Skip to main contentSkip to navigation links
UCSDUCSD

Navigation

Search

Libraries

SSHL Databases A-Z
Also try:
  • New & Trial Databases
  • News Resources from the UCSD Reference Shelf
  • All UCSD Databases A-Z


  • A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|R|S|T|U|V|W|Z
    ABack to Top
    1. ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature [UCSD Only]
    1920 - present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. Subject areas: English-language literature[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    2. ABSEES online: American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies [UCSD Only]
    ABSEES covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union, and includes records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and more.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/22419
    3. ABYZ News Links
    Links to newspapers, broadcast and other news media around the world, by country: local, national, and also "foreign sources" published on each country. United States covered by state.[Full Description]
    http://www.abyznewslinks.com/
    4. Academic Search Complete [UCSD Only]
    Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals. [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    5. Access UN [UCSD Only]
    Index to current and past United Nations documents and publications, latest three years.[Full Description]
    http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=UNCR
    6. Access World News [UCSD Only]
    Dates vary. More than 1500 sources on countries worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers for the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, other English-speaking countries. For the rest of the world mostly wire services and BBC newspaper digests.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/98452
    7. Acta Sanctorum [UCSD Only]
    Key resource for the history of Christianity and the Latin Middle Ages.[Full Description]
    http://acta.chadwyck.com/
    8. Ad*Access Project
    An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.[Full Description]
    http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/
    9. Africa-Wide NiPAD [UCSD Only]
    19th century-present. Incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles,newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, much more. Nearly 2 million records[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    More details about contents
    10. African American Newspapers: The 19th Century [UCSD Only]
    Full text of 6 newspapers: Freedom's Journal (1827-30); Colored American (1837-1841); North Star (1847-51); National Era (1847-50); Provincial Freeman (1854-55); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-52). Some years incomplete.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/7126
    Search tips
    11. African Studies [UCSD Only]
    Now part of Africa-Wide. No longer can be searched separately. Components range from African Studies Abstracts to Southern Africa Database.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/105678
    12. AgeLine
    1978-present. Free database published by AARP. Covers journals, books, and reports. Please click "Full description" for important info about getting items you find in AgeLine.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    13. Alt-PressWatch [UCSD Only]
    1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/113849
    Help in using the database
    14. Alternative Press Index [UCSD Only]
    1991-present. Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/7399
    Use the Alt Press Index Archive (1969-1990)
    Directory of publications indexed
    15. Alternative Press Index Archive [UCSD Only]
    1969-1990. Citations to articles alternative, radical, and left publications in North America which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/49179
    Continued by Alternative Press Index, 1991-present
    Continued by Alternative Press Index 1991-present
    16. America: History and Life [UCSD Only]
    1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/6159
    List of periodicals indexed
    For rest of world use Historical Abstracts
    17. American Civil War: Letters and Diaries [UCSD Only]
    Contains 100,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs written 1861-65, by more than 2000 authors. [Full Description]
    http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/CWLDLive/
    Guide to searching
    19. American Film Institute Catalog [UCSD Only]
    Comprehensive information on all American films, 1893 to 1970 with plot summaries, production history, and cast information.[Full Description]
    http://afi.chadwyck.com/
    20. American National Biography [UCSD Only]
    Detailed articles on more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes bibliographies and links to web resources. Several hundred new entries added each year.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/6948
    Biography of the day (free to all)
    Print edition also available (not including additions after 1999)
    Latest biographies added (free to all)
    21. American Periodicals Series (APS) Online [UCSD Only]
    1740-1900. Full text of North American periodicals (magazines and newspapers) from 1740 through the 19th century; a few early 20th century periodicals also included. Search APS Online by keyword or browse by journal.[Full Description]
    http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=VFJNPTImSU5UPTAmUFJEPS00
    List of journals indexed
    22. American Song [UCSD Only]
