, plant cell biochemistry and plant genetics. Useful for fisheries & aquaculture.[Full Description]
http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/
Instructions
Quick Reference User Guide
5. Arctic & Antarctic Regions [UCSD Only]
1800-present. Indexes articles, books, government reports, and other materials, on polar and non-polar cold regions in all fields: history, humanities, science, and social science.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
6. ARIBIB Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts
1898-2000. Search author, keywords. Click on image link to page scans of Astronomy & Astrophysics Abstracts/AAA(1969-82) & Astronomischer Jahresbericht/AJB(1898-1968). See abstracts in print version--S&E Ref QB1.A86593 [1969-96] & QB1.A8655 [1899-1968].[Full Description]
http://www.ari.uni-heidelberg.de/aribib/
HELP
7. ArXiv.org e-Print archive
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.[Full Description]
http://arxiv.org/
8. Association for Computing Machinery
Has conference calendar, jobs, SIG's, Graduate Assistantship Directory (with links to CS departments). See the ACM Digital Library for articles, etc.[Full Description]
http://www.acm.org/
Membership Directory (use restricted to members)
9. Astrophysics Data System
1975-present. NASA-funded database provides access to four sets of abstracts with links to full-text images of journal articles.[Full Description]
http://adswww.harvard.edu/ads_abstracts.html
BBack to Top
10. Beilstein (Via Crossfire) [UCSD Only]
Structures, reactions, physical & chemical property data (w/ literature citations) for 9 million+ organic compounds. On S&E ACS Computers & S&E/SIO/BML Library Infostations. Software download required and VPN required for off-campus access. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
Using Beilstein at UCSD
11. Biographisch-literarisches Handworterbuch der exacten Wissenschaften [Library Only]
1863- . Johann Christian Poggendorff's bio-bibliography covers scientific literature and scientists of the 19th and 20th century.[Full Description]
book://Q 141 .P746 | S&E Reference Indexes
12. BIOSIS Previews [UCSD Only]
1926-present. BIOSIS Previews is the largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals as well as (selectively) books, conferences and patents.[Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/100004
Getting Started With Biosis Previews (UCSD Biomed Library)
Alerts in BIOSIS vis ISI (PDF)
Lists of controlled vocabularies (from BIOSIS)
Brief search handout (PDF Document)
List of serials covered (from BIOSIS)
13. Business Source Premier [UCSD Only]
Article database covering scholarly journals and trade magazines in business, management, finance, economics, accounting, marketing, and more. Also includes country, company, industry, and market reports. Many publications include online full-text. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
Also try Business Source Complete
User guide [large .doc file]
Source titles
CBack to Top
14. Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) [UCSD Only]
Database of crystallographic, chemical and bibliographic information for 400,000+ organic molecules and metal-organic compounds. Available on ACS computers in S&E Library and NSB2303. For access elsewhere, software installation required. [Full Description]
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/howto/guides/csd.html
Using CSD at UCSD
CSD Guides & Tutorials
15. Catalogue of Scientific Papers: Mechanics, Physics, Mathematics (1800-1900) [UCSD Only]
Index of 19th century scientific papers in mechanics, physics and math, searchable by author/title/subject. For other subjects, refer to the print volumes in the S&E References Indexes (Q158 .R812 1965).[Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/20745
16. Ceramic Abstracts [UCSD Only]
1922-2004. Find papers/patents on the formulation, fabrication & application of ceramics & related materials. For in-depth research, use the print index in S&E Ref TP1.C5041. For online access (partial), use Engineered Materials Abstracts 1986- .[Full Description]
book://TP 1 .C5041 | S&E Reference Indexes
Engineered Materials Abstracts
17. CHEMNetBASE [UCSD Only]
Gateway to 8 major online chemical information resources for physical property data, structures, and chemical names/synonyms, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics and Combined Chemical Dictionary. [Full Description]
http://www.chemnetbase.com/
18. CiNii [UCSD Only]
Index to academic journals and research bulletins published by Japanese academic societies and universities. Offers full texts for selected titles. Strong coverage in science and engineering fields.[Full Description]
http://ci.nii.ac.jp/en/
Users Guide
19. CiteSeer (Research Index)
1990-present. Searchable full-text research articles from journals, preprints, conference proceedings & technical reports, providing citation counts & links within and to each paper. Best for computer science; also covers bioinformatics, chemistry, physic[Full Description]
http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/cs/
More information
20. Civil Engineering Database (ASCE)
January 1973 - . The CEDB Provides Access to over 100,000 Bibliographic and Abstracted Records of all American Society of Civil Engineers' publications since 1973.[Full Description]
http://www.pubs.asce.org/cedbsrch.html
21. Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
1950-present. Over 930,000 references to reports, conference papers and journal articles from 1200 computer science bibliographies. 60,000 papers have links to full-text.[Full Description]
http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/index.html#search
22. Collection on Critical Global Issues (New Zealand Digital Library)
Extensive digital library containing selected United Nations University publications on land management, development, sustainability, food and nutrition, natural resource development, and more.[Full Description]
http://www.nzdl.org/cgi-bin/library?a=p&p=about&c=ccgi
23. Columbia Earthscape: An Online Resource for the Global Environment
