California Tobacco Surveys (CTS)

The California Department of Health Services conducts surveys of attitudes, behaviors, and media exposure regarding smoking and tobacco use as components of the smoking cessation evaluation effort required by California Assembly Bills AB75, AB99 and AB816. The objective of these surveys is to collect representative statewide data on cigarette smoking behavior, attitudes towards smoking, media exposure to smoking, and use of tobacco products other than cigarettes, from adults and teenagers living in California. These surveys are conducted approximately every three years through contracts with the University of California, San Diego (UC San Diego) and Westat, Inc. to measure changes in attitudes and behaviors in the California population. The California Tobacco Survey (CTS) was conducted in 1990-1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005. The 1990-1991 survey includes an adult pregnancy supplement.

In addition to basic surveys, a Teen Longitudinal Survey was conducted from 1993 through 1999. The 1993 CTS Teen survey provided the baseline data, with follow-up surveys conducted in 1996 and 1999 (when participants were 18 years old and over). Both the teen-only (1993-1996) and full surveys (1993-1996-1999) have been released as public-use data. Each survey data file contains data for only those individuals interviewed in the relevant waves.


Download the California Tobacco Surveys data and documentation (reports, questionnaires, etc.) from the UC San Diego Library Dataverse

Back to top


California Tobacco Survey: 2008

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Reports:

Technical Documentation

Back to top


California Tobacco Survey: 2005

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files) 

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Reports:

Technical Documentation:


California Tobacco Survey: 2002

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Report:

Technical Documentation:


California Tobacco Survey: 1999

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Report:

Technical Documentation:


California Tobacco Survey: 1996

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Report:

Technical Documentation:


California Tobacco Survey: 1993

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Report:

Technical Documentation:


California Tobacco Survey: 1993-1996-1999 Teen Longitudinal Surveys

June 2006 - The 1993-1996-1999 data includes the 1999 Adult Follow-Up. Users of these final data should note that some participants were lost between 1996 and 1999. The 1993-1996 data file remains available.

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Report - No final report issued

Technical Documentation, 1993-1996 surveys:

Technical Documentation, 1999 adult follow-up:


California Tobacco Survey: 1992

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Final Report:

Technical Documentation:


California Tobacco Survey: 1990-1991

Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

(backup) Data collection description and files (additional documentation, questionnaires, variables, responses, and data files)

Reports:

Technical Documentation:


Contacts

California Department of Health Services, Tobacco Control Section

Questions about survey data documentation, files and variables:
Principle Investigator: Dr. Wael Al-Delaimy, UC San Diego (Phone: 858-8226515)
Biostatistician: Dr. Steven Edland, UC San Diego (Phone: 858-677-1550)

Questions about file downloads: Annelise Sklar, UC San Diego (Phone: 858-822-1993)


CTS Highlights


Related Sites Online