    Listen to American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, cowboys, etc. Over 14,000 tracks and growing. [Full Description]
    http://amso.alexanderstreet.com/
    23. American State Papers, 1789-1838 [UCSD Only]
    Search or browse U.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/96559
    Continued by U.S. Congressional Serials Set, 1817-1907
    24. American Variety Stage
    "A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings ... This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920."[Full Description]
    http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/vshtml/vshome.html
    25. Americas Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) [UCSD Only]
    Coverage is 1690-1876, from cities in 24 states east of the Mississippi. Page images of more than 700 papers included (some with only a few issues). Previously known as Early American Newspapers, and based on microfilm collection of the same name.[Full Description]
    http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANX
    UCSD also has microform version
    View a list of newspapers included
    26. AMICUS Web: the Canadian National Catalogue
    Describes a wide variety of publications produced in Canada, including books, periodicals, pamphlets, and all other formats. Also lists titles published outside of Canada about Canadian topics or written by Canadian authors. Includes the Canadiana[Full Description]
    http://amicus.nlc-bnc.ca/aaweb/amilogine.htm
    Continues Canadiana CD ROM
    27. Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography)
    1969-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning ancient Greek and Latin language and linguistics, Greek and Roman history,literature, philosophy, numismatics, pap[Full Description]
    http://www.annee-philologique.com/aph/
    Library has print version 1924-present
    28. Anthropology Plus [UCSD Only]
    19th century-present. Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals, plus book chapters. Includes anthropology, archaeology, and related fields. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/34670
    Help
    29. Anthrosource [UCSD Only]
    Full text of journals published by the American Anthropological Association, including current and past issues. [Full Description]
    http://www.anthrosource.net/
    30. AP Multimedia Archive [UCSD Only]
    Includes Associated Press's current-year photo report and a selection from a 50-million image print and negative library dating from 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.[Full Description]
    http://ap.accuweather.com/apphoto/
    31. Archive of African Journals Search
    Dates vary. Search archive of 11 social science and humanities journals published in Africa. Most issues are in 1989s and 1990s. Some earlier, and a few 2000 and later.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Browse individual journals
    32. Arctic & Antarctic Regions [UCSD Only]
    1800-present. Indexes articles, books, government reports, and other materials, on polar and non-polar cold regions in all fields: history, humanities, science, and social science.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    33. Art Abstracts [UCSD Only]
    1984-present. Citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/33002
    34. Art Index Retrospective [UCSD Only]
    1929-1984. Cites articles and reproductions of art works from periodicals throughout the world,in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Also yearbooks and museum bulletins. Can search together with Art Abstracts.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/16691
    List of journals indexed
    Help in using the database
    35. ARTBibliographies Modern [UCSD Only]
    1974-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/20497
    Help in using this database
    36. ARTFL Project
    The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language contains access to databases on French Women Writers, Provencal Poetry, and more.[Full Description]
    http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/ARTFL/
    37. ArticleFirst [UCSD Only]
    1990-present. Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/12627
    38. Arts & Humanities Citation Index [UCSD Only]
    1975-present. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1100 leading arts and humanities journals. In many cases includes searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. Part of the Web of Science.[Full Description]
    http://isiknowledge.com/wos
    39. ARTstor [UCSD Only]
    ARTstor Digital Library is comprised of 300,000 images digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images.[Full Description]
    http://www.artstor.org/index.html
    Getting started in ARTstor
    40. AsiaInt [UCSD Only]
    Political, economic, and business intelligence service providing current news and analysis for the countries of East Asia, Southeast Asia, and South Asia. Also known as Asia Intelligence Service.[Full Description]
    http://www.asiaint.com
    41. Asian American Drama [UCSD Only]
    Asian American Drama contains 186 plays by 35 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.[Full Description]
    http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/AADRLive/
    Help Guide
    42. Associations Unlimited (Encyclopedia of Associations) [UCSD Only]
    Find associations by name, acronym, keyword or geographic location. Especially good for non-profit organizations and finding professional/trade associations. Includes national, regional and local organizations for the U.S. & international associations. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/16582