Collection of online books, journals, conference proceedings, and datasets, as well as classroom models, syllabi, weblinks, and other resources on virtually all aspects of the earth sciences and the environment. [Full Description]
http://www.earthscape.org
24. CompactMATH
1931-present. Zentrallblatt fuer Mathematik/Mathematics Abstracts from the European Mathematical Society. Results limited to 3 answers. UCSD researchers can obtain an in-depth search of MATH database by calling the Library. [Print in S&E Annex 1931-88.][Full Description]
http://www.emis.de/ZMATH/
Mirror site at Berkeley
25. Compendex [UCSD Only]
1884-present. Engineering Index is best for locating articles in aerospace, civil, structural, mechanical engineering. Also covers biomedical, ocean, coastal, chemical, electrical, computer engineering.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
End Note Import Filters-EI's Compendex
26. Current Index to Statistics (CIS) [UCSD Only]
1974-present. Searchable bibliography of probability and statistics books and articles. IMS journals, JASA, American Statistician, and and Technometrics are indexed back to the 1950's.[Full Description]
http://query.statindex.org/CIS/query
Alternate search interface
Journals Indexed
List of Periodicals Indexed
DBack to Top
27. Dissertations & Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) [UCSD Only]
1861-present. Dissertations/master's theses from 1,000+ graduate schools & universities in N. America/the world. Abstracts for dissertations 1980-present; master's theses 1988-present. Full-text UC dissertations, 1996-present, available at no charge. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/11984
EBack to Top
28. Earthquake Engineering Abstracts [UCSD Only]
1971-present. EEA covers the world literature in earthquake engineering. Contents include selected technical reports, conference papers, books, and journal articles.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
EEA FactSheet-Guide
29. Engineered Materials Abstracts (EMA) [UCSD Only]
1986-present. EMA provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published literature concerning the science of polymers, ceramics and composite materials. Link to e-journals and UCSD holdings with UC-eLinks.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
30. EPA Online Library System
A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency library network. Includes citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment.[Full Description]
http://www.epa.gov/natlibra/ols.htm
31. EPrint Network
Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine. [Full Description]
http://www.osti.gov/eprints/
32. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [UCSD Only]
1966-present. Educational Resources Information Center is a database sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/6006
Journals Indexed in ERIC
Field Codes
How to get ERIC Documents
ERIC via U.S. Dept of Education
33. esp@cenet (Searchable Worldwide Patents database)
1920- . Free worldwide patent information with full-text patents. Search recent patent applications from EP member states; search patents/view images from EPO, France, Germany, Switzerland, UK, US, WIPO; search abstracts, biblio data from China, Japan+. [Full Description]
http://ep.espacenet.com/
FBack to Top
34. Factiva [UCSD Only]
Database of full-text newspaper articles and journals, with heavy coverage of industry news: aerospace, chemicals, computers/electronics, construction, energy, health care, pharmaceuticals and telecommunications. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
GBack to Top
35. GeoRef [UCSD Only]
1785-present (North America); 1933-present (world-wide). Indexes publications in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry (weak coverage), geological maps, hydrology, archaeology, etc.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
36. Gmelin (Via Crossfire) [UCSD Only]
Structures, reactions, physical & chemical property data (w/ literature citations) for 2 million+ inorganics & organometallics. On S&E ACS Computers & S&E/SIO/BML Library Infostations. Software download required and VPN required for off-campus access. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
Using Gmelin at UCSD
37. GrayLit Network (Ceased Oct 2007)
ENDED Oct 31, 2007, Use Science.gov with Advanced search instead. Database of full-text technical reports from the Department of Energy and Dept. of Defense, Environmental Protection Agency, and NASA.[Full Description]
http://graylit.osti.gov/
IBack to Top
38. IEEE Xplore [UCSD Only]
1988-present [+ archives for select publications.] Full-text access to IEEE & IEE transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings and IEEE standards. Browse by journal title, conference name, author. Citing articles of IEEE papers now listed.[Full Description]
http://www.ieee.org/ieeexplore/
39. Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) [UCSD Only]
Search crystal data on 100,000+ inorganic structures, including including pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds. Follow the link for instructions on accessing ICSD. VPN required for off-campus access. [Full Description]
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/howto/guides/icsd.html
40. INSPEC [UCSD Only]
1969-present. Indexes articles in computers, electronics, biomedical, control, electrical & ocean engineering, physics, geophysics, astronomy, acoustics. Also good for conference proceedings, IEEE stds, e-journal links. Use INSPEC multisearch for 1898-. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
INSPEC multisearch
Help Guide (new interface)
A First Guide to INSPEC
Finding Conference Proceedings
41. Inspec Archive 1898-1968 [UCSD Only]
Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering. No online Subject thesaurus - use later INSPEC for hints.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
JBack to Top
42. Jahrbuch Project Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics
1868-1930. Excellent bibliography for older mathematics research, the European Mathematical Society's online version of Jahrbuch ?ber die Fortschritte der Mathematik covers also has links to scanned images of classic papers.[Full Description]