    43. ATLA Religion Database [UCSD Only]
    1949-present. Indexes journal articles, books and collected essays on all aspects of religious studies, from ancient history to the present, including social aspects of religious phenomena. Also useful for archaeology of the Levant. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/23305
    44. ATLASerials [UCSD Only]
    Online collection of nearly 100 major religion and theology journals selected by leading scholars in the field. Dates of coverage vary; some as far back as 1924. Search by key words or browse journals by issue. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/112931
    Browse individual journals
    45. AUL Index to military periodicals 1990-
    Specialized index to articles on military, defense, and national security issues, 1990 to present. Global scope, including Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Compiled by Air University Library.[Full Description]
    http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/aulimp/search.html
    Help in searching
    Print index from 1965
    46. Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals [UCSD Only]
    1987-present. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/9575
    BBack to Top
    47. BAESL : Bibliography of Archaeological Excavations in the Southern Levant
    Comprehensive database of books, articles, and other writings on archaeological excavations in Israel, West Bank, Palestine, and Jordan. Over 15,000 citations, published from early 1800s to present. [Full Description]
    http://library.weber.edu/cm/wkotter/baesl.cfm?bhcp=1
    48. Bibliography of American Literature (BAL) [UCSD Only]
    Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/11557
    49. Bibliography of Asian Studies [UCSD Only]
    1971-present. Lists Western-language books, book chapters and journal articles on all parts of Asia.[Full Description]
    http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/b/bas/
    50. Bibliography of Linguistic Literature
    One of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics. [Full Description]
    http://www.blldb-online.de/
    51. Bibliography of Native North Americans [UCSD Only]
    1500s-present. Citations to literature covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, including archaeology, history, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    52. Bibliography of the history of art [UCSD Only]
    1973-present. Includes citations to periodical articles, conference publications, books and museum publications.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/9570
    53. Biography and Genealogy Master Index [UCSD Only]
    Cumulative index to many printed biographical dictionaries.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/8124
    54. Biography Reference Bank [UCSD Only]
    Combines full text profiles from Wilson Biographies Plus with listings and links to articles form the complete range of other Wilson databases. Includes profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book and performance reviews, p. speeches,obituaries[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/126955
    55. BIOSIS Previews [UCSD Only]
    1926-present. BIOSIS Previews is the largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals as well as (selectively) books, conferences and patents.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/100004
    Getting Started With Biosis Previews (UCSD Biomed Library)
    Alerts in BIOSIS vis ISI (PDF)
    Lists of controlled vocabularies (from BIOSIS)
    Brief search handout (PDF Document)
    List of serials covered (from BIOSIS)
    56. Black Drama: 1850 to the present
    Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.[Full Description]
    http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/BLDRLive/index.html
    Play titles
    Help Guide
    57. Black Studies Center [UCSD Only]
    Includes fulltext journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender and NY Amsterdam News, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/113795
    58. Black Studies Database: Kaiser Index to Black Resources [UCSD Only]
    The Kaiser Index to Black Resources is a bibliographic database created from the handwritten notes of librarians and other staff of the Schomburg Center from 1948 until 1986. [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    59. Black Studies on Disc (CD-ROM) [Library Only]
    Citations for published materials by and about people of African descent. Contents from the Index to Black Periodicals (1988-1998) and from The Catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.[Full Description]
    book://YCD192 | SSH Reference CD-ROM
    60. Book of Lists (San Diego Business Journal) [Library Only]
    Available in print only. Lists leading or largest companies and businesses by type. Older versions (to 1986) are shelved on the 8th floor of the SSH Library.[Full Description]
    http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b3374303
    61. Book Review Digest Plus [UCSD Only]
    1983-present. Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides review excerpts and over 100,000 full text reviews. As of Spring 2008 included 1,300,000 reviews covering over 550,000 books [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/126958
    Use BRD Retrospective for 1905-1982
    62. Book Review Digest Retrospective [UCSD Only]
    1905-1982. Excerpts from and citations to book reviews from 1905 to 1982 to fiction and nonfiction, reference works, textbooks, and children's books in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and general interest[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/126961
    63. Book Review Index Online [UCSD Only]
    1965-present. Indexes more then 5 million book reviews from refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers. Includes the entire backfile from the original print edition of Book Review Index. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/100581
    Guide to Searching
    64. Books in Print [UCSD Only]
    Global Books in Print lists some 5 million titles, including forthcoming and out-of-print; 165,000 records on publishers, distributors, wholesalers and book agents;information on award winners, bestsellers; and over 500,000 full-text reviews[Full Description]
    http://www.globalbooksinprint.com/GlobalBooksInPrint/
    65. Bookstore: UCSD
    Scholarly, scientific/technical, medical and general interest books are available at the Price Center and Aquarium bookstores. Search for textbooks by academic quarter and department.[Full Description]
    http://bookstore.ucsd.edu/
    Go directly to Booksearch
    66. British Library for Development Studies Database
    1990-present. Lists books and articles on economic and social issues in developing countries.[Full Description]
    http://www.ids.ac.uk/ids/info/
    67. British Library Public Catalogue
    Catalog to more than 10 million items in the British Library, including the retrospective (pre-1975) holdings.[Full Description]
    http://www.bl.uk/catalogues/blpc.html
    68. British Parliamentary Papers, House of Commons, the 19th Century [UCSD Only]
    1800-1900. British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, a detailed primary source for the United Kingdom, its colonies and the wider world. Searchable full text; displays page images with tables, maps, illustrations.[Full Description]
    http://parlipapers.chadwyck.com/home.do
    69. Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC) [UCSD Only]
    BCRC is a great first-stop for business information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/113854
    70. Business Monitor Online [UCSD Only][English]
    "Country risk, industry and company intelligence covering global markets." Provides country political, economic, and business forecasts, industry reports, risk ratings, regional newsletters, company profiles, news. Updated daily.[Full Description]
    http://www.businessmonitor.com/enter
    BMO Overview
    71. Business Rankings International [UCSD Only]
    Electronic version of print edition. Searchable database via Business & Company Resource Center (with PROMT & Investext Plus). Presents lists and rankings which appear in major business publications. The top ten names are listed in each case.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/113860
    72. Business Source Complete [UCSD Only]
    Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/126938
    73. Business Source Premier [UCSD Only]
    Article database covering scholarly journals and trade magazines in business, management, finance, economics, accounting, marketing, and more. Also includes country, company, industry, and market reports. Many publications include online full-text. [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Also try Business Source Complete
    User guide [large .doc file]
    Source titles
    CBack to Top
    74. C19: The Nineteenth Century Index [UCSD Only]
    A crucial bibliographical megasite for information about books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives from the Nineteenth Century, particularly from Britain and North America. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/130229
    75. CAJ, China Academic Journals [UCSD Only][Chinese]
    1994-present. CAJ is a multidisciplinary full-text database which provides access to Chinese articles in the humanities and social sciences from a large number of Chinese journals.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/20959
    Online user's guide
    76. California Newspaper Project
    Coordinates preservation of California newspapers printed since 1846. Catalog shows publishing history and library locations for nearly 13,000 papers. Part of the state-by-state U.S. Newspaper Project. Based at UC Riverside. [Full Description]
    http://cnp.ucr.edu/index.html
    Search for newspapers
    Site of the U.S. Newspaper Program
    77. California Statistics (from RAND California) [UCSD Only]
    From the RAND think tank. Generates tables of latest data on business and economics, population and demographics, census, health, education, government finance, community indicators, politics and public opinion.[Full Description]
    http://ca.rand.org/stats/statistics.html
    78. Caribbean Literature [UCSD Only]
    Caribbean Literature, when complete, will comprise 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, interviews, photographs and audio files by the most important writers of the Caribbean. [Full Description]
    http://www.alexanderstreet6.com/cali/
    (Trial Subscription expires 2007-05-31)
    79. Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (US Govt)
    1994-present. Known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT), this is a top choice for finding government documents. Search by subject, title, SuDoc number, etc. For years 1895-1976, use hard cover Monthly Catalog, GP 3.8 at SSHL DOCS REF.[Full Description]
    http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/locators/cgp/index.html
    GPO Catalog via FirstSearch. 1976 - present. UCSD only.