http://www.emis.de/MATH/JFM/JFM.html
KBack to Top
43. Key Databases for Oceanography & Earth Sciences
indexing and abstracting databases for published research in oceanography and earth sciences[Full Description]
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/sio/guide/library.html
44. Knovel [UCSD Only]
Search/browse 1,400+ science and engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, texts, and databases. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables. Excellent resource for chemical & physical property data. [Full Description]
http://www.knovel.com/web/portal/browse
LBack to Top
45. LexisNexis Academic [UCSD Only]
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, magazines, trade journals. Select the Business link to get to Industry & Market News: Aerospace, Chemical, Biotechnology, Computers, etc. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/20081
Searching on specific journals or newspapers
User Guide (Advanced)
User Guide
46. LexisNexis Statistical [UCSD Only]
1973-present. Abstracts and indexes statistical publications of U.S. federal and state governments, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers. Also international agencies. Full text often included. Previous name Statistical Universe[Full Description]
URL too long to display
Spotlight on Statistics
How Do I?
Statistical Universe Guide (University of Michigan)
MBack to Top
47. Marine, Oceanographic, and Freshwater Resources [UCSD Only]
1964-present. Strongest coverage 1978-present. Indexes & provides some abstracts on international marine and oceanic information, as well as substantial coverage of estuarine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments. Seeing an error message? Click OK.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
48. MATHDI Mathematics Didactics database
1976- . Covers mathematics education from elementary school to university teaching. UCSD is not a subscriber; answer sets limited to 1. Contact S&E Library if a full web subscription is needed. [Full Description]
http://www.emis.de/MATH/DI.html
49. MathSciNet [UCSD Only]
1940-present. Search Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. With links to electronic journals. Includes modelling & statistical methods in oceanography, climatology, ecology, etc.[Full Description]
http://www.ams.org/mathscinet/
Quick Start Card
MathSciNet Search Help
50. Merck Index Online [UCSD Only]
Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on 11,200 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/62056
User Help Guides
ChemDraw Plugin (registration required)
51. METADEX [UCSD Only]
1966-present. Comprehensive international coverage of the literature published on the science and technology of metals. Good for applied and theoretical materials processes. Link to e-journals and UCSD holdings with UC-eLinks.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
52. Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts [UCSD Only]
1974-present. Indexes & abstracts 400 journals & other series as well as books & conference proceedings on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, & related environmental sciences. [Full Description]
URL too long to display
How to set up weekly email Alerts
Getting Started with UC-eLinks
NBack to Top
53. NASA Technical Reports Server
1962-present. NASA produced technical reports and aerospace related literature. Includes citations to National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) reports from 1915-1960.[Full Description]
http://ntrs.nasa.gov/
Technical Reports at S&E
54. National Sea Grant Library
Covers Sea Grant supported research in oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law.[Full Description]
http://nsgl.gso.uri.edu/searchguide.html
55. NED: NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
1983-present. Abstracts from 1988. Good for positional, photometric, and spectroscopic data, images of galaxies in various wavebands, redshift measurements. Features searching for objects by position.[Full Description]
http://nedwww.ipac.caltech.edu/
NED Frequently Asked Questions
56. Nikkei Telecom 21 [UCSD Only][Japanese]
Mainly Japnese-language news and financial information from Nihon Keizai Shinbun. This resource is limited to access by UCSD students and faculty only. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/129420
57. NTIS Search (National Technical Information Service)
U.S. government scientific, technical and engineering and related business information. Includes searchable database (1990-present) of documents and ordering information. UCSD faculty, staff & students should request documents via interlibrary loan. [Full Description]
http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
PBack to Top
58. PapersFirst [UCSD Only]
1993-present. Search for papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, workshops, and congresses in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical and Life Sciences. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/16605
To search by conference name use ProceedingsFirst
59. Population Index
1986-2000. Annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.[Full Description]
http://popindex.princeton.edu/
How to Search Population Index
60. Population Index on JSTOR [UCSD Only]
1937-1985. Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population studies.[Full Description]
http://www.jstor.org/journals/00324701.html
61. ProceedingsFirst [UCSD Only]
1993-present. Searchable database of worldwide conference proceedings with citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.[Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/12635
To search for individual papers use PapersFirst
62. PubMED (MEDLINE)
1953-present. MEDLINE and genetics databases from the National Library of Medicine. Now offers e-mail alerting and RSS feeds! Choose Abstract display to see UC E-Links icons for linking to full text and ordering interlibrary loans.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
PubMed Info for UCSD: guides, tips, etc.