    80. Center for Research Libraries
    CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. UCSD is a member.[Full Description]
    http://www.crl.edu/
    81. Chicago Tribune (Historical) [UCSD Only]
    1847-1986. Search and browse full text display images of both articles and complete newspaper pages.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/115726
    Guide to searching, viewing, printing
    Browse issues by date
    82. Chicano Database [UCSD Only]
    Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/9574
    83. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    Search and read newspaper pages from several states 1900-1910 (including California); search a directory (including library holdings) for U.S. newspapers published from 1690-present.[Full Description]
    http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/home.html
    Go directly to the directory
    84. CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online [UCSD Only]
    Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.[Full Description]
    http://www.ciaonet.org/
    85. ClasePeriodica
    CLASE indexes articles published in over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers over 1400 Latin American journals in science and technology. The merged database has over 400,00 citations dating back to 1975. [Full Description]
    http://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=ClasePeriodica
    Subject Terms (in Spanish)
    Database Guide
    86. Classical Music Library [UCSD Only]
    Over 52,000 audio tracks of classical music from the Medieval to the contemporary, with chamber music, symphonies, choral music, solo vocal and instrumental, and other forms. [Full Description]
    http://ucsd.classical.com/
    87. CMCHSearch: Center for Media and Child Health
    Lists and describes publications on the effect of media exposure on childrens' physical and mental health. [Full Description]
    http://cmch.tv/research/searchCitations.asp
    Visit the Center's home page
    88. CollegeSource Online [UCSD Only]
    Available only on computers in UCSD Library buildings. Includes over 20,000 college and university catalogs in original page format, plus their websites. For most non-U.S. colleges only ther websites are listed, and these typically include catalogs.[Full Description]
    http://www.collegesource.org/home.asp
    QuickStart Guide
    89. Columbia Earthscape: An Online Resource for the Global Environment
    Collection of online books, journals, conference proceedings, and datasets, as well as classroom models, syllabi, weblinks, and other resources on virtually all aspects of the earth sciences and the environment. [Full Description]
    http://www.earthscape.org
    90. ComAbstracts [UCSD Only]
    Lists articles in 80 key journals in the field of communication. Starting dates vary: most begin with the first issue; several go back to the early 20th century.Also use Communication Abstracts to cover a larger group of journals.[Full Description]
    http://www.cios.org/www/absrch.htm
    Also try Communication Abstracts for many more journals plus books
    List of journals and dates covered
    91. Communication Abstracts [UCSD Only]
    1977-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies). [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/34685
    More information on the database
    See list of journals covered
    For more recent articles use Communication Studies: Full Text
    Also use ComAbstracts for additional journals
    92. Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection [UCSD Only]
    Dates vary. Searches full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some going back as far as 1955, and including most recent issues.[Full Description]
    http://online.sagepub.com/collection.dtl?coll=COMM
    Browse the individual journals
    93. COMTRADE: UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database [UCSD Only]
    United Nations database of detailed commodity imports and exports statistics by country, 1962-present. [Full Description]
    http://unstats.un.org/unsd/comtrade/
    First Time User Help
    94. Congressional Indexes, 1789-1972 [UCSD Only]
    Indexing and abstracting of historical Congressional publications (1789-1969), transcripts of unpublished hearings (1823-1972), Serials Set. A section of Congressional Universe. Full text not included, but may be available through the library.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    CDROM version, Congressional Masterfile, sometimes gives better results
    95. Contemporary Women's Issues [UCSD Only]
    Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/113733
    Searching guide
    CWI Help
    96. CorpTech Database of Technology Companies [UCSD Only]
    (CAMPUS ONLY) Directory information on over 52,000 technology companies and developers in major high-technology industries throughout the United States. Includes contact information, key executive names, primary industry and a brief company profile. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/32187
    97. Country Studies Handbooks from the Library of Congress
    Full text of the most recent volumes of the Country Studies/Area Studies series from the Library of Congress under thesponsorship of the Department of the Army. Includes photographs, maps, charts.[Full Description]
    http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
    Print editions are available in the library
    98. CQ California Political Almanac [UCSD Only]
    Includes profiles of the state's government officials in both California and the nation's Capitol, along with overviews and essays on all the major players and events influencing the state's branches of government.[Full Description]
    http://library.cqpress.com/cpa
    99. CQ Researcher Plus Archive [UCSD Only]
    1923-present. Access to summaries, bibliographies and analysis of current and controversial political issues. [Full Description]
    http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
    100. CQ Weekly [UCSD Only]
    Full text access to nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill back to 1983. Includes analysis of legislation, congressional votes and other hot topics.[Full Description]
    http://library.cqpress.com/cqweekly
    101. Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection [UCSD Only]
    Includes full-text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals go back 20 years. Subjects covered: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/96563
    fact sheet
    102. CSCS Media and Culture Archive [UCSD Only]
    These databases attempt to cover the field of contemporary Cultural Studies in South Asia and are searchable by broad subject and category.[Full Description]
    http://www.cscsarchive.org:8081/MediaArchive/site.nsf
    103. Current Index to Statistics (CIS) [UCSD Only]
    1974-present. Searchable bibliography of probability and statistics books and articles. IMS journals, JASA, American Statistician, and and Technometrics are indexed back to the 1950's.[Full Description]
    http://query.statindex.org/CIS/query
    Alternate search interface
    Journals Indexed
    List of Periodicals Indexed
    DBack to Top
    104. Daily Life Online [UCSD Only]
    Cross-disciplinary resource providing background and context for daily life in all historical eras, from ancient times to the present. Includes primary documents, images, maps, weblinks, folktales, recipes, much more. [Full Description]
    http://dailylife.greenwood.com/home.jsp
    105. Datastream [UCSD Only]
    Online time series for over a million financial instruments, securities, and indicators from over 175 countries. Includes equities, indices, bonds, commodities, interest and exchange rates, futures and options, country macroeconomics, and mutual funds.[Full Description]
    http://ssdc.ucsd.edu/ssdc/dst00001.html
    106. Declassified Documents Reference System [UCSD Only]
    Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries..[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    107. Die Deutsche Bibliothek Database
    The Deutsche Bibliothek Database is a union catalog of the records of National Library of Germany, the Deutsche Bibliothek. The database includes the holdings of the Deutsche B?cherei Leipzig (founded in 1913), the Deutsche Bibliothek Frankfurt am Main (f[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/9584
    108. Digital National Security Archive [UCSD Only]
    Nearly 40,000 declassified government documents from 1945 to present, organized into collections, each focused on a single topic.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/96899
    Other declassified documents freely available at National Security Archive site
    109. Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker ( DBDK )
    The Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker is highly regarded both in Germany and throughout the world as the premier collection of literary and non-literary German writing, covering the works from Eleventh century to Nineteenth Century. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/22373
    110. Direction of Trade Statistics [UCSD Only]
    Direction of Trade Statistics from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) provides country import and export totals by year, quarter, and month. Coverage begins in 1980.[Full Description]
    http://www.imfstatistics.org/dot/
    111. Directory of Open Access Journals
    This resource is intended to be a comprehensive directory of all open access scientific and scholarly journals using peer review or other editorial quality control. All subject areas and languages will be covered.[Full Description]
    http://www.doaj.org/
    112. Dissertations & Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations) [UCSD Only]
    1861-present. Dissertations/master's theses from 1,000+ graduate schools & universities in N. America/the world. Abstracts for dissertations 1980-present; master's theses 1988-present. Full-text UC dissertations, 1996-present, available at no charge. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/11984
    113. Documents in law, history and diplomacy
    Full text of documents from the Classical Period to the 20th century.[Full Description]
    http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm
    EBack to Top
    114. Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1800). Evans [UCSD Only]
    Browse or search Early American Imprints (Digital Evans), a major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. On completion will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/23074
    Use Series II for 1801-1819
    115. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) [UCSD Only]
    Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/44298
    Use Series I for 1639-1800
    116. Early Encounters in North America [UCSD Only]
    This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico. [Full Description]
    http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/EENALive/
    117. Early English Books Online (EEBO) [UCSD Only]
    Full text and page images of books published in English from 1475-1700. Search by subject, title, author. Will eventually include more than 125,000 books.[Full Description]
    http://eebo.chadwyck.com/home
    Sampler of 200 books
    118. EconLit [UCSD Only]
    1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Subject Descriptors
    Search Hints from AEA
    Journals List
    119. Economist.com [UCSD Only]
    Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.) [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Search alternative: (1990- ) via Business Source Premier
    Search alternative: (1988- ) via Expanded Academic ASAP
    Search alternative: (1975- ) via LexisNexis Academic
    120. Education Full Text (Wilson) [UCSD Only]
    Indexing 1983-present, Abstracting 1994-present, and "select" Full-text 1996-present. Covers all aspects of education including adult, arts, athletics, elementary, secondary, higher, vocational, and more. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/37518
    Journal Directory
    121. Education Index Retro (Wilson) [UCSD Only]
    1929-1983. Education Index Retrospective indexes over 500 English-language periodicals. Covers all aspects of education. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/108277
    Journal Directory
    122. Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection [UCSD Only]
    Provides full-text access to over 20 journals published by Sage on topics in education such as curriculum and theory, research methods, diversity, counseling, budgeting, law, standards, and technology. Coverage for some titles dates from 1976. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/96564
    Browse Journals
    Field Codes