RBack to Top
63. Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances (RTECS) [UCSD Only]
Toxicological information with citations on over 140,000 chemical substances. Profiles include toxicological data and reviews, workplace exposure limits, references to US standards and regulations, analytical methods, and exposure and hazard survey data.[Full Description]
http://ccinfoweb.ccohs.ca/rtecs/search.html
SBack to Top
64. Sage urban studies abstracts v.26(1998)-v.30(2002). OCLC FirstSearch Eco [UCSD Only]
Index for all aspects of Urban Studies from 1992 to the present. Includes abstracts and many full-text links. [Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/11623
Also available in print (1973-present.
65. Science.gov
Gateway to selected, authoritative science resources from US government agencies and departments. Search or browse selected science websites, or use the 'index' to view resources on selected topics. Use Advanced search to find specific technical reports.[Full Description]
http://science.gov/
Advanced Search page
Topic Index
Help searching Science.gov
66. SciFinder Scholar [UCSD Only]
Comprehensive database to the chemical literature. Covers all aspects of chemistry with heavy coverage in other sciences. Search by topic, substance (name, structure, CAS-RN, MF), reaction or author/citation. For UCSD Faculty, Students and Staff only. [Full Description]
http://scilib.ucsd.edu/howto/guides/scifinder.html
Using SciFinder Scholar at UCSD
67. Sloane's On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
AT&T Fellow Neil J.A. Sloane's amazing database of over 52,000 integer sequences with literature references for known sequences. Search by sequence or by name.[Full Description]
http://www.research.att.com/~njas/sequences/Seis.html
68. SPIN, Searchable Physics Information Notices [UCSD Only]
1975-present. The SPIN Database indexes and abstracts over 80 major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals, plus selected articles from other scientific journals. Hypertext links to full image articles from AIP, APS and other societies.[Full Description]
URL too long to display
69. Stanford Linear Accelerator SPIRES HEP Database
1974-present. Indexes high-energy physics articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses. Links to citing papers for journal articles and preprints.[Full Description]
http://www.slac.stanford.edu/spires/hep/
TBack to Top
70. Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
Valuable source of information on toxic substances currently in use. Used by government and industry to notify the public and to aid in protecting the environment. TRI published by USEPA.[Full Description]
http://www.epa.gov/tri/
71. TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine.Some databases include data and full text.[Full Description]
http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/
72. TRIS Online (US Govt)
1960s-present. The Transportation Research Information Services database has over 500,000 records of books, journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, state & federal documents. Highway Research Board publications covered back to 1923.[Full Description]
http://trisonline.bts.gov
UBack to Top
WBack to Top
74. Web Of Science - Science Citation Index [UCSD Only]
1900-present. Indexes 6,000 key science journals--an excellent place to start looking for articles. Search by author, keywords, organization and cited reference. Create citation alerts to get weekly notices when new, relevant citations are added.[Full Description]
http://uclibs.org/PID/12610
Tutorial Movies on Using Web of Science
Cited Reference Search tips
General Search tips
Journal Citation Reports - Where to Find
75. World Environment Library (New Zealand Digital Library)
Expansive digital library on world environment issues in the fields of biodiversity, climate change, environmental impact assessment, energy, health, natural resources, policy, sustainable development, waste management and water.[Full Description]
http://www.nzdl.org/cgi-bin/library?a=p&p=about&c=envl

Terms and Conditions of Use