    123. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) [UCSD Only]
    Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles and editions published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. Search by keywords or browse individual books.[Full Description]
    http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/ucsandiego?db=ECCO
    About the database
    Help in using the database
    Search tips
    124. EIU.com [UCSD Only]
    Searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.[Full Description]
    http://portal.eiu.com/index.asp?autologin=bulk
    125. Electionworld
    Electionworld.org provided regularly-updated information about the presidents, prime ministers, parliaments and political parties of countries around the world. The content has been transferred to Wikipedia.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    126. Empire Online [UCSD Only]
    A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007. [Full Description]
    http://www.empire.amdigital.co.uk
    http://www.empire.amdigital.co.uk/help/
    127. Encyclopaedia Britannica [UCSD Only]
    Search the complete text of one of the world's most authoritative general encyclopedias, augmented by continuing updates and related websites. Also includes Britannica's Internet Guide and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.[Full Description]
    http://search.eb.com
    Concise version (free to all)
    Print editions in Library
    128. Encyclopaedia Judaica (Second Edition, 2007) [UCSD Only]
    Covers every aspect of Jewish history, culture and society around the world. First new edition in 35 years. [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Print version available in library (22 vols)
    129. Encyclopedia of Television
    Includes more than 1,000 essays from over 250 contributors; on specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and such topics as violence, tabloid television, quiz show scandal. From the Museum of Broadcast Communications[Full Description]
    http://www.museum.tv/archives/etv/index.html
    Print version available in SSHL Reference, PN1992.18 E5 1997
    130. English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
    ESTC lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly in Britain and North America, mainly but not exclusively in English, from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. [Full Description]
    http://estc.bl.uk/F/?func=file&file_name=login-bl-list
    131. Environment Index [UCSD Only]
    Formerly Environmental Issues & Policy Index. Contains citations for scientific/popular literature on energy, waste, recycling; pollution; environmental health, law, conservation, wildlife management; and social, economic, political, ethical issues.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    132. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [UCSD Only]
    1966-present. Educational Resources Information Center is a database sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education to provide access to educational-related literature. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/6006
    Journals Indexed in ERIC
    Field Codes
    How to get ERIC Documents
    ERIC via U.S. Dept of Education
    133. EScholarship Editions. University of California Press
    Electronic full text of selected UC Press books in many disciplines and areas of scholarship. Over 1800 to date. Most are restricted to UC users; more than 500 selected titles are free to all. Library also has print editions of most titles.[Full Description]
    http://escholarship.cdlib.org/ucpress/
    Browse publicly available titles
    Browse Roger catalog for titles available
    134. EScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library
    A collection of working papers and other pre-publication scholarship deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.[Full Description]
    http://repositories.cdlib.org/escholarship/
    135. Essay & General Literature Index [UCSD Only]
    1985-present. Lists essays and articles in the humanities and social sciences from anthologies & collections.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/9819
    136. Ethnic NewsWatch [UCSD Only]
    1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/4737
    Searching tips
    Periodicals covered in database
    List of publications online
    137. ETHX on the Web (Bibliography of Bioethics)
    1975-present. Lists journal articles, books & book chapters,legislation, court decisions, reports, news articles. From the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature at Georgetown University. Expanded version of Bibliography of Bioethics [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Try print version: Bibliography of Bioethics
    Other databases from the Center
    138. ETS Test Link Database
    Includes a collection of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present. Tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. [Full Description]
    http://www.ets.org/testcoll/index.html
    139. Everyday Life & Women in America c. 1800-1920 [UCSD Only]
    Scanned texts of books, pamphlets, tracts, and periodicals covering the social history, family life, and popular culture of U.S. women from 1800-1920. Also contains introductory essays, a chronology, and a bibliography. [Full Description]
    http://www.everydaylife.amdigital.co.uk/index.aspx
    http://www.everydaylife.amdigital.co.uk/help/index.aspx
    FBack to Top
    140. Factiva [UCSD Only]
    Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages. [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Supported Browsers
    141. Family & Society Studies Worldwide [UCSD Only]
    Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    142. Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995. Formerly known as the Medieval Feminist Index.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    journals indexed
    143. FIAF: International Filmarchive [UCSD Only]
    1972-present. Includes International Index to Film Periodicals and International Index to Television Periodicals. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    144. Film and Television Literature Index [UCSD Only]
    1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    145. Film Index International
    Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. [Full Description]
    http://fii.chadwyck.com/home
    146. Film Literature Index
    1976-2001. Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover; 200 others selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. This version still in development.[Full Description]
    http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/index.jsp
    Help in searching
    147. Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index [UCSD Only]
    1975-1996. Index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government on political, economic, scientific and cultural issues and events worldwide. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements[Full Description]
    http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=FBIS
    For later broadcasts use World News Connection
    148. FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies) [UCSD Only]
    1984-present. International index to articles in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/9572
    GBack to Top
    149. Gallup Brain [UCSD Only]
    Public opinion polls and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935, plus articles, weekly briefings and other reports from the Gallup organization[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/113666
    150. GenderWatch [UCSD Only]
    A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/4741
    Publications List
    Searching Help
    151. GEOBASE (International Development Abstracts) [UCSD Only]
    Interdisciplinary database covering physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies. 1980- Restricted to UCSD IP addresses.[Full Description]
    http://sshl.ucsd.edu/ucsd_only/geobase.html
    Homepage
    Journals Indexed
    152. GeoRef [UCSD Only]
    1785-present (North America); 1933-present (world-wide). Indexes publications in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, geochemistry (weak coverage), geological maps, hydrology, archaeology, etc.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    153. Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online (1543-1945) [UCSD Only]
    Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.[Full Description]
    http://gerritsen.chadwyck.com/
    Searching guide
    154. Global Financial Database [UCSD Only]
    GFD provides some 6500 historical and current financial and economic data series from over 180 countries. Many series reach back with deep data runs to prior centuries. Easy graphing and downloading is available on the system. [Full Description]
    http://www.globalfindata.com/ucsd.php3
    Data categories
    Countries covered
    Data sources and notes
    155. Global Insight [UCSD Only]
    Global Insight provides same-day analysis and risk assessment service covering over 200 countries and four industries, providing insightful analysis of market conditions and key events around the world. Formerly World Markets Research Centre (WMRC). [Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    156. Global Market Information Database (GMID) [UCSD Only]
    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/109912
    157. Gnomon Online
    Excellent bibliographic database for Classical Studies.[Full Description]
    http://www.gnomon.ku-eichstaett.de/Gnomon/Gnomon.html
    158. GPO (Government Printing Office) Catalog via FirstSearch [UCSD Only]
    1976-present. Known as the Monthly Catalog, this is a top choice for finding government documents. Search by subject, title, SuDoc number, etc. Includes any government publications cataloged via the Government Printing Office[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Free version available to public, 1994-present
    159. GPO Access (US Govt)
    Locate online versions of major U.S. government publications such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations,Supreme Court decisions, executive branch docu[Full Description]
    http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html
    160. Grants and Awards Available to American Writers [UCSD Only]
    With more than 1,000 listings of literary awards, fellowships, and residencies, this is the most comprehensive online database available to writers in all genres and levels of achievement. See long description for access.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    161. GrantSelect [UCSD Only]
    Current funding opportunities provided by thousands of sponsoring agencies including government, foundations and other nonprofit organizations, corporations, institutes, state agencies, and universities. Our subscription now includes alerts. [Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/110138
    163. Grove Music Online [UCSD Only]
    The most comprehensive and authoritative online music encylopedia. All types of music are covered.[Full Description]
    http://www.grovemusic.com/index.html
    HBack to Top
    164. Hand Press Book Database [UCSD Only]
    Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period (1455-1830).[Full Description]
    http://uclibs.org/PID/20858
    165. Handbook of Latin American Studies
    1935-present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress[Full Description]
    http://lcweb2.loc.gov/hlas/
    166. HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index [UCSD Only]
    1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S. Thesaurus located at SSH Reference Desk F1408 .V345 2003[Full Description]
    http://hapi.ucla.edu/
    Guide to HAPI Thesaurus
    Journals List
    Searching Help
    167. Harper's weekly v.1(1857)-v.56(1912). HarpWeek [UCSD Only]
    Harpweek includes and can be searched by full text, illustration, photographs, maps, advertisement; full page images are displayed. It can also be browsed by date and other categories.[Full Description]
    URL too long to display
    Also visit Harpweek's separate Explore History site
    168. Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
    Indexes complete runs of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers from/about the Pacific Islands. Indexes over 100 different publications. Entries include short summaries. Searchable by author, title, keyword, etc.[Full Description]
    http://libweb.hawaii.edu/uhmlib/databases/hpji.html
    169. Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) [UCSD Only]
    Information on measurement instruments such as questionnaires, checklists, rating scales, and other measures in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, an